France Visa Problem

AOA

i applied for visit visa for france but the embassy said i’ve to apply for long stay visa… n the problem is they r not giving out long stay visa… i’m so sad n depressed… as my husband will be going there in oct. n i also wanted to go with him…

what shd i do :frowning: is there any other way i can go with him legally… i really need to know

Re: France Visa Problem

apply for a schengen visa from any of the schengen countries... cant u apply for a visit visa through ure husband.. or a tourist visa??

Is your husband is going there to live? if yes then he should send u sponsorship for long term visa once he is there. If u want a tourist visa then u need to apply for Schengen visa instead. You just need to have all the documentation required to apply for it & they usually grant it without much problem (unless ur case is suspicious).

i applied for visit visa but the embassy said they won't give visiti visa n i shd apply for long stay visa :(

no my husand is there for studies, n he will be back after that.

n u mean i shd apply for SCHENGEN visa instead of FRANCE visa?

but won't the embassy ask which "state" i would want to go in while applying for schengen visa?

n i did apply for visit visa but the embassy did not grant me visit visa, giving the excuse that i wont come back as i am his wife :(

France is known to be a bit over-strict when it comes to issuing visas. In your case it's clear cut though. Your husband is going there for studies, ie will spend a couple of years there.

So are you intending to stay there with him during the whole time or are you just going for a couple of weeks? I assume that you want to stay there with him as long as he will be in France. And in that case the French embassy is right in not granting you a visit visa. Because you are not going there for a visit.

They are correct. Being a spouse of university student you need long stay visa. It is strange to hear they are not giving long stay visa's. In fact, if your husband has complete documentation, they should.

Act. they r not giving family visas, spouse visas or even long stay visas, that's y i HAD to apply for visit visa... thinking that i might have a chance to atleast be with my husband :( but they rejected it , n now i will apply for long stay visa....
but i'm so worried, they r not granting long stay visas :(

n yes the documnetations i s all complete

Allah karay mera visa bhi lag jaey amin amin amin

long stay visa should not be an issue.. just wont take so quick to be granted cuz of all the background checks... but it should go thru if everything is in order... ure husband will most probably have to show that he can support u (in funds)... so be prepared for that.

Apparently it's not that straight forward in France. I know a Pakistani family where the hubby is a naturalized French citizen running a successful garment business in Paris, but it still took him more than 3 years to get a visa for his wife and move her and the kids from Lahore to Paris. He had made several trips to Pakistan during that period and the French embassy would always make new excuses and demand new papers every time. Ultimately they did grant a residence visa to his wife, but it was a huge hassle.

ya.... agar case phas gaya.. tho phas gaya... true dat.

:(

best of luck

dont panic, just apply for the correct relevant visa, dont go for the short cuts, visit visa etc,
1. your husband should have applied your visa along with his at first place, you both would have got the visa by now.

1. now apply for long stay visa and state that you going to accompany your husband. you have fair chance of getting the visa. but applying for visit and also not applying along with your husband application made this tricky, hopefull you would be fine providing all the documents are ok with them.

according to my experience, for students (unless they are PHD students) it is really very difficult for them to bring their wife into European countries, because husband doesnt have job as he is student himself, and his own visa is not "life time visa, or unlimited or i dont what to call it", so they simply dont allow their dependents to join them as there is no family reunion option for students except PHD students. some has done it this way " wife also gets admission in university and then she gets her own visa " :)

but my husband is doing phD :( maybe i'm tooooo dishearted by listening to other people's visa response.

yes true, they r not giving visas to family :)
n we applied for visit visa becoz my husban's friend said him to do so as they r not giving long stay visa so y not apply for short stay visa :'(

n i tried to get admission over there BUT cldn't get coz i don't know french language :"((

sooooooo now

1. Applying for long stay visa :) inshAllah

2. Doing French language course

so...

INSHALLAH will get the visa

Allah karay jaldiiiiiiiii say mil jaey :) aminnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

^^ Ameen!
also look for Sweden Universities, many courses in English and many with "no tution fee" as i see, you need just visa :) doesnt matter how, so why spending more time to learn french lang. but sure it will be helpful if you plan to live longer in France.

still no progress :(

hi, i read on some forums that there is a catch to it. when applying for the schengen visa, it is needed to apply at the embassy of the country where you spend the most time. but, many people went ok with applying to some other state and then going where they needed. so, if you need to live in france, apply in sweden, then fly to france. sweden is said to be liberal. here is a good site on schengen visa with lots info schengen visa

@hunni_buney

As per my knowledge, they are simply not issuing any visas to pakistanis other than ofcourse to students. Not even PhD students can get visas for their spouses (no matter how much scholarship or money you have) even if you have to live for 4 years.

I don't know why the "love" for pakistanis, but I think its probably due to the crappy repute that we have earned worldwide. Although, I think pakistani students have set a very good example here with their hard work and abide-by-the-rules life here in France.