i kindly request all the kind hearted gentlemen please dont bother to respond to this thread.
so girls, how many of you discuss your marriages issues with your parents.
especially how many of you tell em that you want to get married, so they find you a nice guy? seriously girls talk to em, instead of holding your desires for lifetime.
if you like someone, talk to em and tell em. if they think he is not good for you enough then discuss with em. if you cant convince them, at least make them to convince you. they are your parents and they will understand the situation.
Once i have a guy that i can take in front of my parents then i will be happy to tell them anything that they would like to know. Im at that point that where my dad doesn't care to discuss anything in regards to marriage. He wants me to find a guy asap because he is being judged in the community. My dad "sub log tumahri shaadi bare phooch the hain" Whatever!
I talked to my mom, I just said it all in one go. I found out the best approach was to slowly warm her up with indirectly talking about characteristics in guys you like, then BAM one day you just knock em' down! lol
I told my mum, it was a very frank conversation, just said i had met somebody who is interested in marraige and would like to talk to you personally, told her a few small details about him.
She then told my dad, and they met him togther. It really was'nt difficult at all.
Yea ladies please do what she just said . She knows everyyyyyyyyyy thing . Trust me
Ok Zobia what is your advice for guys . Should we talk to our parents too if we like someone . . . yaar mujhay tu itniiiiiiiiiii sharam ati ha . . . kasmay
what makes u think that parents are not aware of your desires. I bet parents get more eager to to see their children getting married. They have been there and they know how it feels. They just dont talk about it infront of you.
My parents are quite strict when it comes to meeting guys/pasand ki shaadi. So when I finally met the right guy, and he proposed, I was so scared to tell my parents. But I approached my mum and told her everything straight. At first she was quiet, slightly annoyed but after alot of persuasion and her speaking to my dad, she agreed to speak to his mum on the phone. She liked his mum alot and the rest is history as they say!
The important thing is to never disrespect your parents by doing things behind their back. When my fiance proposed to me, I waited two months and then told my parents. I did nothing un-Islamic and people should not be bound by cultural worries of 'oh, pura khandaan kya sochaye ga?'. Forget everyone else. The only two people who you really need to worry about are your parents. baas.
and now, i am InshAllah getting married in July :)
I am not very close to my parents , mainly coz i have lived away from home majority of my life , however for all the big decisions , I usually subtly mention it to them. They listen and usually trust my judgement.
you know with parents , its normal to feel shy about certain things , but most parents do take notice of what kids say and want... even a subtle mention of our wants and wishes is good enough to give them an idea .....