Flops of WC 2003

What do you think are the players who fell far short of expectations in this world cup. I mean players who came with very hight expectations and couldnot do much.
Here is my list..please feel free to add.

Kallis * World best all rounder and managed to score in 60s runs and got 3 wickets in 6 matches.Very ordinary.*

Inzimam * Wonderful stroke player.Carried hope of nation on his shoulder and managed 19 in 6 matches.*

Jayawardane * very exciting batsmen.Looks like he is competing agaisnt Inzimam and infect he has beaten him.less than 20 runs in 8 matches.*

Shoib Akhter * Came into worldcup as most exciting player to wtahc. And floped miserably.Only managed to put good performance agaisnt Minnows.*

Naser Hussain * Not very exciting player.But captain of England failed miserably.*

Please keep adding if you think anyone who should be on this list.

May be Bonds,Afridi,Trescothik,Knight etc etc

Virender Sehwag - Came with lot of reputaion of being one of the players to watch for in the world cup, but so far has failed to impress us.

Virender "Veeru" Sehwag - dubbed as another Tendi failed miserabley so far

Ajit Agarkar - I saw more of his ears then his bowling

Agreed.But he played good yesterday and was in 20s and 30s many times.

Agarkar…Aman yaar Indian player ka naam lena hai to lene me koi harj nahi hai..but take name of those players who playes matches…

** Allan Donald ** *More was expected from him. Ace South African bowler for many years, looked very ordinary in this tournament *

Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
Allan Donald ** *More was expected from him. Ace South African bowler for many years, looked very ordinary in this tournament *

very true.
What a bad way to retire.

** Abdur Razzaq ** * A big dissapoint in this world cup for Pakistan. Razzaq was one of the best players in the last world cup, didnt play upto his potential in this one. Seemed like he was badly out of form. I think Azhar Mahmood derserved a chance in his place *

** Lance Klusner ** * Same as Razzaq, one of the biggest heroes of the last world cup, failed to produce sensational stuff or match winning stuff when it mattered. *

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *

** Lance Klusner ** * Same as Razzaq, one of the biggest heroes of the last world cup, failed to produce sensational stuff or match winning stuff when it mattered. *

I think Klusener did ok.Cant call it as disappointment.May not be as good as last worldcup but he was not bad either.

Wasim Akram

*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
Wasim Akram

No way.. r u out of your mind.

*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
Wasim Akram

In my view, Akram, Saeed and Latif are the only three players of Pak cricket team jo apni izzat bacha karr ayein hein.

Waqar Younis:Second highest wicket taker in the history of the game who is capable of going through any batting lineup on a given day, failed to showcase any impressive figures,possible due to his incapacity to shoulder the weight of captaincy and perform.

How in the world was Wasim Akram a flop, someone needs a reality check and same goes for Shoaib, he got beaten up badly in one match by Tendulkar but other than that he bowled very normal, not too good and not too bad.
Another man who shouldn't be on the list is Sehwag, he may have not scored big runs like Tendulkar but he has given his teams good starts in most of the matches, specially against Pakistan, he only scored 21 runs but he destroyed the confidence of our fast bowlers.

But the biggest dissappointment has to be Inzi, he is badly out of form and was very unlucky in some of the dissmisals.

true..totally agree :k:

Add Kaif ; except against pakistan he's not played any significant inning.
and also Anil Kumble; He was atmost ordinary against pakistan.

*Originally posted by The_Indian_teen: *
Add Kaif ; except against pakistan he's not played any significant inning.
and also Anil Kumble; He was atmost ordinary against pakistan.

Well these 2 were not projeted as stars.If you keep counting like this you will end up having a list of 50 players.

u got to be kidding :confused: u talkin abt Kaif ??? and then Kumble is supposed to be key bowler for India ( 2nd highest wicket taker for India) and now the 5th highest in ODIs!

Abdul Razaq
Denish Mongia
Arnold
Sangakara

Inzamam, Jayawardane, Craig McMillan, Abdul Razzaq, Klusener, Kaif, Collins.

oh, and the entire Bangladesh team :D

they've gone from bad to horrible in four loong years.