I like this topic and have learnt new word FOBS. What about the in betweens like somebody who came to foreign country and stayed there for longer and now is a mixture of both. what would u call him?
In Paki land most of the ABCD's or BBCD's or CBCD's are called coconuts or UK return or Dubai Chalo (if from middle east).
I don't know how Fobs react but honestly ABCD and alike seems to think that they are cool and see white blood running through their veins and seems to be lost as they say:
Apni matti pay chalnay ka saleeqa seekho
sang-e-marmar pay chalo gay to phisal jao gay
Originally posted by Hinna: Fobs are the ppl who have their pants hitched up so high and try to be sooo"angrez". ;)
And abcd,cbcd and the like are the ppl who are cool, collective and WAYYYYYYYYYYYYY smarter then all those fobs :D
haha don't forget you abcd girls live in a fantasy world waiting for there romeo to come and take you away from all kinds of miseries . thas where your limited brain works :) ...On the other hand we FOBS are realists, smart and concludes that romeo and juliet, titanic, or any chick flick movie is all crap..No reality in it.. :)
No matter how high our pants are hitched up most of ABCD's end up marrying FOBS ;).
FOBS lures ABCD's and that makes us alluring .. ;)
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited October 31, 2000).]
Originally posted by sherrybaba:
** haha don't forget you abcd girls live in a fantasy world waiting for there romeo to come and take you away from all kinds of miseries . thas where your limited brain works :) ...On the other hand we FOBS are realists, smart and concludes that romeo and juliet, titanic, or any chick flick movie is all crap..No reality in it.. :)
No matter how high our pants are hitched up most of ABCD's end up marrying FOBS ;).
FOBS lures ABCD's and that makes us alluring .. ;)
Baba jee, aren't the fobs, who are obsessed with the bollywood shit??????
Aren't they the one in their fantasy of love or romance, and everything being all perfect in the end, with a song after every 15mins???
And by the way titanic was based on a true story, where the guy and the girl aren't together in the end, there isn't a happy ending.....there is no fantasy we are in....i don't know what people in pakistan think, that you come to america and your problems are gone, you make lots of money, and everything is all fine and dandy...that is a %@#$ing fantasy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited October 31, 2000).]**
naaaaaaaaaa uhhhhh...we CBCD'Z don't live in fantasy worlds..we are realists! :).you fobs think that as soon as you come here..you're gonna get everything you want...like the perfect house..the perfect wife
Ouch!.
Amanat jeee I advise you to stay away from this post as you are taking it waaay personally and indeed it is injurious to yer health . :)
Btw you were kinda off the track from yer previous reply :) and I understand, emotions can get out of control :)
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited October 31, 2000).]
Originally posted by Hinna:
*naaaaaaaaaa uhhhhh...we CBCD'Z don't live in fantasy worlds..we are realists! :).you fobs think that as soon as you come here..you're gonna get everything you want...like the perfect house..the perfect wife *
We FOBS have an ambition, goals, desires and we attain ,achieve or get it. You can call us realists and achiever and hello I dun recall referring anything to CBCD's :) umm well good for you ..consider yourself part of ABCD now..
until then wait for your romeo heh heh
I think this topic is very interesting.
Good thinking to the one of thought of it ;D
yes well, being named a FOB or an ABCD has many implications towards it. Personally, I dont think there is anything wrong with being named a FOB or an ABCD. Being a FOB, in my way of thinking, is meant to be humorous in a sweet way. I dont understand why people get so upset if they found out someone called them a FOB. It just means someone who is inexperienced in the culture of their new country. If an ABCD were to all of a sudden move to Pakistan..they'd be a FOB there! I think we should embrace the new culture that they bring to the United States. And you know being a "FOB" shows you one characteristic about themselves....They're very Brave! To come into a totally different environment and be able to survive on their own is incredible! And they should be applauded for that.
Now....making fun of ABCD's can be humorous too...its true, if you live here, you won't understand half of what the Pakistani culture is all about. But that doesn't mean, that you shouldn't teach them and let them see what its all about. In a nice way!
Basic Point! (Finally) :D
FOB'S and ABCD's should intermingle and share their cultures with one another. There are beautiful points to each of our cultures..and that no one is better than anyone else. We need one another's ideas to work together and create a new culture accentuating the best aspects of both worlds :>
Ouch!.
