First Sikh selected for England

England selected Monty Panesar in place of Ashly Giles to tour India next month.
http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2006/jan/27eng.htmhttp://content-usa.cricinfo.com/indveng/content/story/234692.html

I hope poor guys debut doesnt turn into a nightmare. Debut of an spinner in India can be difficult.
Monty Panesar will join England’s tour party to India, the ECB announced at a press conference at Lord’s on Friday. Panesar, the 23-year-old uncapped left-arm slow bowler, will be England’s third spinner alongside Shaun Udal and Ashley Giles - if Giles is fit enough: Ian Blackwell will be on standby to replace him.
Panesar got the nod ahead of Blackwell and Alex Loudon, having staked a strong claim with 46 wickets for Northamptonshire at 21.54 apiece in last season’s Championship. He has also represented England Under-19 and attended the ECB Academy in the winter of 2002. He has received criticism for his batting and fielding in the past, but went to Darren Lehmann’s Academy in Adelaide to work on these disciplines this winter, and the move appears to have paid off.
So, that’s one of England’s spin problems resolved. The other - Giles’s fitness - offers more cause for concern for England. Giles is struggling to recover from an operation on a hip injury which had forced him to return home early from Pakistan: for now he has been told to rest rather than undergo further rehabilitation. Blackwell, who could take his place, has been named in England A’s squad to tour the West Indies. The side will be captained by Vikram Solanki.
The news will delight David Graveney, the ECB’s chairman of selectors, in particular. Graveney has spoken in support of Panesar recently, and today he said, “It is hugely to his credit that he took the initiative in approaching the selectors before Christmas to discuss how he could improve all aspects of his game and we are delighted with the progress he has made following his recent trip to Adelaide.”
"Ian Blackwell has been placed on standby to join the Test squad if Ashley fails to recover from his injury in time prior to the tour. Further discussions will take place with the medical team with regard to this nearer to the time of the team’s departure for India.
“The selectors also considered Alex Loudon for the Test squad, and although he has not been included on this occasion, he made a good impression in Pakistan and is one of a number of spin-bowlers we have chosen in the England A squad to tour West Indies.”

Re: First Sikh selected for England

From what I have seen of him, he is a very good spinner, streets ahead of Giles and Udal. Good luck to him.

I saw the highlights of a county match and he was bowling quite decently. Lets hope he makes a mark in India.

Yes Ehsan bhai is correct. He is a better option then the 2 bazurgane inglastaan. Monty had a good season for northants, worked hard in the academy in the off season, and now a call up to the national squad, can't get better the that.

‘Quite decently’ is not good enough…not against Indian batsmen.

^ well by English standards he was good. At least he was trying to give ball some flight mixed with straighter ones.

Let us hope not. Abe Panesar tunhara mark kahi aur karo. Hindustan me karaneki kya zarurat hain?

So finally they have decided to start mid-night cricket.

So they can't find any decent English player?

Please don't mind me asking this?

Why do all Sikhs prefer to bowl spin rather then fast bowling?
I have never seen a sikh fast bowler.

I think Ian Blackwell is very unlucky, he bowled very well in odis in Pakistan!

Dont you mean to say you have never seen an Indian fast bowler?

But yes according to Indian standards they do have a sikh fast bowler. Yuvraj Singh is pretty fast.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Rajendra Singh Ghai (fast bowler) played for India for a while in the eighties. You may cricinfo him.

there was another one too..sindhu

and also RP Singh.

You are probably referring to…Balwinder Singh Sandhu…played in the WC83 FINAL that India won…bowled Gordon Greenidge with a superb delivery !!

Sandhu , in fact, played for India for quite some time.

You are a Sardar if you think he is a Sardar.

I just recalled that there is another one...Bhupinder Singh Sr...who played a few one-dayers for India in late 80s or early 90s. He is currently a member of the national selection committee.

I think there was a Sikh fast bowler…was not express but decent…Bhupinder Singh or something his name was…

Poor fellow went to Sharjah first up…Saeed Anwar and Aamir Sohail took him to pieces…never heard of him ever since…

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/india/content/player/26942.html

RP Singh is "bhaiya" not Sikh I believe....