Former Anti-Islam Dutch Producer Converts to Islam

Saudi Gazette - Ex-Islamophobe to produce film on Prophet

MADINAH – Former Dutch Islamophobe Arnoud Van Doorn unveiled plans to produce an international film on Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) and Islam.

In an exclusive interview with Okaz/Saudi Gazette, Doorn, who reverted to Islam last month, said that he will devote his life fully to spread the true message of Islam and the Prophet of Mercy through promoting the film across the world.

“I will spare no efforts to protect the rights of Muslims in all European countries as well as to serve Islam and its followers throughout the world. I will try my best to repair the damage that I caused to Islam and its Prophet (peace be upon him) through the film ‘Fitna’,” he said.

Doorn, a former leading member of far-right Dutch politician Geert Wilders’ party, visited Saturday the Prophet’s Mosque in Madinah to pray and say sorry for becoming part of the blasphemous film. Doorn was among the Freedom Party leaders who produced the film, Fitna.

After visiting the Prophet’s Mosque, he arrived in Makkah Sunday and performed Umrah. Sheikh Abdulrahman Al-Sudais, head of the Presidency for the Affairs of the Two Holy Mosques, and other presidency officials received him.

In the interview, Doorn said that he regrets being a part of such an offensive film. “However, now it is a closed chapter and absolutely I don’t want to recall about it. The film that sparked widespread reactions was a totally wrong step on our part as it contains a lot of misleading and incorrect information that are nothing to with this noble divine religion and its Prophet (pbuh),” he said, adding that he wants to do some remedial work so as to minimize the damage caused by ‘Fitna.’

Doorn said he decided, in cooperation with the Toronto-based CDA, to produce an international film aimed at removing misgivings about Islam and its Prophet (pbuh).

“I will use all my experience in producing an alternative film, which will speak about the true image of Islam and all aspects of the personality of the Prophet (pbuh) as well as his great qualities.”

Doorn repented for his involvement in the blasphemous film. “It was unfortunate that I did not make any efforts to know what really Islam is and who is the Prophet (pbuh) before blindly believing in the misinformation campaign being unleashed by the anti-Islamic forces. When I came to realize that it was not Islam, I decided to study about the religion and that led to my conversion,” he said. “Now, I am really enjoying the beauty of Islam and am extremely delighted in Allah’s great blessing to guide me onto His path. It is an explicable experience for me,” he said adding that his former colleagues in the Freedom Party are angry at his acceptance of Islam, which is still a bête noire for them. “The party stands against Islam and its spreading in Europe. Some of them now consider me as a traitor.”

Doorn has a message to those who oppose his reversion to Islam. “Let me tell them that this is my personal decision and I see a new life in Islam that I don’t want any way to give it up. I happened to see on social networking sites several comments, expressing feelings of antagonism and hatred toward me,” he said adding that all these sprang out of ignorance, contempt and animosity against Islam and the Muslims.

He also thanked all those who supported him and commended him for beginning a new life as a Muslim.

Referring to his visit to the holy land, Doorn said: “Had anybody mentioned me about visiting the land of the two holy mosques earlier, I would have called him a lunatic.

“But what happened now is realization of a dream and it is still unbelievable for me that I am now in the holy city that hosted the Prophet (pbuh).” He continued saying: “I couldn’t control my feelings when I stood in front of the grave of the Prophet (pbuh) as well as in Rawdah Sharif, near the pulpit used by the Prophet (pbuh). When I prayed at Rawdah Sharaif, my eyes were full of tears as I had the feeling that I am in a part of the Paradise.”

Doorn said that he was amazed to see the intensity of love and affection the Muslims have for their Prophet (pbuh). “I also realized the intensity of hatred that some Westerners have against Islam and the Prophet (pbuh) and that was based apparently on their ignorance and prejudice.

“Therefore, I decided to make endeavors to repair the damage caused by the offensive film, which was produced with an ulterior motive of creating sedition in between Muslims and non-Muslims,” he said, adding that he took a pledge in front of the grave of the Prophet (pbuh) that he would strive to spread his true message and his great qualities that are instrumental in promoting peace and harmonious relations among the people worldwide.

While thanking CDA for introducing Islam to him, Doorn unveiled his plans to associate with its Dawa wing, which is comprised of several well-known Islamic preachers and scholars.

Re: Former Anti-Islam Dutch Producer Converts to Islam

We’ll see if it’s sincere. I hope this doesn’t turn into “rah rah, Islam is number 1” chest beating. It would be nice if this helps tone down the anti-Islam rhetoric though.

good for the film maker and bad for anti-islam politicians…:smiley:

No real motive to sell out his party so most likely sincere but I’m frankly more interested in his transformation process and the journey to Islam. Wonder who/what inspired him and that moment when he knew he had to make this change - wonder what that was.

Interesting. If it is in fact sincere then his courage is commendable. It must have been a really difficult decision to make for someone in his position.

I said this before, and I say this now: The current circumstances that muslims are going through, are a blessing in disguise. Do not despair. Allah acts in mysterious ways. And by putting the Ummah through these difficult times is for no other reason, except to separate the good from bad.

Everday we see the troublemakers from within our Ummah showing themselves by the heinous crimes they commit that result in massive bloodshed of mankind. How easily they forget that Allah is Rab-al-Alameen (Lord of all worlds/all mankind), and that Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) was sent as Rahmat-ul-lil’alameen(Blessing to all mankind).

Alhamdulillah for everything that Allah wills. After every difficulty, there is ease. And in every difficulty there is a hikmah that we do not comprehend, because our span of knowledge is like a drop of water from ocean. What we do not know is much much greater than, what we have come to know.

We will continue to see the harshest critics of Islam become its’ embassadors.

Didn’t Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) tell us that rise of Islam will be as strange as its’ beginning? Recall the prominent figures of Quraish who were fierce opponents of Islam, later became known for their service to Islam. Today we proudly attach the noble blessing of (r.a.) to their names. SubhanAllah! When this has already happened. We have been foretold of this, why then are we surprised when we see a repeat of this?

Allah truly is the best of all planners.

If this person’s repentance is sincere, then Alhamdulillah and MashaAllah. If this a malice ploy to further damage Islam, then Astagfirullah and La Haula Wala Quwwata Illa Billa. Surely everything happens with Allah’s will. Allah guides whom He wills, and leads astray whom He wills.

^ bit over the top religiosity, IMO. Almost borders on chest thumping. Stating how the god of one religion is the best, over and over again, is equivalent to thumbing one’s nose at other religions. Even if (as I am sure) that was not the intent. IMHO.

With thst as backdrop, some would contend Narayana is also an equally good planner.

Um no, praising the one and only God you believe in is not equivalent to showing other religions the middle finger. That’s just your own insecurities shining through, sorry.

Koi thori si deeni baatein kya likh de, aap ke toh hawas he bakhta ho jatay hain. Itni negativity? Tobah hai.

southie ji we believe islam is true religion thats why we follow it…

now if you dont like we saying islam is best..thats your problem..are we nagging you about islam…no…and this is a public forum so get used to it…

Indeed this is a public forum. I stated my opinion. Get used to it..

southie ji he was just talking about islam and not insulting your religion but that also aggrieved you…:smiley:

now you dont want any one talking about islam..because you dont like people talking about islam…:smiley:

Actually I am amazed at the intellectual dishonesty in your post. You stated this is a public forum. Get used to it. To which I agreed. And replied that I can state my opinion in a public forum just as you state yours. I was not “aggrieved” at you Hattori San.

In fact, you are my dost. No question of getting aggrieved.

You also misstate my position. I just feel praising ones religion to be THE BEST over and over again is a sign of insecurity. But that’s just my opinion.

It is a public forum right, mere dost?

Chalo lets move on.

Good for him. May Allah give him determination in his new journey.

A related question. why we should wait for someone like this person to come and present positive image of Islam. Don’t the billions other Muslims (born and brought up as Muslims) have this responsibility instead of doing meaningless agitation promoting negative propaganda.

No no, that would be really inappropriate, OTT n stuff.

those who gave life agitating might have forced him to study islam properly…:smiley:

that may be the possibility, but again that does not absolve billions of Muslims from their responsibility. Moreover, if he was that concerned about agitations, he might have known reaction against Rushdie and others before producing that movie. We only see one side of the coin i.e such movies and stuff is produced to check how Muslims reacts. We always turn down other side of the coin which is demanding, because it requires lot of research and efforts to promote positive image of our religion and religious personalities.

Muslims hide behind reaction logic (against other actions) to avoid taking actions. sust log :bummer:

So true. And that is why I admire people like teggy who are actually knowledgeable in Islam, definitely more so than someone like me. And when they take the time out to share some of that knowledge with us, wo baat bhi log digest nahin kar patay toh that’s really sad. :no:

naik kaam main mushkilen to aati hain :slight_smile: