Re: For the married girls
What if we turn out like them when we grow older?
As much as i would love to tell u to punch her in the nose and tell her to mind her own business... I really have to say that with relatives like that who command a certain level of respect, its better NOT to rock the boat. Aunties like that can get awfully offended at a response they feel is undeserved, and could slander u to the rest of the family for the next 20 years.
Best thing would b to ask your hubby what to say to her and then respond. I would grin and bear it from someone like that bcos i know how much trouble they can cause if u give them an answer they don't like.
I have also become a professional at suddenly becoming deaf, expert at changing the subject and starting a different conversation with whoever is passing by.
I ask my hubby and he says, jaisa sawaal poochay waisa jawab dena. He wants me to give them a very blunt response but I guess if I say something it's gonna be me who will suffer the damage! :(
Oh I so have to perfect the art of pretending to not hear what someone says or change the subject...I think it's a required skill before I step into Pakland this december.
Ohh so this happened with you too?? My man will be on the edge of being overweight if I dont care about his diet and his uncle visited us and then when he went back he called in Pakistan and told people that he looked so weak and thin. I wanted to take a pic of my hubby’s belly and post it to each of his relatives that moment! ![]()
lol at you guys.
Corrupt angel, you just gotta get ready for the aunties, man :D Alot of times it should suffice to say aap dua karein. If they dont get the point then say, aunty mujhay urdu nahi samajh ati :D
Speaking of personal questions, there this is this girl in our muslim community here, who is always telling me how much weight i have gained, like every single visit. Or some otehr people who ALWAYS ask me why i have acne. Its like you think if i could fix, it wouldnt? :( HOnestly sometimes people have no tack.
I ask my hubby and he says, jaisa sawaal poochay waisa jawab dena. He wants me to give them a very blunt response but I guess if I say something it's gonna be me who will suffer the damage! :(
Oh I so have to perfect the art of pretending to not hear what someone says or change the subject...I think it's a required skill before I step into Pakland this december.
Good luck with that - they are 100,000 times worse than any aunty or nosey parker u would come across in western countries! On my last trip one lady demanded that my husband had to get a 2nd wife bcos we hadn't had any kids yet. I don't think she had even heard of the family planning concept.
I have a baby girl after 4 years of marriage, here is US rarely people asked aap kay kitnay bachay hain ?? I replied at that time abhi nahi hain aap duaa karain kay Allah sub ko aulad day aameen, Allah ki merzi hai etc.
Rupay, in my exp ppl are more nosey here than they were on my trip to Pak
But luckily, my MIL already knew were trying and no one else really asked, which could also be because we didnt get to meet a lot of his extended family. BUt here, everyone who didnt know we had a loss last year, was always saying, so and so had a baby, when areyou going to have one. Surprisingly hubs got more inquiries than i did ![]()
lol at you guys.
Corrupt angel, you just gotta get ready for the aunties, man :D Alot of times it should suffice to say aap dua karein. If they dont get the point then say, aunty mujhay urdu nahi samajh ati :D
Speaking of personal questions, there this is this girl in our muslim community here, who is always telling me how much weight i have gained, like every single visit. Or some otehr people who ALWAYS ask me why i have acne. Its like you think if i could fix, it wouldnt? :( HOnestly sometimes people have no tack.
I can relate to the acne thing. Everytime they see me, its like 'milly, whats wrong with your skin?' I tell them I draw them on every morning cos I know how much my face makes their world go round. I usually get an evil glare and then I laugh and then laugh thinking I was taking the mick. Silly aunties.
i hate people who ask such questions! it doesnt make any sense to me.
im not married but i got asked whilst attending a wedding a few years ago by a lady in her early 30s why my big sister wasnt pregnant, 8 months after her wedding.
I was sooo insulted at this question so i said, slightly cheeky but i think this is how to handle these sort of people,
“I dont have any interest in my sisters sex life but my brother in law is standing there why dont u go ask him?”
and smiled ever so sweetly at her and watched her leave in a huff.
and if any1 plans to ask me again i shall give the exact sam response.
when i told my sister she burst out laughing!
:halo:
oh God. I have been to these iftar parties lately and it seems like everybody has the same question: baby kab hoga?!! and NONE of these were elder aunties. I am talking about young women and even one young male!!
This guy whom I have met just twice before started asking us about our future plan. I just twisted the conversation into job plans and he got embarassed. But all these ladies are like 'aur kitna wait karna hai', or 'aap itna intezaar kyoon kar rahe ho' blah blah blah....
And with even more iftar dinners ahead I think I will just kick somebody's ass next time they ask me this rotten question!!!
The funny part is that neither my MIL, FIL or SIL are asking us about. Nor my side of the family!but random ppl seem to be interested more in our life!!!!
^ I'm telling you it's because they don't know how to have a conversation! These acquaintances have nothing else to ask you about!
its kinda funny to hear it from ppl ur own age ask, i guess its inevitable.....til recently i had teh same problem w/ ppl asking the same Q over and over (nto this one bt abt something else) and i know i was getting fed up with it. it wasn't the Question itself but that it never stops at that and there's always a dozen other questions that follow up...
one girl i went to school with asked me point blank any kids yet and i said no. she's a really nice person, not the typical desi type so i was a lil surprised but didn't mind so much..i went to pak for a month and when i called my friend first thing she asked was "Are u pregnant???"..shes a good frend so i laughed at that...and recently i msged a girl i know to ask how everythings going (shes pregn), and she asked me any good news from my end. i said i'm graduating soon :@:
on the other hand... if u get pregant straight away, you have a lot of people telling you how you rushed in... or you havent enjoyed life enough.. is this all you wanna do? make babies?
Although, a lot of people were happy... i did get that from a lot of aquaintances.. its a lose lose scenario sometimes
I came back from my honeymoon a little bit on the tummy side.. and we had to attend a dawat at my hubby’s chachus place.. incidentaly i had gone to the doctor that same day to get my back checked out cuz i had fallen while i was doing Umrah.. so we went to our chachu’s place and my hubby’s phoophi-zaad cuzn was like to my MIL after I went outside to the living area.. Bari bahu doctor k paas gaii thee? koi khushkhabri hai? and my MIL was like nahi to.. and the cuzn goes “hogi mumaani.. uska to thora sa tummy bhi nikla hua hai”.. and i was like haye rabba ![]()
So now if someone asks us i just tell them that I think ye mere aur mere miyan k bheech hai k humein bache kab chahiye.. jab honge to aapko bhi pata chal jayega!! ![]()
u know what???? one of MY AUNT said soooo many OBVIOUS but URGHHHH things to me on my shadi n i was so totally shocked that i cldn't even reply :S
o my god... till that day, i pretend i m not listening to her n i try to ignore THAT smile on her face OMG the mere thought of WHAT she said is making me go crazy again :S
n if she asked my abt the aby now.... i'll definitely use the replies suggested over here ahem ahem
u know what???? *one of MY AUNT said soooo many OBVIOUS but URGHHHH things to me on my shadi n i was so totally shocked that i cldn't even reply :S *
o my god... till that day, i pretend i m not listening to her n i try to ignore THAT smile on her face OMG the mere thought of WHAT she said is making me go crazy again :S
n if she asked my abt the aby now.... i'll definitely use the replies suggested over here ahem ahem
Im intrigued, what did she say???
Oh yes, as soon as anyone who is recently married goes to c the Dr… they r automatically pregnant, even if it means a case of immaculate conception.
When people ask me when I just say whenever Allah decides and change the topic. People need to learn to mind their own business!
w/o being offensive. How can someone have not a child for 6 years? Sorry, Sorry having asked these, aap Auntiyon ke dannde naheen mene kaane :D
Apne jab saval aisa poocha hai...to dande to apko khane hi parenge...lol