For girls- from those of us who dealt with parental issues on marriage,etc

I share this story so that women know that it is possible to do this in a decent way and not completely lose touch with your family.

I was a girl who did not date, planned on having an arranged marriage, marrying someone my parents picked.

Parents picked a cousin and did not budge…time passed—5 years later and at 27 i realized they were not going to budge, my parents said some really rough things to me (no physical abuse) but the emotional abuse was bad, the guilt, told me they would disown me if i did not marry this guy and that i was being selfish etc. They also refused any other rishta that came, so i was stuck, could not get married… I was also told none of my relatives would have anything to do with me and I would be the only girl in my family not to marry a cousin or someone from our braderi.

The things i knew:
-I had a right in Islam to marry whomever i wanted and to refuse whomever i wanted.
-Islam wants you to marry and it is natural and what Allah wants.
-If my parents were not willing to marry me to someone, then i had the right to find an elder in the family/community who could help. ( i tried this they talked to my parents but to no avail)…if i could not find an elder to help, i could find someone on my own (got this from a sheikh by the way)

So i moved- got into a top ranked graduate program, it was my excuse for leaving that “looked” ok…my parents in the interim realized i was serious, two aunties intervened a ton and talked to my parents…they started to come around…The aunties pointed out that i was not running off with some guy who wasn’t Muslim, etc. i was still asking them to be a part of my rishta process..and they also told my dad you are choosing your nephew over your daughter and abandoning her, do you realize what you’re doing??

In graduate school I met my husband there and with loads and loads of work on our parts, we handeled the rishta so our parents could be involved, not only were my parents and his parents so involved, they actually did the actual “baath paki”, they involved my dada aboo and the entire family came to my wedding.

Today my parents LOVE my husband (alhamdullilah) they told me they can’t believe how religious, respectful and decent he is to them and to me…and they are thrilled. My dada (allah unko jannath naseeb karai) loves my husband before he passed, he told me “beta i have so much pride that this boy joined our family, honestly, i would not have thought this but such nice shareef people” .

It takes time, work but it happens.

Finally, yes the emotional abuse during the time i was at home was tough, yes it took me a while to get over and trust…and to be honest it hurts still…and at the time when i was first on my own, i was super vulnerable and made some dumb decisions…but all in all, i have no regrets, i maintained my imaan and persevered and am thankful for everything i have now…

SO HAVE faith and GUTS. :slight_smile: Inshallah everything will work out.

Re: For girls- from those of us who dealt with parental issues on marriage,etc

I think I watched this movie before.

is this c/p Amelie or your own story?

good to hear a +ve story :)

That's the key.
Most Pakistani women get to that stage in their late twenties. It's a learning experience and I don't blame them. Ironically, they learn at the cost of missing out on decent opportunities or when it's too late.

If its a true story then thanks for sharing :~)

sometimes unknown people give us courage.. :~)

over the time, i have developed very negative opinion about any kind of marriage. love or arranged. it's not healthy i know but cant help it. i think when it has to be bad, it will be bad. i mean does not matter what kind of marriage.

i want it to be perfect and nothing is perfect.

Instead of blaming anyone, whinning & moaning, you took your fate in your hands and took action. What a great post! Congratulations!

This post is short listed for my 'bestoftheyear2006' list.

the thing inspire me alot is ur positive approach ............
u waited ...and wait for the right tim to com ...proof that u r right ...
God help u as well ...but the situation in which u were ...and u bravely handled as well ...the story rarely twists lik tht in real life ...
things worked well in ur favour but its not possible that they work for other as well ......u r lucky ..............

I think this is the story of Preity Zinta from Salaam-Namaste. Ame"lie", tussi lie tan kar rahe o? Sachchi gaal dasso.. j/k :) By the way your husband is also muslim or belongs to the same zaat? How different things would have been if he was hindhoo or christian?

Yes completly true story. It's not a hindi film (if it was i would have played up my husband's dashingness and adding a few romantic interludes)...

The pt is as some said-

Take your life in your hands
Do it nicely
and inshallah it'll work out.

Finally, to Fayz, yes i may have missed many great opportunties BUT we never know what Allah wants for us. I truly belive that if things had not been as rough as they had been, i would never had gone onto the graduate school i did, met my husband and i would not have had the life i have now. It took that time and pain to make me strong enough to make the move...and what i have now is more than I thought I wanted 8 years ago and I am ever so thankful. Allah does truly know what is best.

LoL, so true.

so correct me if I'm wrong but you were dating your future husband when u were in graduate school?

Good to know that things worked out well for you. You used your time constructively instead of waiting and waiting for the prince charming to drop in your lap :-) God helps those who help themselves.

Thats nice amelie, you went thru some difficult times but in the end there was light at the end of the tunnel, i am happy for you. :)

God help those help themselves. ur destiny awaits u when u take the step in right direction. good luck to all those who had taken the steps and those who are willing to stand up for themselves.don't let hurdles and obstacles discourage you from getting wht u want and where u want to be. sometimes its a difficult choice between wht u want and wht others want. if u started to listen to wht others have to say then u'd become a toy in their hands. your life is for you to life and enjoy. do it your way and forget abt wht others have to say.

unlike many girls, you handled the situation very well and maturely (maybe due to your age). its nice to know there was a happy ending :)

ps. hows things now between u and ur hubby? you know how ppl say love marriages dont always work out and its not happy endings etc.....thats not true right?

^ I think its mostly a case by case thing that determines whether marriage will survive or not.. arranged marriages can fail and love marriages can live on for years and years and years and vice versa.. both have their own downfalls and advantages.

It really is upto you what you feel is best for yourself, and how much effort you put in to the relationshp.

All of you here stop judging her now.. she is happily married :~) end of story....

and thanks for sharing

tum sab ko haar cheez mein mirch masala dhondana hai kabhi kabhi meethi kheer yaa custard bhi kaa lia karo... nikaamey logo....

I agree. Im happy for her :slight_smile: its such a sweet story :blush:

[quote=amelie]
Yes completly true story. It's not a hindi film (if it was i would have played up my husband's dashingness and adding a few romantic interludes)...

The pt is as some said-

Take your life in your hands
Do it nicely
and inshallah it'll work out.

======
Nicely said amelie and thanks it does give loads of confidence.
Take care and isnhallah things will get better and better for you and your family