what does Pakistan have to do to get to the finals?
*Editing after getting educated about some facts.
1. Pak can go to final only If India loses to SL and Pak wins against BD.
*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Wait for India vs SL match.
If India wins and get bonus point also then Pakistan is out of tournament.
If India loses Pak plays SL in final.
If India defeats SL but doesnt get bonus point then,Pakistan will have to beat BD with big margin so that Pak gets 1 bonus point and it improves Its runrate better than India or SL.
complicated stuff
there is less chance for the indianz to win against Srilankanz......... but for the bonus point Indianz cannot think of getting a bonus piont agnt the Sri.......... the type of form Sri r in.
for PK, they have to win with a huge margin agt the Bangladesh.
even when IND wins against SL without a bonus point PAK has no chance to make it into the finals because then IND will have total 7+5=12 Points
and when PAK wins against BD with bonus point then PAK will have total 5+6=11 Points. So IND must loose against SL.
I hope and pray that they loose against SL.
May Allah help us
Amin
*Originally posted by bladerunner: *
even when IND wins against SL without a bonus point PAK has no chance to make it into the finals because then IND will have total 7+5=12 Points
and when PAK wins against BD with bonus point then PAK will have total 5+6=11 Points. So IND must loose against SL.
I hope and pray that they loose against SL.
May Allah help us
Amin
Not quite right. In the above situation both Pak and India will have 12 points and it will come down to net Run rate.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Not quite right. In the above situation both Pak and India will have 12 points and it will come down to net Run rate.
ehsan bhai how?
Right now SL has 12 points, IND has 7 points and Pakistan has 5 points
so explain me how India and Pakistan will have 12 points when India wins without bonus point against SL and Pakistan wins with bonus point agains BD
plz explain
thx
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
pls explain ehsan bhai coz wat blade has said is rite unles i'm missing somethin
Yes. Ehsan they are rigght.
Actually even Ididnt know that there is something calle Consolation point in this torunament. If team doesntgive other team a bonus point then they get 1 point.So today India got 1 point.
Total for India is 7 and with next win it will go to 12. Where as Pak can reach maximum of 11.
If India wins next one pak is out.
http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2004/OD_TOURNEYS/ASIA/ASIA_JUL-AUG2004_TABLE.html
iw as praying so hard so that india and pakistan would play final.. i am just soo scared from srilankan ![]()
but anyways… india… wish u good luck ![]()
Sri Lanka is already in the final. Now it's wither Pak or Ind. It all depends on SL vs. Ind match. IF India wins, they will play the final.
GO SRI LANKA You don't want to face India in the final, do ya? ;) :)
Bladerunner you are right. I wasn't aware of the consolation point. So yes the only way Pakistan goes thorugh is if SL beats India and Pakistan beats BD.
What is this bonus point nonsense. What a stupid rule. Besides, they should carry over points from the first round to make all that cricket relavant.
*Originally posted by elahi: *
What is this bonus point nonsense. What a stupid rule. Besides, they should carry over points from the first round to make all that cricket relavant.
but that wouldnt be fare for india and srilanka.. cuz in our pool we were the only strong team so we would have easily picked 2 bonus points against them.
That is the organizers fault for putting 2 retarded teams in Cup. I am pretty sure that me and the fellas could thrash Hong Kong, though we might have trouble handling the swing that the one Uncle on UAE had in his bowling, ![]()
aisay nahi bolain elahi bhia.. on baicharoan ke bhi dil hian :p
and its good that this way they get chance to play with strong teams so that one day.... may be in next 20 30 yrs later they will become like one :)
Pakistan slam bonus system](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Pakistan slam bonus system)
Pakistan have criticised the bonus points system which could see them miss out on a place in the Asia Cup final despite beating India.
India needed to reach 240 in reply to Pakistan’s 300-9 to earn a bonus point and a boundary from Anil Kumble in the last over took them to 241-8.
"I think the bonus point should be closer to the main target.
“I don’t think 60 runs difference is right - 20 or 25 would be closer to what we want,” said coach Bob Woolmer.
Both sides have one win from two games in the second phase, but India hold the advantage because they picked up the bonus point in both of their games.
SECOND ROUND STANDINGS
Sri Lanka
P2 W2 L0 BP2 Pts 12
India
P2 W1 L1 BP2 Pts 7
Pakistan
P2 W1 L1 BP0 Pts 5
Bangladesh
P2 W0 L2 BP0 Pts 0
Victory over Sri Lanka on Tuesday will see India through to meet the hosts again in the final, irrespective of how well Pakistan do in their next game against Bangladesh.
“When we started the innings we wanted to win because we have chased 300 many times in the past, but when we got to 160-5 we wanted to get to 240,” Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly admitted.
“We were outplayed in all departments of the game. All credit to Pakistan for playing fantastic cricket.”
Opposite number Inzamam-ul-Haq was understandably delighted to beat India, having lost a series to them on home soil earlier this year.
Shoaib Malik’s innings of 143 laid the foundation for their victory, but Inzamam praised his side’s all-round performance.
"Malik played a very responsible knock. I always had confidence in him.
“Then our bowlers did a good job by keeping a tidy line and length,” Inzamam said.
the only way pak ends up in the finals is if SL beat IND tomorrow....
and then PAK beat BD on thursday....
if any of the results go wrong, well we can have pakistani writers curse the bonus point system....
now that Pakistan has won the game against India we are cursing the bonus point system. why couldn't they gain bonus point from their matches? oh, i forgot, they scored only 122 against SL and gave them a bonus point.
*Originally posted by Captain1: *
now that Pakistan has won the game against India we are cursing the bonus point system. why couldn't they gain bonus point from their matches? oh, i forgot, they scored only 122 against SL and gave them a bonus point.
A win is a win and a loss is a loss. USUALLY in NORMAL tournaments, when a team is tied you look at head to head results to see decide which team proceeds. I hated the point system all along before the tournament even started. And what are the N.R.R for then? It's all convoluted. In the SL-PAK match, alteast PAK played to win (regardless of the outcome), sorry can't say the same for others.