Forums/Mods Evaluations

I posted this in RKS. Thought I need everyone else’s input as well. Copying pasting here. Do give your input as in giving suggestions how to improve the current forums instead of bringing in the new one and then dessert it in a few months.

I have been noticing ridiculously decrease in attention span in most of the forums. Its amazing how every forum grew in the month of jan and after that they started to fall down. It don’t take no genius to figure out. Nothing was going on in Audio/Video/Cafe/General/RKS/joke/shorsharabas. These forums are bonus forums but yet hard to keep up and does demand alot of work out of the Mod to attract the audience . These forums are the one’s where MODs have to work around their way - ANY way to get tourist come in and feel like home.

RKS was rocking in the beginning that too b/c few guppies came up with the brilliant ideas and that got everyone else’s attention as well. But now it seems pretty down - dead.

Audio - didn’t see anything going on for the past 2 months.

Video - running on the mercy of posting videos here and there

Jokes - I really don’t see any change there. Not even new jokes.

General - TLK tries his best to get topic started and keep the spring’s season going.

Shorsharab - on mercy of Arjay posting voice messages of celebs.

My suggestions:

RKS:
[referring to Hin33/HHL]

Bring a change. Its good you opened this thread asking people to leave their comments behind after browsing the thread but let me ask you to think that if the person didnt leave the post in first place then there must be something not right, I won’t say wrong but something not right according to get his/her attention.

We are lacking friendly environment here. Make it a fun environment and try not to be too serious while posting your comments. Don’t derail or flood in the thread either but also don’t be too 'tiff especially by using this smiley → :). You can invite more audience just by how you carry yourself around the area. I am not saying that you are doing anything wrong but I will also say you are not putting effort enough to attract our attention or to make us post.

Its good you [hinn33] have posted really informative threads about various current artists and their work. I can come in one of those threads - read it once - post once and my work is done. Why? b/c I get limited response in return of my post and thats why I can’t get attracted to same thread again.

Overall, you [moderators] are my teacher, we are your kindergarden students. Our attention span is less b/c there is too much going on. YOUR job is to get our attention and make us get interested and involve in things even though we and you guys are busy. Teacher never request his/her pupil to pay attention, he/she makes the environment that forces his/her pupil to forget about everything around and total concentrate on what is presenting to him/her.

Audio/Video:
I was a moderator there once and now I hardly go there. Two months passed by and nothing interesting took place. March 23rd came and left - nothing happened. why? I as a guppy of this site - addicted - demand to see at least something interesting on some special occasion. No special video was made to dedicate to 23rd March. No special audio was uploaded to dedicate to 23rd March. why not? Where is the creativity of the guppies in those forums. In video saw one thread opened by Ehsan ji and that too was piled among other videos. Nothing was done by mods …?

Last not but least, I see campaigning going on about the new forum to be launched related to Health n Fitness. Moreover, I also know there is Life 2 forum with the name of “Health, Fashion & Beauty”. It can accomodate health related topics then why dont I see soo much of active participation of same guppies in that forum. I say instead of bringing in the new forum reformulate the old name and get the ball rolling in that forum. Lets see if all these guppies can carry off that forum for couple months n more just like they are making promises in the other thread - just like RKS.

My point:
I want to see Mods active in their forums. I come here give my time to the site b/c I like this website but in return I want some fun as well not by me - but by someone else. Hope this can turn out to be constructive discussion.
Mods are doing a great job no doubt but I want to see something coming out of them and their forum.

Ay reply/suggestion from Mods/Admins and guppies will be appreciated.

Re: Forums/Mods Evaluations

Fresh ideas and new blood is always good.

I'd also like to see mods actively posting in their forums as well......those that dont obviously do not have time for it nor are they showing any interest in their forums.

Active posting and contributions should be a required for all mods of all forums.......in turn you will see a lot more traffic and interest by other members.

I don't know about the other forums, but if in life and general, theres a mod who's never posting...what's the point of keeping em a mod?

Good thread. :k: Let’s evaluate each point.

Perhaps, it was not the attention spam but guppies (in general) stopped coming over the site? But I agree, about few forums but disagree about few.

First, let us establish the understanding whether or not a MOD is really required to do all that or does the burden lies equally (or more) on participants - the innocent members as well?

I will give you one example: There was a thread opened in Cafe 23rd March 2008 … Sadly, mods had to desert the idea by unsticking it and never bothered to say a word of grivience from their end. The guilty feeling on their side was obvious. People did not show any interest.

What does it tell you? Mods did try to do exactly the things you are suggesting in your point but ultimately who had the bigger say?

Please, do not underestimate the user-participation factor. If they do not want to participate in such, no moderator can “facilitate” any thing.

Time for moderators to re-ecaluate their relations with the actual runner of the site - the guppies.

Why? I saw hinn33 posting and trying to get people in the forum. Simple answer is that people are not participating. It’s not moderators. It’s the people. RKS should not be prone to flooding anyway.

Two mods are not responsible to give brilliant ideas. In fact, none of those mods gave the brilliant idea of “Photoshop Tennis” … What they needed to do was to carry out the idea and facilitate it further. Perhaps giving importance to such ideas more professionally than like any other thread.

It has always been a request forum ever since the audio upload was taken out from here. The only thing it lacks now is participation of guppies with creative ideas and coming up with their own audio scripts. Again, two people can not do anything. You need a team for that. We can not just blame mods for this, but the onus of responsibilty because of having some extra powers (of sticking threads) lie on the two poor souls anyway. It’s ironic but it’s true.

