Foods to eat when you are trying to lose weight?

Conjugated linoleic acid…CLA

if you want to reduce the fat around the mid section…:k:

found in eggs…almonds…Yogurt…:slight_smile:

Conjugated linoleic acid - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Re: Foods to eat when you are trying to lose weight?

try eating mushroom it makes u feel like u ate alot but they have really less amount of calories like 14 calories/100 grams i think :hmmm:

try addign mushrooms to salads and soups or eggs

:hmmm:

^ Nice tip. I love mushrooms...raw and cooked.

Eat watever u want, just remember, drink 2 large glasses of water b4 ur meal, 1 during ur meal, and 2 more when u have finished....

and no eating after 7 clk (something u have to be strict on)

Why chicken? Just eat everything, watch the portions.

^ Even brownies, cookies and pies and pancakes? (say yes!)

Many thanks. Well in the morning, I take about four slices or rusks with a sugar free tea. At lunch I eat about 2-3 naans. As we eat lunch in a group at the office, I often overeat. In evening I eat one and half chapati with salan/daal or a plate of rice. In addition to this during the day I eat carrot, cucumber, guava, apple, etc.

During Ramadan I was able to loose by 4 kgs (from 72 to 68) by avoiding all the fried and sweet stuffs but now I am again 70.

4 rusks with sugar free tea? Is this the desi version of having a big-mac with diet coke?

I know its easy to overeat and indulge when you're in a group setting. I also understand a busy lifestyle leads to eating unhealthy.

The thing with losing weight is that most of the time, you're alone and until you accept that you wont be able to get away from the peer pressure.

You will be the only one eating a salad at lunch and the only one looking at the low carb menu and the only one ordering an 80 calorie skim cappuccino (not a triple shot caramel macchiato like you would prefer cuz its got over 500 calories). For dessert, you might be the only one ordering the fresh fruit cup while everyone else has a banana split. Yeah, you're very much alone in this...because its only your problem...and also only your job to fix it. My banana split eating friends arent going to pay for my medical bills, will they? Nope. Being overweight is unhealthy and puts you at risk for a number of problems later on in life.

Are they really too much? I take the rusks (pappay) and not the more heavier one cake rusks.

You don't know but I sure know.

As I said before darmiaanay rastay pay her cheez khatay huway bhi aap wazan loose kar sati hain. Sirf itna khana hai kai pait full naheen karna. Pani say bhi naheen.

What you said about extremely cold wather and protiene relation might not be true. That might be due to something else.

Good you lost weight and keeping it up. Masha Allah.

Exactly.

May be they consume protein to build musle not to burn fat.

Aap to doctor ko fail kar raheen hain. I mean lots of doctors.

Yep! I mean we have to enjoy the delicacies of life too. Eating good food is one of the things I look forward to! Lunch outside at a good place is something that I look forward to every day.

the way i look at it....you can eat what you want but do it in moderation. Do that and exercise and you will see results.

PSquared...you are right. Diets high in protein do burn fat but dont forget to incorporate all the other important elements of a heathy diet as well. I often see ppl neglect those.

Thanks everyone - I got tons of ideas and am going grocery shopping

On my list:
- Oatmeal
- Bhindi
- Cucumbers
- Apples
- Chicken
- Salad
- Whole Wheat Bread
- Yogurt
- Tomatoes

Question: What about the following foods? Good or bad for dieting?

Eggs? **
**Fish?

Dairy Produts like Milk, Chesse? **
**Red Meat - Keema etc

Brown Rice? **
**Coffee?

*Also - Do masalas have calories? or are they just minimum. Are there some you should avoid for instance - people say you should avoid salt. What about other masalas? *

I do exercise - usually 30-45 minutes on the elliptical 3-4 times a week. I usually swim but it's way too cold right now.

eat red meats but in moderation. Some red meats are high in cholestrol and contain a lot of fat.

eggs are high in protein…you can eat it everyday if you wanted to but be sure to take the yolk out. the yolk is high in cholestrol and fat. if you want to eat the eggs with the yolk by all means do so but no more then 2x a week.

eat what you like but in moderation. keep the portion size in mind. atho if you want to see fast results I advise you avoid foods containing too much fat and sugar.

lastly…exercise exercise exercise! even if it’s just a brisk 30 minute walk…do it daily and be consistent.
dieting wont do anything for you without a good exercise regimen.

best of luck :k:

Thanks AW! Need to lose 10 before vacation in March

^ Its AE :snooty:

Just be careful, you should ideally lose 1lb per week. You have 5 weeks, so you should be alright, but remember losing excessive weight in short amounts of time isn’t a good thing either.

opps hit the wrong key. need to brush up on typing skills.

register on sparkpeople.com for free! its awesome. i also posted on the gymming log thread about this.