Free-of-charge treatment at army heatstroke centres across Sindh

Re: Free-of-charge treatment at army heatstroke centres across Sindh

Yes indeed. Armed forces do get similar benefits in UK. We have:

- Service family accommodation which covers over 50,000 homes.
- Privately rented properties paid by Ministry of Defence for military families and officers
- Official Service Residency for higher ranked officers
- Heavily subsidised luxury apartments in London and other major cities

- Private school allowance for military kids
- Health care perks
- Education and further qualification grants
- domestic assistance
- A tax free lump sum at the time of retirement
- pension pots
- Travel expenses
- Post Service career transition support
- Post Service Resettlement grant and employment
- Overseas posting (and all those privileges and perks provided in Cyprus and Germany)
- Defence Discount Services
- Not to mention big salaries and bonuses.

Then there is whole other packages of support for military windows and families, and wounded soldiers. It all adds up to billions of pounds (roughly £60 billion or so in total)

UK has the fifth (used to be fourth just a while back) largest defence budget for a tiny Island. Their Armed Forces staff are well look after. It costs UK taxpayers awful lot of money to support a certain lifestyle for serving and ex servicemen and their families, and the issue does get controversial every once in a while. We just don't have a very in your face civil-military divide as most military residences are away from cities - into small counties and suburbs.

My comments for above long story by jolie...........
Bhaio.
I hope u understand what I understand that u cannot understand what Jolie understand about pakistan n army.

As for the military camps. In my opinion president mamnoon shud have ordered army to establish camps on order. Just like Obama did during hurricane katrina. It is not an ehsaan by Army rather a must as we r giving major tax share to army rather than spending on development projects. I wish we reduce army expenditures to salary only for next 2 years . Give increments to the jawans fighting at front lines and reduce salary of brigadier n above to half (they don't need salary BTW as every thing is free for them) the same be applied for all mpa n MNAS . Transfer all this saving for electricity projects

austerity measures

Or just don't waste billions and billions on scam projects like Nandipur (and the other one) and Metro buses and buying bullet proof cars.

Correct

Dunya ke sab log agar faut bhi ho jayin ge, tabb bhi Bhutto zinda ho ga aur Sindh mein ghoom raha ho ga :P

Have some shame and leave modship you dont know to how reply to fscts. But sharm kahan se aye Racism ma. what was the reason urdu name of railway stations raged people of sindh? what blocks your mind to understand my question? Racism?

Who removed sindi names and why?

Indulging in politics is one thing doing business is other thing. As long as they are doing their security related jobs there is no harm in doing business as it is the money that is oxygen for any organization. If You say army has been failing to counter terror attacks then you should know the sectarian fabric of society from which army is created, Sunni deobandi shia wahabi. You cant do much to stop help from inside the army when you have strict adherents in army. Pakistan is a mess on both ethnic and religious grounds, so is army. As for there expertise you dont hire them for non askari organizations if they dont fulfill your criteria. Let them do what they can in askari organization. for quality none of our civil institutes have done any mentionable work in the field of science and technolog. Suparco? Nespak? They are failure. Nespak now doing highway development, lolz and sometime with the help of fwo.

Hahahahah.

The Return of Sheeda.

obama during hurricane katrina? :konfused:

The army is here because the government isn’t

Five days of hell, of death.

As I write this, I can say with assurance that at least 950 people in Karachi alone have died in the past five days due to heat-related medical complications. And with equal assurance I can tell you that this number is the minimum possible, since hundreds of dead brought directly to the Edhi morgue have not been accounted for, as it cannot be ascertained right now whether they were victims of heat. But given the unusually high number of dead bodies coming in each passing day, we all have a fair idea of who the killer is.

In these five days, I have observed absolute apathy from all those who matter: Sindh government, federal government, local political parties.

With power cuts exacerbating the situation, the provincial government appears to be nonexistent. Not a single measure of substance from the government to mitigate the situation has been reported in the media even after five days have passed. They all sit watching silently from their cool, comfortable shelters.
Also read: After bombs and bullets, heat preys on Karachi*

There is no official death toll, no official call centres have been established, no one knows who to talk to in order to confirm the number of dead. Everyone is relying on announcements made by hospital representatives to know what is happening on the ground.