Perhaps, video forum is for posting videos, and then, now we have another extension of it in the form of Tubemedia.

So, the mod is sole responsible for new jokes?

Alas! but he does not get any single help from his fellow mods. At the end of the day, no one wants to see the boring episode of moderators ending up flooding in the forums as seen in cafe very often :slight_smile:

and no appreciation of any mod or admin. The least a mod could do was to stick the thread but I think thread is stuck on top without that anyway.

I do not visit that section that often so do not have anything else to add; however, agreed with what is being said.

agreed. It won’t take forum anywhere if you appear once in a week, flood in it and disappear for next monday, or tuesday or friday.

gotta agree.

I have to disagree with that statment. It’s really insulting to rest of the members. Moderators are also students and they should not have any MIGHTY attitude. They are needed to learn from senior guppies, perhaps from those who have been around here more than them. Moderators are only facilitators and nothing more. I do not buy this teacher analogy. There are far better posters in the forum than the forum moderators.

For example, posters like Psyah, Submission to Peace, Pak-one, USResident etc. are much more articulate and knowledgable than the moderators of Religion forum. Thankyouverymuch.

Exactly. Mods are “facilitators” and that’s that.

good analogy but not true for forums like Cafe. There are guppies who have done the same and perhaps more than mods without having the title of moderators. people come because of their friends and not because of their moderators or because moderator is their friend.

gotta agree there.

no comments - the new forum is on it’s way anyway:)

:slight_smile: Done!

ITS ATTENTION SPAN NOT SPAM. Fobs :naraz:

^ typo bhi ho jata hai once u type that much.

UkA: very detailed reply :k: You covered few points that I missed out. I will surely reply in detail :slight_smile:

i dono but its not even mods fault here but now no of users are decreasing down
b4 i could c so many ppl flooding in cafe but now ppl hardly flood.The active ppl got busy.but i have to agree k this time we didnt celebrate 23rd march like it used to be.Banners were hardly put up .we alwaays used to have 5-6 threads in cafe but this year i didnt see any

ps:)

Right points EMM,definetly forum its loosing its old charm.:(

u sure it was a typo and not the actual word? :aq:

^ Baji ji if you have noticed I used that word twice in my post. One with 'N' and one wth 'M' - wat do u think now? :p

No one is saying its Mods fault but like UKAJ said they need to facilitate things. The need to get the ball rolling in the field.

My two cents.

There was a charm for posters to get repu. and stars which will give them sense of achievement but now that gone there is no reward or reason to be loyal with GS.
At Yahoo Answers , the answers are voted and the best answer is nominated by Posters that again provides some sense of achievement.
There should always be some kind of system to keep the members loyal to the website.
I would say bring back the Stars and repu. system. That will encourage posters to come up with good threads and post good replies.

IMO health, nutrition and fitness has nothing to do with fashion and beauty. They are 2 completely different (broad) topics. Like I said before...if bridal/wedding can get it's own forum then why not this one?

As far as people contributing to health related topics in life 2....... People dont do it because it just doesnt seem to fit there. To be honest I dont even go there because the majority of topics that are there are not of my interest. I do however see many people discussing health,nutrition, and fitness in life 1 and life 4 and even in some blogs.

what's the harm in doing a pilot of this new forum? Let's see how it goes.

^ and that is why I said to reformulate the old name. Separate health from fashion.

Perhaps I am misunderstanding then....are you suggesting that they rename it and STILL keep it all under life 2? I dont understand what you mean by separate? separate to me would mean a whole new forum.

Bridal has its own forum. Fashion they threw with health. My suggestion is to rename Life 2 mainly for health n fitness while merge the fashion with wedding forum.

oh well life 5 wont be far away :hehe:

gotcha… that makes sense. Actually I think your suggestion is better then having a life 5 lol

Very Nice thread EMM, I personally want to see more of such cause that will help me specially to figure out, how I can add more value to GS by doing what guppies like to be done.

Cause I am a Mod of General and Video, I can only speak for those forums

GENERAL
In my humble opinion, it is the trickiest forum to Mod. Almost 50-60 % percent of threads that are started else where can be started in General also, but at the same time, almost 60-70 % of threads in General can be moved to other sections, cause we have so many different sections and those threads can easily fall under that category.

So its not only difficult for Mods to keep the right traffic in General, it is also tricky for guppies to figure out what to start in General. Maybe (and this is my personal thought) in the future, when we have more refined categories, we may not need a forum like General. Maybe Cafe and General can become one. I dont know, I am just speaking loud.

Video
I agree that video is turning into a video link forum where people are just posting youtube videos. I think, that is why Azkar and team is launching Media forum, to replace Video forum. Because at the end, if its all about posting your favorite youtube video, lets do that in a better fashion then.

About not releasing anything on 23rd, I think that Mods of video forum take personal responsibility of that and I for one apologize on behalf of all mods. 23rd march video was actually ready to be released, but because of some last minute technical misjudgments, it did not happen.

Hopefully, as we all learn from our mistakes, this will not happen again.

I just realized that in my earlier post, I predicted/wished/suggested/acknowledged the demise of both forums that I mod. How stupid of me :smack:

If Eshan bhai decided to read my post and give it any serious thought, I just have 6 words to say … “It was nice knowing you people :sadaf: