Flops of WC 2003

Seems like hayden is itching to get in this list as well

Pakistan
South Africa

Shane Bond got 6-23 against the aussies:k:

So you were thinking Kaif to be start instead of Sachin.Sehwag and Dravid.OR you were expecting everybody in Indian team to dominate bowlers.
Talking about Kumble,He is no more key bowler.He is not regular in playing eleven.

definitely !!! I was expecting kaif to score a century against Holland, australia and zimbabwe, when he had chance to prove himself again!

And yeah about kumble, you never know; he has had history of come backs and he's still considered as a BIG GAME player. And thats why he was given chance against pakistan. After all he has record of bowling out the whole pakistani team alone! He's one of the only 2 bowlers in history to take all 10 wickets of an inning.

Wasim, took 12 wickets in 6 matches, Its not all that. He could have done better than this.

Indian Teen,

It doesn't matter what you were expecting from Kaif, Kaif was never touted as the star to watch in the world cup. It is really unfair to expect a guy to score century every time one of the 1 Billion Indians wants some player to prove something for them.

Kaif hasn't played that bad, You should have seen him batting against Pakistan and trust me his presence on the crease was one of the reasons why India won the game and his promotion was called master stroke.
About Kumble it's even more ridiculous to tout him as a failure because out of 8 matches he only played 3 matches and against Holland took 4 wickets in a row and was one of the reasons why India won the match, Against Australia he took the only wicket that fell and against pakistan yes he didn't bowl well, but who did ?? Srinath, Nehra, Akram, Waqar, Shoaib ?? Tell me one bowler who was successfull that day ??

It's disgusting to see people who keep expecting our players to score a century or take 10 wickets every time these players take the field.

Asif, sure I accept I got carried away. I didn't literally mean centuries. But Indians still remember the natwest final and Kaif's century against zimbabwe. He was a big hero and expectations were really high and that was the reason that public targetted his house after kangaroo debacle. You get hurt most , when expections are very high and results r really bad. I hope I am making sense :-)

All the players in PCT

Pakistani Cricket Team :wave: : One of the favourite. Eliminated right after playing their third match.

Anil Kumble : the key bowler for the indians.... they r playin harbhajan for a classic spinner...

Muhammed Kaif : manhoos sirf pakistan key against khel gaya:(..

*Originally posted by The_Indian_teen: *
But Indians still remember the natwest final and Kaif's century against zimbabwe. He was a big hero and expectations were really high and that was the reason that public targetted his house after kangaroo debacle. You get hurt most , when expections are very high and results r really bad. I hope I am making sense :-)

Indian Teean - First of all there is no excuse for attacking any player's house just because he played a bad game. The people who targeted his house were JAHILs, GAWARs and a shame. These idiots make all cricket fans look bad. It's JUST A GAME. You win some lose some. You just can't win all the time.

And no, you dont make any sense, because no matter how hurt you are, No one gives those idiots a right to attack some players' home.

LOL . Thats why I used the word "sense" . u stuck to the example , not the crux ;-) that was just one example to strengthen the argument and u started singing again ! I do not approve wut happened with kaif's family and house. I was rather very angry with wut happened. But I wanted to know, why they attacked only his house and ganguly's; reason was clear - Both of them were BIG failures.

And sir, not only those jahil, ganwars, but most of us also felt that they were underperforming. Though our way of showing our anger was discussing among ourselves ;-) and those ganwars showed their jahilpana.

Hope this one reaches "clear" to you!

cheers!

Re: All the players in PCT

Ditto!

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
same goes for Shoaib, he got beaten up badly in one match by Tendulkar

aur wohi match nay hamain super six say bhi out kardia tha naa...

wo sirf aik ordinary match nahi tha.. wo hamari last hope thi :(

Flops XI of Worldcup

http://www.wisden.com/misc/free/page.asp?colid=44121495

Rob Smyth picks an XI of the World Cup’s biggest letdowns **

1 Marcus Trescothick **
Hinted at catharsis in the final match, but this was a shocker for a man who usually pummels one-day hundreds without thinking. By the end he looked weary and homesick, like someone who needed to go home and put his feet somewhere, anywhere, other than in cement. And don’t even mention that Duckworth/Lewis fiasco against Namibia.
2 Virender Sehwag **
Has a chance to redeem himself in the final, but so far has brought to his debut World Cup what Adam Gilchrist brought to his in 1999: big reputation, big strokes, even bigger letdown.

