Friend is having trouble with her fiancee (very long)

My cousin sara got engaged to the son of her dad’s friend a year ago. She met him at one of our family functions, so it was 100% mutual choice. Recently, she started having great trouble with him, saying that he is controlling, annoying, etc. and wanted to break the mangni. Her dad was distraught about this, because it would ruin his long friendship with amir’s dad. Her dad said, ok give it two months, if you still feel the same way, we will inform them in a kind manner rather than prolong something which is not working. A few weeks later, sara emailed her dad and said that she is moving out of the house to a new apartment and that she has decided the engagement is over. She said she did not tell amir yet because he has medical school exams but she would tell him in december. Her mother was absolutely devastated that her daughter has moved out. She cries all the time, and spends all her free time in dua and namaz.

The father is more rational; he is emailing her and trying to keep the dialogue open. Sara did eventually agree to visit amir’s family’s home for an aqeeqah. Over there, she broke down and said the reason it’s not working is because the mangni has been too long and she wanted an earlier wedding and no one listened to her. Amir’s parents were perplexed, they said “well we made the date because you chose it, and if it was a problem, why did you agree to it at the mangni??”. But they are so nice, amir’s mom asked sara to forgive her for any mistake on their part and said whatever she wanted, they would do. She said they could even get married in two months (although practically it would make no difference since they would have to live apart until amir’s graduation). Anyway, then Sara suddenly said it’s too little, too late and that she wanted them to go for counseling. This really irritated her dad;, but amir said he would do anything to keep them together. Amir went to Sara’s mom and said aunty mein poori koshish karunga k yeh rishta qaym rahe and sara’s mom got emotional and said she is not willing to accept any other damaad except him.

In this time (september), i found out something terrible…that Sara is having an affair with a white guy she met from work. Kasam se, my heart was racing so fast and i started breaking a sweat when i found out…i have even met this guy so many times…the crazy thing is this has been going on since MARCH!! I did not say anything at all. I thought maybe this is just a short fling, and she will wise up, and then they will just get married and it will just be like a one time slip up. i did not want to be a tattle tale and ruin their relationship forever. Anyway it is December now and Amir’s family is visiting. Sara is so rude to Amir; for example, he told her “hey you can just take our rental car” since her dad had taken her car, and she just barked at him, “I Know what to do! don’t control me, okay? ugh” And he just said, “Oh it was just an idea; I really didn’t mean it that way.”

I feel so bad…he has no idea that Sara is not even living at home, and obviously he doesn’t know that she is with another guy. His mother is still so caring and says “bache stress mein aa jate hain, koi baat nai” and brought so many things for all of us. His family is spending thousands of dollars on airfare and rental cars just to see us. They were our best friends even before this mangni. My uncle is just saying, “keep calm, we can’t give up” and acting completely normal. he says confrontation will make her more distant, we just want the marriage to proceed. And that, the fact that she is still coming to the family visits shows that she still has an interest in the relationship.

I am soo soo conflicted. I feel like we are cheating an innocent guy. Amir is so sincere, working so hard to save this relationship and sending cards to her all the time…without knowing she doesn’t read the cards bc she doesn’t even live at home. And he is not having any relationships bc he is waiting for marriage…while Sara is sleeping with that white guy probably every night. I hate her so much, we have stopped talking. Today we went out for dinner, and i was happy because she was joking around with his mom and i got a hope that maybe she broke up with that white guy. But in the middle of the meal, she got a text and the white guy’s picture popped up. And Amir was sitting right in front of her; i was disgusted with her after that.

