In some desi recipes, one of the ingredients is “fresh cream/creme”. I don’t know exactly what that is. Can it be bought (in USA)? How can it be made at home?
Thanks.
In some desi recipes, one of the ingredients is “fresh cream/creme”. I don’t know exactly what that is. Can it be bought (in USA)? How can it be made at home?
Thanks.
Yougurt perhaps?
I cant think of a desi dish that would use cream other then for sweet dishes but if you look where they keep the yougurt and stuff you will see half and half and heavy cream.. but thats all sweet - however it is cream.
hmcq, it's definitely NOT yogurt. I know of half & half, and heavy cream thats why i said what exactly is just plain "fresh cream". Do i use one or the other, or is fresh cream something else?
Of course it should be available in US…
You’ll find it in supermarkets..diary products section..it comes in the form of a bottle..and u squirt it out like hair mousse ![]()
Try Walmart
That is your equivalent to Asda in UK rite?
Disclaimer: I hope what im describing is the fresh cream u want..i might be wrong ![]()
LOL
I think what u just described is whip cream that’s used for topical and decorating purposes but not as an ingredient. Whip cream is the only cream that i know that squirts out like hair mousse
whip cream and strawberries :love:
Yes, babe, there is such a thing. The best one I have ever had and one we’re used to from back in Riyadh is from Puck ( or Book
). You can find it here in arab stores too. I even found it online khekhe. see if you can buy this yummy qishta.
[thumb=B]cream.JPG[/thumb]
Are you talking about "malai"? Which forms on top of doodh after it has boiled and is removed by spoon and stored in a fridge. Thats as fresh as fresh gets.
And I believe malai only forms when we boil unprocessed milk, not the sort you get in bottles in US supermarkets. In Pak ppl get doodh from doodhwalas which is fresh from the bhains (with only water added!) :)
Faisal bhai
Meinu nai pataaaaa
I thought that ‘malai’ was fresh cream but you can’t make it at home, so what’s a good a substitute? And is fresh cream really malai?
BABE, what the heck is puck(book) cream??
Puck doesn’t sound too delicious ![]()
ok, don't buy book, but you should be able to find fresh sterilized cream in the dairy products aisle.
at the arab grocery stores or the regular old supermarket?
babe, itnay hassle mai matt parro, come over my place. I'll feed you fresh cream. You should be able to find it at your local supermarket.
Waise, what are you trying to make?
For starters, ahem chicken makhni, the real deal ya know ![]()
Butter chicken :love: oh then you better get it right because I demand to be fed it made by you whenever we meet ![]()
umm, I’ve never tried making it.. tell me how it turns out, I had this delicious paneer makhni at this restaurant once, the trick is to use lots of butter. hehe
I think you're talking about Malai here our malai tu sirf bhains kay dodh say niklti hai, you gotta boil the milk to get it. and since in america mostly cow's milk is sold it's kinda hard to get your hand on it.
Sehar,
actually the recipes from pakistan do mention fresh cream..its usually milk pack fresh cream..or they call it milk pack balai (read malai)...What i use for butter chicken and chicken makhani, daal makhani and stuff is whipping cream..it works fine. Btw, i am talking about the whipping cream in a tetra pack..not the one in spray bottle. Also, i have tried using homo milk instead of fresh cream...and that works fine too :)
isnt full cream milk unprocesses that you can get some malai out of it? I still think heavy cream is the same as malai cause its the milk by product.
Qrius
I just searched google and found out that whipping cream is actually just whipped heavy cream, which is available in the supermarkets. Last time i tried chicken makhni with heavy cream and i donno the taste wasn't the same as the chicken makhni i tried at a restaurant (which was really good) :-/
I think in the resturants they use Yougurt and not creams, cause it is basically to marinate the stuff not add sugar (heavy cream). look at the reciepe and see when the cream is used and see if its for marniation or to actually cook the chicken.
Seher,
Qrius is right in a sense we use milk pack ki cream or ajj kul we have Haleeb ki cream as well... we use these creams whenever fresh cream is mentioned in a recipe....ab i dunno wut kinda creams they hav up there... y dont u try heavy cream with lil milk .. mayb that will help... :-)
i can't recall the name of the whipping cream right now..its almost like watery substance (the one that we use)..its not heavy at all..i have used homo milk at times..and i think evaporated milk might work too.
Actually you know what..i once tried a makhani recipe with the whipping cream that i am mentioning and it did tasted like lal qila (a restaurant from karachi)..it comes in a blue packing..i'll ask ammi if she can recall the brand.