3 Jacques Kallis **
Flops don’t come much weightier. It wasn’t just the stats - 63 runs at 16, three wickets at 64, dropping Brian Lara - but the fact that, for someone with such a big reputation, Kallis never even threatened to take a passage of play, let alone a whole game, by the scruff.

4 Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt)**
Before the tournament, Inzy famously boasted that he’d lost 23 pounds - that’s 1.21 for every run he scored. With a top score of six, an average of 3.16, and the obligatory comedy run-out, Inzy was a cold potato whichever way you look at it.

5 Mahela Jayawardene**
He may be one of the world’s best young batsmen - he’s still only 25 - but Jayawardene doesn’t like the big stage: he didn’t make a fifty in the 1999 World Cup, and he didn’t even reach double figures this time. With 21 runs in nine matches - okay, so he only played seven innings – he even made Gerry Liebenberg look prolific.

6 Bas Zuiderent**
The blue-eyed boy of Dutch cricket; but the teenager who stroked 54 against England on Holland’s last World Cup appearance grew into the man who could only fumble 35 runs in six innings this time. It wasn’t just what he did but the way that he did it: slapping to mid-off here, bowled by a Burger there.

7 Abdul Razzaq **
One wicket from 26 overs - and that was against Holland. One score of over 25 - and that was against Holland too. Oh, and he dropped Sachin Tendulkar, which is just about as bad as it gets. In 1999 he put the ‘dur’ in dour; in 2003, after a quick name change from Abdur to Abdul, he put the ‘dul’ in dull.

8 Brendon McCullum (wk) **
Didn’t do a lot wrong, but one choke made for a summer he won’t want to remember. McCullum dropped a sitter when Rahul Dravid edged Shane Bond in their crunch Super Six match; it probably cost New Zealand a semi-final place.

9 Barry Seebaran **
Barry Seebaran, Canada’s lanky left-arm spinner, probably spent a long time thinking about his first over in World Cup cricket. Maybe he’d spin one through Brian Lara’s gate to bowl him; maybe he’d tie him down with a series of dot balls. He got the dot ball - but only after Lara had flogged the first five for 4, 6, 4, 6 and 6. With figures of 1-0-26-0, Seebaran was probably relieved he didn’t get another bowl in the match.

10 Allan Donald **
The most poignant flop of the tournament. Donald was a shadow of his former self, a dank drizzle of a fast bowler where once there was white lightning. The final act of his career was a sad one - replaced by a rookie, Monde Zondeki, for South Africa’s fateful match with Sri Lanka.

11 Pulasthi Gunaratne **
Wild-eyed and even wilder in line and length, Gunaratne went for more than a run a ball throughout the tournament, and his combined figures against Australia were priceless: 14-0-106-0. Not even Columbo, or the whole of Colombo for that matter, would be able to work out how he was preferred to Dilhara Fernando for the semi-final.
12th man Shoaib Akhtar**
Misses the cut for producing one of the balls of the tournament to Tendulkar. Makes the XII for failing to live up to a newspaper column that was hubristic enough to make Malvolio look modest.

Have your say guys…

Nice Allah Ka Banda. I totally agree with all of it. I think Matt Hayden should be added in that. I think people were expecting a lot more from him.

Abdul Razzaq??? well, I didn't expect $hit from him.

I thought Sehwag was not flop.he was Ok and moreover he has one mor ematch left.Who knows??

But choice of captain is perfect.
Coach should be Richard Pybus.

someone once said, comparing the pakistan team and the SA team a long time ago. " pakistan team is not super because it has super stars in it, while SA team is super because it has not super stars." maybe it is time to see the new talent and throwing off the ganday anday that are there only based on their reputation, when they were something six years ago or beyond.
the problem:teary3: with cricket is that it is not a professional sport like baeball, otherwise new talent would have surfaced every year with new teams. “parchi” in pk:jhanda: cricket workd every time. :mad:
what fo you think??