Four chief ministers in one state?

In a politically unstable state Meghalaya, there are four (!) chief ministers. One with the rank and 3 without (???),

I just wonder how the daily business of state might work in this case? This is a complete mess. But on the bright side, many people can claim they have met the chief minister in completely different parts of the state at the same time.

Will this model be copied in other states of india as well?

Any political expert to shed some light on this? Thanks.

Only one CM in Meghalaya, other three only got the rank: Congress - India - The Times of India

***NEW DELHI: Congress on Monday expressed unhappiness over the appointment of four ‘chief ministers’ in Meghalaya, dubbing it as “relatively unusual”, but defended the move citing political instability in the state. ***

Don’t know why you spend time on understanding democratric processes … have faith a military dictator is just round the corner :k:

Re: Four chief ministers in one state?

looks like meghalaya is in the same situation as mr. dee was on his birth certificate..

^^ :rotfl: Queer feeling insecure… yet again.

@Aam Bandha and back to the topic: Don’t you think having 4 chief ministers might create a real mess in the state? Or do you see it in a positive way, if yes kindly explain why?

i heard they hugged it out.

not meghalaya, mr dee's youknowwhos ;)

Just so that other members know why we ignore Queer's inner insecurities which he shows by getting personal, here is the reason:

Queer:
queer [kweer] adjective, -er, -est, verb, noun
4. mentally unbalanced or deranged.

Look it up in the dictionary

If you had bothered to read the article, there is only one Chief Minister and the other three just have the “rank” . Again this is not a good solution and has been condemed … but than you won’t see the Chief Minister of Meghalaya saying … Meghalya Khappay :smiley:

Yes the article says something like this:

"The Congress-led government in Meghalaya resorted to a peculiar arrangement with the rank and status of Pradesh Congress Committee president on Friday Lyngdoh being elevated to that of chief minister even as D D Lapang continues as the CM.

With elevation of Lyngdoh's status, the ruling alliance now has three leaders, apart from Lapang, who enjoyed the status of chief minister. The others are the two leaders of the United Democratic Party -- State Planning Board chairman Donkupar Roy and Meghalaya Economic Development Council chairman J D Rymbai. "

There ARE four chief ministers brother Aam Bandha, playing with the words is not going to change it.

But actually I think it might have some positive as well. Don't quite see what this positive might be. May be some other will see it as positive as you, but will be able to explain better.

are you referring to the Sindh Khappay news where the single very capable chief minister of Sindh was about declare independence from Pakistan?

can you post a link?

Actually it was the home minster … not of Meghalaya though :smiley:

We were going to break Pakistan, Zulfiqar Mirza | Pakistan Daily

WOW.

I wonder if he was fed up of punjabees stealing all of sindh's water..

Arey yaar ek to tum log thread ko derail karnay say baaz nahi aatey. :D

Open other threads about other topics as Queer tried before.

And in the meanwhile lets see what positive can come out if a state has 4 chief ministers.

You are worried about the thread !!! Mirza sahib is talking about derailing Pakistan … you should thank President Zardari for taking a tough stand on this … :k:

Acha, Mirza ko samjha laiN ga. Fikar na karo bhai log, :rotfl:

So back to the topic…

How the state machinery is going to work with 4 chief ministers?

Why does Punjabees steal water meant for Sindhi farmers, Mr. Dee? :\

Why are you spending time in uderstanding state machinery and chief minsters ....* jis gaon nahi jana uska naam kya puchna* .... give it some time you will get your favourite dictator :D

Queer,
If india doesn't stop stealing Pakistan's water, I am afraid it will get quite ugly for the whole region and the world peace.

But yet, again another topic. Stay focus munnay on 4 chief ministers Munnay. ;)

Aam Bandha, yaar I am just trying to understand how can a state work with 4 chief ministers (i.e. 4 heads of state...reminds me of Hydra, LOL ).

Just thirst for knowledge, you know.

Read the article again…or better yet, get a friend to translate it for you :snooty:

It clearly says -

So there is only ONE Chief Minister !!

Thirst of knowledge is good … but you have to ask yourself the question … are you using this knowledge as a drunk uses a lampost … for support and not for illumination :k:

Coming back to Meghalaya … first of all you have to understand how a state operates in a democratic setup and what is the role of a Chief Minister?

These are some of the questions that you need to understand before you will be able to understand what is happening in Meghalaya. You see you are used to "one man " shows … so this might be out of your grasp. So do a little bit if reading on democratic institutions and then we can surely talk about Meghalaya.

This is a freakin hilarious! Is he correct Dee? :D would you know? :D

Dee miyaan aap jab sey duniya mein aaye ho aaapney dee hee hai! Thank you for enlightening me I honestly did not know this about my country!