Frankness with God

Mumtaz Mufti, famous Urdu writer, when wrote his Haj travelogue ‘Labbaik’, it annoyed religious bodies because he referred to God as 'kaale kothe wala : kala kotha = khana e kaaba.

On other hand, if we see Hindu refers to their gods as ‘bansi wala’, ‘shera wali’, etc. Punjabi poets use words like ‘o meriya dhashiya rubba’.

What do you think should be the level of frankness with God? Was Mufti ji wrong in saying ‘Kaale kothe wala’?

Re: Frankness with God

I cannot comment on inner self of Mumtaz Mufti but I know most of the writers are only good at expressing things. They don’t have same emotions as readers get from their written stories. I think he should have used some better words where both the frankness and the relationship of Creator and creation could be expressed. The phrase "kaale kothe wala" seems to me as if its talk of some childhood friend.

Now coming to you question, this level of spirituality is hardest part to achieve IMO. Establishing frankness with Allah (SWT) takes profound attachment that can only be achieved by attending religious and spiritual gathering and having company of truely Khuda k Banday. I heard from a Khuda ka Banda that more you spend your time on praying to Allah (SWT) increase your attachment to Allah (SWT).

nice explanation ajaz. how do you see the terms 'sabz ghunbad wale' and 'kaali kamle wale' used in many naats? Though the terms are referred to the Prophet (SAW) and not God.

Here is the list of names of Hindu god (incarnation of Vedic Supreme God Vishnu)

List of titles and names of Krishna - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

In 108 names, there are many names which depict frankness like ‘manmohna’ and ‘Murali- as he used to play flute’.

Is the concept of frankness with God changes from culture to culture and religion to religion?

some hindu friends even crack jokes about their gods.....

trust me they don't claim to be religious. no?

they are communal dont know about being religious...

lols. communal and religious re two different things.

Whats your personal opinion, why frankness is somewhat taboo. If on one hand I believe God is most nearest entity to me, then why should not I refer to Him in words like and understand, instead of referring to Him with difficult names and titles I don't know the meaning.

If the word was used purely from the heart and he said it in true love (because Allah knows better and He knows all that in hearts), then I see no problem with that...

in my view Allah accept act worship if intention is pure..so true worship and pleasing Allah is only possible through pure intentions....

if worshiper is doing it out of true love for Allah then Allah will surely accept it

The writer was full of emotions and attachment with God from the first page of the book till last page.. baqi dilon ka haal to kuda hi janta hai.

BTW 'kaala kotha' is not a derogatory term. In Punjab 'kacha kamra' are refers to kotha. When we refer to Prophet as Sabz Gunbad wale (due to geen dooms of Masjid e Nabvi), why one can't refer to God as 'kaale kothe wala'?

The writer was full of emotions and attachment with God from the first page of the book till last page.. baqi dilon ka haal to kuda hi janta hai.

BTW ‘kaala kotha’ is not a derogatory term. In Punjab ‘kacha kamra’ are refers to kotha. When we refer to Prophet as Sabz Gunbad wale (due to geen dooms of Masjid e Nabvi), why one can’t refer to God as ‘kaale kothe wala’?

Kind of answered your own question then haven’t you friend :slight_smile:

yes, I was asking for alternate views and we know that there will be many who got different perspective of the matter

Then my view is this... that an ashiq will not have any malice towards the mashooq regardless of which name they call them by.

Only HE knows whats in the heart.

thats cute and poetic :wub:

There are misconceptions in Non-Muslims, who say that Muslim worship kaaba (sites like answering-islam loves to do this propaganda). Terms like 'kaale kothe wala' reflect that kaala kotha is not God, but 'kaale kothe wala' is God who is worshiped by Muslims