Food related myths.

Share your cooking related myths here. I can write some :

1. food tastes good if cooked in clay pot / matti key hadi. I know of someone who brought clay pot from India to cook daal and karhi in it, she swears on her life that food tastes better when cooked in it.

2. Thanda vs garam khana , I am referring to after effect (taseer) of certain food coming from Hakeem key hikmat.

3. Masala grinded in electric grinder does not taste as good grinded in sill batta .

4. Shan masala vs hand made masala do not taste the same.

5. Drinking milk after eating fish can give you juzaam/burs - I do not know what this disease is called in English.

6. Drinking water after eating peanuts will give you cough.

7. Drinking or eating cold things while you have cough or cold will make it worse.

8. Eating too much sour stuff will give man boobs to men/boys.

9. Drinking water after eating water melon or pear will give you diarrhea.

Re: Food related myths.

these arent all myths r they:konfused:

I consider them myths. :smack: why is formatting not working in post editor ?

I agree with all your myths mirch

Eating achar gives you gala kharab i dont believe either.

i think no. 1 is not a myth ,food does taste good in mitti handi,i ve'nt tried daal yet just korma n karhai n boneless handi n they taste different n soo yummy ......when i made korma i had guests over n they also said that this korma tastes so good .....n my mom used to make mutton or beef in it over low flame n it was so good ,havent tasted anything like it.

hehe it does ,i mean not like beemaar wali cough ,just a couple of khaa khaa or maybe i have a senstive throat.....

not all of them are myths.

Mirch,

some of these might not be myths. There are many things that we know the reason of but those things are still true. For example

Masala grinded in electric grinder does not taste as good grinded in sill batta .

Might actually be true because grinder just over-do the masala. Sometimes you need that specific aroma in the food that can not be obtained by using grinder.

same is the case with shan masala thing. when you mix your own masala, most of the time you make sure you use purest of ingredients while this might not be true for shan masala.

Same might be the case for clay pot. heating dynamics might be different in clay pot from aluminum pot or from stainless steel or from non-sticking. if not better, you can always categorize taste/aroma of food "different" when cooked in different types of pots and on different heats.

My Mom also believe in 5 & 6 and makes sure we also follow that.

Some other myths ( of a different categories),

(1) Bachpan main jab hum school se lota karte the to Ammi tawwe pe rotiyan daal rahi hoti thin. Agar rotiyan ziada phoollti to wo kehtin ' Aaj mere bachon ko ziada bhook lagi hai'

(2) My friend told that his Mom says Agar roti naram bani ho to iska matlab hai ke kisi mohabbat karne wale hathon ne aata goondha hai. I said 'Aajkal ki aksar ladkian to na naram roti bana sakti hain na seedhi. Iska matlab wo apne miyan se pyar nahin kart?'

(3) My Naani avoids to lend Namak 'Salt' after Maghrib to any neighbor bcoz she said ' Raat main ghar se rizq bahar nikalne se barkat khatam hojati hai'. LOL

One more thing, my Mom also says not to eat Keri (Raw mango) with Kakri or water Melon, as that causes vomiting! Also she doesn't serve fish & chicken together for some reason.

They are all myths because some believe that they are true but they are not , do a scientific experiment in a lab and publish your results in a journal, if you want to prove that they are not myths. :snooty:
There is a cheaper alternative too , send your idea to Myth Busters to include it in their show and prove it to be true. :ahaa:

lets agree to disagree then…

agree to disagree ...... :)

these arent myths ,they are superstistions.

^ Ya that is probably the proper word, but there is a thin line b/w myths & superstition. Both are assumed as truth until proven wrong!

I've heard that one shouldn't consume dairy with fish, but I don't remember why. Curious about the "reasoning" about it.

Not that I care but It means you did not bother to read my first post. This myth is covered and the reasoning is also given. :chai:

awww how cute ur mom is. love this line "aaj mere bachon ko zaida bhook lagi hai" :)

Mirch ko mirchain lag gayi kya? No need to get snippy. I don’t know what juzaam means and you haven’t described it yourself. I was trying to remember what I’ve been told about the myth but couldn’t do so. And as far as the “reasonning” is concerned…I was curious about the mechanisms that cause the food to be potentially harmful to the body.

1 isn't a myth. i gots me a traditional porous clay vessel from india to cook a couple of native dishes in, they never turn out with the right consistency in other vessels. and it is more about resting the cooked dish in the clay vessel more than cooking in it. capillary action draws out water overnight, while concentrating and reducing the gravy down very very gradually.

3 isnt one either. stuff like coconut and shallot chutney etc. almost never get the right chunky consistency and mouth-feel when pureed in a blender or food processor even.

4 - freshly ground masala mostly does smell better than prepackaged ones, but often the difference in heavily spiced dishes may not be all that noticable. but if you are making something with just one spice's tones like elaichi gosht, you should make an effort to grind down fresh elaichi rather than go with some packaged powdered elaichi.

Yes! She is the cutest & most caring person on the earth.