Tomorrow they have a counseling session and then we are all going to juma namaaz. I feel so so bad for Amir. Seriously I am heavy with guilt being a part of this. I want to confront Sara and just yell at her but then uncle will get mad at me for messing up his strategy. I know in Islam we are supposed to cover the sins of our brother…but is it right to cheat amir? I think it’s not fair at all…yet i can’t deal with my uncle getting humiliated that his daughter is with a white guy either…i can’t see Amir in the morning smiling shyly at sara while she texts that guy :frowning: do u think i should confront her, or tell amir? or maybe indirectly make my status something about vaguely related to dishonesty? just watch?..that’s my q

Re: Friend is having trouble with her fiancee (very long)

What is the purpose of this post?

Sara needs to run away from home. She should contact Aisha...and fast.

aap idhar dil ka ghubaar nikalanay aaieen thi kia :konfused:

No one will give you any advice on this matter. There are no right or wrong answers to this...its not something in your hands at all.

Going by what you're saying, your friend is ignorant of other people's feelings. Maybe she really needed the independence and that's why she's also in a relationship with the white guy. You can't really do anything to help her. She'll learn from her mistakes on her own.

IMO, she won't marry the guy. She might stall and want to end the relationship again. Maybe at that point the guy will also be fed up with her. If by chance, she leaves the white boyfriend and things work out with the fiance, then stay out of it. The best you can do right now is just pray for them and her parents.

Someone cliff notes that for me so I can post something random and off topic?

you should marry amir yourelf............ make a video of sara sleeping with the white guy......

Some one please pass this link to Umeera Ahmed - so she could write another drama serial along these lines :@:

Who knows the OP had taken it from Khwateen Digest...

KhwateeN and Pakeeza digest - they have some standard :) it looks like one of those ShuuAa digest stories to me :D

Why not 'Doosheeza' because this story relates to an unmarried girl.

Aight aight Xtron took his ten minutes to read your story..may God help me..

Okay to get thing straighten out. What your friend Sara has to do is to be truthful with Amir that she is sleeping with someone else and she is NOT happy with Amir. From what ya said, it is clear that she is not happy and therefore feeling overwhelmed. Yes, families will be hurt or may be there would be complete akwardness in relationship between two families. But hey!..it is better than getting in complete awkward where Amir and Sara will end up divorcing each other. I am just saying it might!. Sara needs to woman up and tell him that she likes someone else. Period.

If i was Amir, I'd want to know. Tough situation for you :-/

Tell you what, you tell Amir. Cos you see he’s getting the raw end of the deal here.
Then come back and tell us ensuing drama ok?

Jalebi Bai on GS :shoaby:

^Hahaha!..dude..was awesome...Jalebi bai in house!

Why do people get themselves into these situations? Whatever happened to honesty & integrity?? The biggest curse on our desi mentality is “log kya bolayngay?” Array, logon kya karna hai? Who the hell cares…feelings will get hurt, but they will get over it…My husband and I have a friend who was in a 2 year long engagement, and every minute of those 2 years was miserable. All we heard was complaints and jhagray…but the fools kept planning the wedding.
Aik doosray ko zaleel kartay rahay, laikin rishta nahin tora..kyoon? Isliyay ke community may badnami hoti. :smack:. Mehndi walay din larki ki abu nai larkay ko gaaliyan dehke ghar se bahaar nikaldiya. Nikkah waale din, papers sign hogay, dua parliya, laikin bride & groom ke parents aik doosray ko mubarak baat tak nahin di…galaay tak nahin milay! Laikin kya zabardast reception tha! (sarcasm)

End result…they left for a 10 day honeymoon in Hawaii..made a pitstop in larki’s home city, than came back to larka’s state to start their “lives”…7 days later larki was back at her parents filing for a divorce. 2 yr engagement, 18 day marriage and $175,000 spent on a wedding…

Laanat ho aisay logon pay…(cousin Sara included)

^that was just plain ridi Khatti!. That is why i hate this mentality: log kia kaingai? Mujhai tu yahi bahu ya damaad chahiye..Anyway, all for the best for everyone eh!.

1 whats your role in this whole situation?

2 and you completely misunderstood the covering sins in islam part

3 tell amir from a to z everything