Amanat jeee I advise you to stay away from this post as you are taking it waaay personally and indeed it is injurious to yer health . :)
Btw you were kinda off the track from yer previous reply :) and I understand, emotions can get out of control :)
Baba jee, don't worry about my health:) And i'm not taking anything personally, i'm just giving my opinion, and i have nothing against you.......and believe me my emotions aren't out of control, i just don't like hearing that a person is considered less intelligent, because of where they were brought up, what do you think about that.......and this can be considered a funny topic, if you guys weren't all so judgemental and ready to take sides:)
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited October 31, 2000).]**
aray jeee please try to understand my suplication heh I'm not being Judgemental ,its all good in fun and laughter you are taking every post of mine very literally and seriously.
I had so many fights with ABCDs in college We made so much fun of each other you cant even imagine to be frank we all were having fun. :). Our fights was not to degrade anyone!
Till then wait for your romeo and
have fun in your fantasy world :)
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited November 01, 2000).]
hmmmmmmm… interesting stuff, and yeah well said miss lulu jiii, waisay wat kind of a name is that, sounds really dumb, hehehe ( seee mine sounds soo intelligent!!) well i agree to lulu ji, cos an abcd will b a fob in pakistan, and besides we r all pakistanis yarraa, hmmmmm and welll if ur considering being pakistani, then, well i have to say, fobs r the original stuff, abcd stuff to buss aisay hee style shyle hee hay, hehehehe kiooon ji mere fob bhayioo wat do u say??, we r the original stufff jii, the real thing, abcd bechaaray to na idher kai na udher kai, hehehheeee ok ok calm down kakay calm down, oyee yaar ppl, its all meant to b a joke accha, we r all pakistanis and thats reality, doesnt matter ifur a fob or an abcd…waisay bhi i think fobs r cute, and so r abcds, when they come to pakistan, hehehe ok ok ppl, pls dont go to sleep!!!
Baba jee, ok i'll take your advice, and play along.....i'll wait for my "romeo", while you wait for your juliet, in your bollywood fantasy....and don't forget to practice singing:)
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited November 01, 2000).]**
Originally posted by sherrybaba:
** We FOBS have an ambition, goals, desires and we attain ,achieve or get it. You can call us realists and achiever and hello I dun recall referring anything to CBCD's :) umm well good for you ..consider yourself part of ABCD now..
until then wait for your romeo heh heh
oye sherry baba...what ambitions and goals do you have that we "abcd's and cbcd'z don't have?"
AND there's a difference between a CBCD and an ABCD....trust me..there is a difference between a canadian and an american :)
Originally posted by appkiamaanat:
i know people who go back to pakistan, and just because they came from America, or that they speak english, people treat them like they they are something
Sorry to diappoint you but Pakistan has moved forward just a teeny bit - meaning - most people in the cities know how to speak english.As far as the 'special treatment' goes,the only people who may do that are the afghans in Kohsar market who are always looking for a 'gora sucker' to make some extra bucks.Translation - shopkeepers(quite rightly)feel that foreigners or in this case -"Overseas Pakistani Americans" - are suckers
who can easily be taken for a ride,so they butter them up and then hit them with the big one.It's quite funny actually.These guys are damn good:)
and you're a pefect example of a person who >has no idea what he is talking about, and
making a judgement.....
I think I already accused you of doing the same.Does this mean we have something in common? Heaven forbid!!
Long after the U.S dies and
Long after Capitalism goes tits up
Hollywood will still rule the planet
Originally posted by Hinna:
** oye sherry baba...what ambitions and goals do you have that we "abcd's and cbcd'z don't have?"
AND there's a difference between a CBCD and an ABCD....trust me..there is a difference between a canadian and an american :)
Well you accused us FOBS that we "think" we gonna get good house or perfect wife :) but I wanted to clarify it by saying we achieve it..We FOBS are achievers champions etc heh...
Well you only categorize yourself among ABCDs and BBCD..I might know the diferrences but if you throw some light on it that would confirm my doubts :)
Till then wait for your romeo :)
and have fun in yer fantasy land
[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited November 02, 2000).]