The government’s inefficiency is clear in that a large number of people are not dying inside hospitals, they were brought to the hospital dead, which means that declaring emergency in hospitals is not going to be very effective because the hospitals are not where the people are dying.

Any official ground help that has come has been from the army and the Rangers, which is of course not to be credited to the provincial government. It is a pity, really, that those who claim to be the upholders of democracy have to rely every now and then on the very institution they claim is a threat to democracy.

This practice – of the army filling in for the government – has become so usual in Pakistan, especially in Sindh, that it does not even seem odd; army camps in times like these are a given.

Yet, this practice is never labelled as “interference” in fiery speeches at local party events by our political elite. I ask them, is the army not overstepping its domain to help you in times of disaster because you are inefficient, because in all these decades of rule you have been unable to put in place a basic response mechanism as your duty was?
See: Heatwaves: What Pakistan can learn from developed economies*

To me, it seems you call it “interference” only when it pinches you, but gladly welcome it when it veils your inaction.

As the country’s biggest city suffers a crisis, the federal government is blaming the shortage on the provincial government, the provincial government is blaming it on the federal government half the time and on K-electric the other half (the Chief Minister actually led a dharna against the company yesterday), while the army has set up relief centres across the city, trying to help people beat the extreme weather and power outages.

What can you call it but a disgusting show of incompetence on part of the governments?

Finally, on the fourth day, the Chief Minister called a meeting and took measures to manage load shedding by saving power in government offices and markets. Better late than never, I suppose.

As far as the local political parties are concerned, I saw no mobilisation among their ranks to help people when they needed it most. And I say this because we all know that the worst-hit strata in this tragedy is the city’s poorest.
Also read: Is Karachi experiencing climate change?*

Those living in bungalows hardly ever die of heatstroke or heat exhaustion. Telling people to drink more water on air is not going to help them, neither are emotional speeches in the National Assembly.

We’re not asking you to beat nature. We’re asking you to at least try to neutralise the damage by using your position, by taking extraordinary measures, by doing what you are supposed to do because – as big a cliché as it may be – actions do speak louder than words.

So there are okara farms in britain that military snatched from britishers to give to the army or lands / plots / houses that you get when you retire?

If true then I didn't realize how rotten UK is ! Our ideal should be the free & fair (at least compared to europe and UK) America ! :D

I thought that you were an afghan who hated Pakistan? It is confusing since at one time there were posters here who were all patriotic, but then when their ‘dear leader’ was criticized they went as far as to want to break Pakistan.

Sorry May be it was Abraham lincoln or george washington. any case It was presidnet of USA : )

ITNE ursee see obama obama sun rahee hainnn

Compare Pakistan's measly $6 billion defence budget with Britain's $60 billion, there are awful lot of things that British Army don't need to do. They are the guardians of State and the State fights their case.

So much claptrap about Pakistan's defence budget, for an actively fighting army they are not even in top 10 for their GDP military expenditure, but India is. I can see why Pakistan Army feels the need to generate its own revenue to stay competitive.

I find it ironic when I see people complianing about military taking a big share of their unpaid taxes. No one seems to know squat about the ways Government ought to create wealth. Their answer to every problem is to slash defence budget yet they want army to remain engaged in conflicts.

Military is not suppose to and neither trained for business. Looking at the security situation, it is abundantly clear that they did not do their jobs and clamored for plots in DHA and jobs at Fauji Fertilizer.

Money is oxygen for hospitals. Should doctors be running businesses? What an amazing argument!

Indulging in business is funny thing to say as long as there is no legislation against doing business for army.
Yes its amazing that you dont know that its not illegal for them to do business. If you dont want them do business, legislate it. simple? Get them into courts. If you your politicians are not courageous enough then its fault of people who elects them. Or change the mind of people and politicians who can control army.
Considering country's ethnic an religious fabric you will have to live with that reality. An army cannot win a war against a group which gets support from locals. MQM, TTP enjoys support of local peoples.

Maybe US army can fix security issue of Pakistan.

There should be. They have legalized corruption and eating up Pakistan's resources to generate wealth for officers.

They don't need to. As of now, Pakistan military is simply paid by the US to do whatever the Americans want.

yar what are talking about? They have legalized corruption? they run your parliament?