So we have all the bridges, roads and what not… but when it rains, it floods. Back in 1990s I believe they dug almost all karachi for greater water/sewerage/flood-drain system. Today it rained, roads are flooded, traffic jam. Thank you Mustafa Kamal.
Re: Flood management - Karachi
Those living in Karachi, how is the situation in underpasses? Though on TV they are showing low-lying areas to be flooded, but some part of Sharae Faisal is flooded too. How are other areas doing like North Karachi, Gulshane Maymar, Nazimabad, FB Area, Gulshan Iqbal, Gulistan-e-Jauhar, PECHS, Malir, etc?
I would request you not to start pointing fingers in his direction just to make yourself look “neutral” in the eyes of our Punjabi-speaking friends.
Keep in mind that MK inherited this problem.
He did so many things since 2005. Flood-management was one of his plans. Now you would have to ask him about the status of those plans.
Besides, I know he had something in mind for flood-control:
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=91071685
For example, rains often flood Karachi’s streets during the monsoon season. So the mayor went around London videotaping storm drains. Trash is also an issue in a place as dense as Karachi — “My city is a dirty city, it’s not clean. Garbage is the main problem,” Kamal says — so he studied the way it is collected in Shanghai, China, and plans to implement a similar system this summer.
His interview from 2006 in which he talked about flooding:
I would request you not to start pointing fingers in his direction just to make yourself look "neutral" in the eyes of our Punjabi-speaking friends.
I don't need to show myself as "neutral" to anyone, I said in earlier threads I criticise inactions/bad-actions and appreciate good actions... its that simple.
Keep in mind that MK inherited this problem. He did so many things since 2005. Flood-management was one of his plans. Now you would have to ask him about the status of those plans.
MK inherited many problems including traffic so that is really no excuse. He worked on 'traffic' problem we all know that and I appreciate that. Purpose of this thread is to inquire about "those plans" for flood-management.
Karachi does not get much rain. Rains are rare thats why flood sewers are not maintained there
some people will defend mustafa kamaal (mqm nazim commando) even if he murders someone in broad daylight infront of thousands of people...
Mustafa bhai is kool and he did a lot for us in karachi. Why you not respect and pay credit to him for his good?
Do you know what he did for Karachi? May mention kerta houn
- build roads
- Bridges
- Parks
- Waterfront project 5 New water lines 6 New Sewers
Plus Mustafa bhai always does our work. My brother had to have his project approved. Mostafa bhai kay pass gaye he got very happy when he found out that we are from the same area and background. In just 10 minutes he had the problem solved for my brother
Mustafa bhai is kool and he did a lot for us in karachi. Why you not respect and pay credit to him for his good?
i refuse to pay credit or bhatta to that idiot, or his master altaf bhai. joh patna hai pat lo.
Pakistani Police And Authorities, Wiping Kalima from Ahmadiyya Mosque
Were these guys lining up to pay credit or bhatta to nazum ‘youtube par charha’ too, for that amazing road?
This is all propaganda. Pakistan Army Zindabad , Mqm Zindabad
This is act of taliban. They flooded roads in karachi and we know that u know that too
[quote="itsybitsy, post:28, topic:204256"]
This is all propaganda. Pakistan Army Zindabad , Mqm Zindabad
Are you talking about the Army who bhai used to badmouth, and the same Pakistan whose flag bhai burnt and called its creation the biggest blunder in the history of mankind? Is it the same army they fought and tortured in the 90s?
This is act of taliban. They flooded roads in karachi and we know that u know that too
Yes, altaf's obesity, his chichora-pan are acts of the taliban too.
We are Pro Pakistan and Pro Pakistan Army. Nawaz shareef is traitor and Musharraf will hang him soon
I have nothing but great admiration for mods and administrators to ban this itsybitsy, spy of India finding his way in to this forum. You can just smell the espionage in his posts. Bravo. There are more to tackle at present and more to come.
I barish or sub beh gaya, saray kay saray daway dharay reh gay, Airport tak key bijli nahi rahee... ab pata nahi kay funds Mustafa kamal kha gaya kay Altaf Hussain
I would request you not to start pointing fingers in his direction just to make yourself look "neutral" in the eyes of our Punjabi-speaking friends......................
I am sorry, but remind me again who brings in races to discussions?
Four years as a mayor and still 'studying' how things should be done! These studies are to be done before awarding road contracts and finalizing kickbacks.
The roads and underpasses built during Shahbaz Sharif's first tenure in Lahore still drain rain water. I am not trying to compare the two, just mentioning that rain water drainage 'technology' is not a recent one that you have to go to London to study it. The 'technology' was even used by British while designing roads in Karachi pre-partition.
Purpose of this thread is to inquire about "those plans" for flood-management.
Well, you did not actually "ask". You "blamed" him DIRECTLY.
It is good that we criticize wrongdoings of officials, but before blaming anyone we first need to make sure that there really was a wrongdoing involved.
We agree that MK inherited myriads of problems resulting from decades of negligence of the city. He started working from 2005, and has worked day swiftly to improve several areas. But how can you blame him for every evil that hits Karachi everytime, without considering the short tenure he has had?
But MK did not inflict rains on Karachi, nor is he complacent in cleaning the city afterwards. So how come this "murder in broad daylight" thing come here?
That shows the hatred Spock has against Pakistani people. He can not think beyond his narrow-minded Punjabi nationalism.
All Pakistanis, Punjabi/Muhajir/Sindhi/etc., must work together to get our country rid of this anti-Pakistan attitude. We need to learn from one another, and make Pakistan the country Quaid dreamed of.
People! the MAJOR crisis Pakistan is facing today is not MQM or Mustafa Kamal or even Bharat, it is TALIBAN and their KHARIJI thoughts.
In these times of crisis, we need to concentrate our efforts in returning peace and security to all of Pakistan, instead of blaming MK for daring to work for people of Karachi.