I wanted to share my experience with Mrs. Col Athar which was very negative and I don’t want other people to face the fraud that me and my family have faced. Such exploitive people must be exposed so that they can not prey on innocent people.
We have the News delivered in our home and every week, we would see the rishta ads of Mrs Col Athar. The candidates were all extremely good looking, tall, fair etc and very well educated and from especially influential and rich families (Generals and other high Army officials and Bureaucrats, Directors etc). Most of them were settled abroad and very high earning. One day we decided to call her and she instantly said that firstly I only take the clients (girls) who are EXTREMELY GOOD LOOKING as the guys families are so rich and all they want only the best so I have to see the girl myself so all families have to come to my house once.
When my family went to her house she told them very clearly that many families are after her for employing her but it is very clear that their daughters are not pretty enough and so she tells them clearly that I am sorry I cannot do anything for you. She said that to bring Rs./ 10,000 cash as only then she will begin her work. Further she said not to keep calling her as once she will find a good rishta she will contact us herself and that sometimes it takes only 6 months for a good rishta whereas sometimes it takes 6 years so nothing is clear it is all on your own luck. When we asked about the already available rishtas that she advertises every week, she said that they are fictional (made up) as she has to make some material for advertising to remain in the public eye!!!
Well it has been longer than 7 months now and only once did we call her to ask and remind her but she was very rude to my mother. She said that don’t call me now. She has taken Rs 10,000 cash and since then, not even a single phone call.
So this is our experience and so you people can judge for yourselves. Just don’t be lured and trapped by her fake advertisements. She comes across as a very respectable woman and takes undue advantage of her husband being a colonel. She is running a business from her home as this is not like the typical rishta ladies who do it as a hobby. It is a proper business where she demands payments up front and she HAS NO LICENSE OR OFFICE. This is against the rules of the residential area she lives in. It is an army colony.
If anyone else has also had a similar experience, please share to enlighten people.
I'm surprised that after the first contact where you came to know that she has such obvious and blatant biases, your family still thought it prudent to give her Rs.10,000.
Muzna, at first contact she appeared very effective.... guaranteed results and all you know how people try to convince others and since she was from a respectable army background (col. wife) we didnt expect her to be a fraud and especially about the ads being false!!
Your parents need to be more proactive and show up at her house, demanding the refund. Just say that it seems you are not interested in working on our case, as it has been more than 7 months, itney mein tou kahin aur se rishta aa ke baat ho bhi jaati if you wouldnt have been relying on her. Seriously get your father/brother/brother in laws involved and be more proactive in demanding a refund for no services!
As soon as she told you that her advertised rishtas were made up and fake, that should have been a red flag. It looks like she lures girls in by saying that she ONLY works for really good looking girls. So then when she "accepts" you, the girls and their families feel extra special and dont think twice about handing over the money.
Anyway, Im sorry that you went through this. I know how frustrating this whole process can be, and that frustration is what leads parents to people such as these. Have faith in Allah that the right one for you will come along.
Like others said should’ve done your research first, found an article written about her back in June 2010. If it’s the same Mrs. Col atha from pindi/Islamabad area, then apparently you aren’t the only one she hasn’t called back…eeekk: Marriage bureaus dupe people seeking love – The Express Tribune
I know of two matchmakers who are free, they do it out of sawab and the recognized need for this in society, and they try to do their best in setting up likeminded families. I never heard of matchmakers charging till recently. From the pictures and the fact that she only services rich people --> red flags.
btw, I don't get this need to go for rich families. You do realize the liklihood of you coming across fraudulent families and matchmakers is linearly related to the amount of money they have?
Look for a good ol' middle class boy, with some education and aspirations, who isn't wealthy - they will be the best people to you.
Yeah, I’m gonna agree that requiring money for these services is just wrong on the matchmaker’s part. but, at the same time, you can’t blame the parents for trying to do what they can for their daughters. Not everyone has the option of these “free match makers”.
I’ve honestly never heard of someone who did it only for sawaab except those random aunty ji’s who want to oh-so-badly hook you up with their grandson
the thing is the paid-for-services rishta-matching is a new phenomenon and is largely unregulated which allows such unscrupulous and shady businesses to pop up and rip off the unsuspecting clients. i think the Govt needs to pass regulations to protect this fast growing service industry.
as paid vs unpaid services, i think the free services aren’t at par with paid ones. the quality of service is bound to be inferior.
there must also be regulations to impose penalties on those operators who knowingly and intentionally try to defraud their clients.
so, lets say someone takes out their time, filters through applications,meets with people, talks things out ..finding a rishta....... you think that person should not be compensated for their time and effort?
HR recruiters get paid.....its sort of a match making between employer and employee
Real estate agents get paid....... finding the right house
so on and so forth........
why is it so evil for someone to get paid for a service they are offering?
so, lets say someone takes out their time, filters through applications,meets with people, talks things out ..finding a rishta....... you think that person should not be compensated for their time and effort?
HR recruiters get paid.....its sort of a match making between employer and employee
Real estate agents get paid....... finding the right house
so on and so forth........
why is it so evil for someone to get paid for a service they are offering?
For a lot of people matchmaking is not the same as finding job, car or a house.