I am kind of stressing right now… i want to find the perfect red bridal for my upcoming shaadi this July. Due to work schedule/not having a pakistani visa, etc. It is not looking like I will get to go to Pakistan which is causing me a lot of stress…
I always thought that I would go back to Lahore and shop until I found the perfect dress! Hence the stress.
I know there are alot of online websites (and discussion about them) - can people give me advice about which ones I should trust and even bother to look at??? Any positive feedback from a bride who ordered her bridal online???
I am from upstate NY - this makes Toronto, Edison, and Jackson Heights all possibilities for me to shop at. Once again - I am looking for advice on where to go and people’s experiences. I have never gone shopping in any of these places. I know there are alot of discussions on this - but I want to this to be the “one stop spot” for this discussion of getting the perfect shaadi dress if not going to pakistan.
Re: ~*FINDING THE PERFECT WEDDING DRESS....& NOT GOING TO PAKISTAN!~*
I've never shopped in the US for desi clothes either but there is another option: you can contact most designers in Pakistan through email and order something that way as well if you're willing not to be able to try on the actual dress? They have tons of pictures and you can search on here for the same dress on an actual bride!
Great suggestion Hinah! I will have to look into that.... my only concern is that most pakistani designers are very expensive... i probably couldn't have even afforded them even if I was going to Pakistan.
I guess I should add to my inquiry - is it possible for me to find the perfect red wedding dress that costs under 2 thousand dollars?! :Konfused:
Have you heard of Urban Design Concepts? I haven't bought anything off of them but I know a lot of people who have and have had very good experiences. They have a group on FB and a fully functional website...If I were in put in your spot, that is, I were to buy myself a bridal lehnga and flying over to Pakistan/Dubai wasn't an option, I'd probably speak to the the UDC lady. So yeah, do give her a ring.
Also, what you can do is have your in-laws buy you a bridal lehnga if anyone of them is going to Pakistan or, perhaps, have a cousin/friend get you something you like and FedEx the dress over to you?
there is a lady who can do your wedding shopping for you in Pakistan. I'm not sure what her fees are, but I can get her contact info for you. An acquaintance of mine is good family friends with her and her wedding and walima outfits were gorgeous. Would you be interested?
I bought my Valima lengha from Goal by Fozia Hammad and it was just a tad over that amount, but I did reduce some work on it to get it in that price range. ....however they forgot they were suppose to and made it the way it was and didn't charge me extra!
You can always try them and Karma is also good for budget-conscious brides. When I went to Kamiar Rokni, he said his bridals begin at 2.5 lakh but did say that included a full front heavy shirt, some amount of borders on the duppatta (i forgot what exactly), and kamkhaab fabric either for lengha or shirt your choice, but said it's almost always preferable on the bottom.
Re: ~FINDING THE PERFECT WEDDING DRESS…& NOT GOING TO PAKISTAN!~
Any budding graduate that you can get me in touch with???
I am going to check out the UDC website! Thank you so much for the suggestion! This is exactly the type of response i’m looking for. I need help with my research guys! Anyone that has heard good things about a particular website, store, auntie…whatever etc. LET ME KNOW!
My inlaws are not going to Pakistan… that is not an option… im kinda in the same position for my walima dress too now that I think about it
my cousins in pakistan are on the younger side and I do not really trust my aunties in getting me something that I like… so far nothing that I have gotten made from them over there has EVER come in my size! I think it’s because they are more conservative and no matter how much i tell them that i want a bit of a bigger neckline (so i can atleast put the shirt over my head!) or make it a bit tighter… its always like 10 sizes too large. I’m not even exaggerating. And my mom has to fix it everytime… so yea… not really trustworthy with such a big task like this.
Yes I am interested! Could you please get me her contact information?! I would really appreciate it! Thank you so much!
Did you go there yourself or talk to these designers over the phone??? I am skeptical of just ordering something over the phone… i have talked to some people and have heard horror stories of people sending over their money but not getting what they want or even worse.. not getting anything at all …
PRose- I have ordered one outfit & my sister ordered two outfits from UDC, and they came out amazing!!! She was reliable and on-time for our dresses. The kaam/ fabric were very nice and 3 years later, still look brand new.
I guess the only downfall is Kulsoom is kind of bossy, and likes to design herself, without too much interference.
Re: ~FINDING THE PERFECT WEDDING DRESS…& NOT GOING TO PAKISTAN!~
Hello Punjabi rose, I am Razia living in Edison, NJ and also running an online business, “ForDesi Dresses”. My website is under construction these days and the dresses get ready in Karachi, Pakistan. You can contact me @ 908-251-5052. I also have a page on facebook if you get a chance go over must see my collection, http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/photos.php?id=100001114244958