Re: Final 11 for Leeds
But didn’t Rao Iftikhar go back to Pakistan at his father’s death?
don't worry, he'll be back in time.
All blah…blah…the same team can win if they really want to win…voilá… :k:
We wont win a test with those bowlers. This is in my lifetime the weakest bowling attack Pakistan has ever fielded.
let me educate you a bit. To win a test match, a team needs to take 20 wickets and these bowlers cannot do it even if they really want to win…voila voila :k: :k:
I have heard that Farhat is out for atleast 10 days so he won't be a part of Leeds 11
Woolmer has clearly stated in his recent interview that Shoaib won't be coming for the Leeds test.
Have a feeling that Pakistan will include Yasir Arafat for 3rd test specially after his impressive performance with the ball and the bat in the county circuit. Having already grabbed 17 wickets in 3 matches, he added 7 more in a match against Warwickshire which endded today. He also has scored around 240 runs in these 4 matches.
Though his team mate Mushtaq is also performing well, I doubt that he is being considered as a replacement for Kaneria.
I personally think that it will be a good idea to include Arafat in place of Afridi.
The same Woolmer who said that there will be no “surprises” for 2nd Test? ![]()
yaar… puttin me on number 4 would be a really bad choice. its like having Danish Karania on #4… bhai.. mujhay 11 par dalo…
shukreya..
Oye hoye, ye team to ‘overlook’ ho gayee… chalo kisi team mai to jaga mili mere ko ![]()
seamers wicket at headingly, little chance of that happening.
Sami for anyone else (even dhobi for God's sake), Iqbal for Butt, and that's it. Maybe Afridi for a seamer as well, but that might weaken the batting a whole lot.
Only a threatning bowler like Shoaib Akhtar is missing…but we have won matches without him too…
Asif & Rana are occassional winners…
News is that Taufeeq will probably be coming in the 3rd test along with Butt. Akmal surely will be going back to his orignal spot in any case.
If these 2 openers are coming back then I think Pakistan 11 will be
Taufeeq
Butt
Younis
Yousuf
Inzi
Faisal/Afridi
Akmal
Razzak
Yasir
Gul
Kaneria
However I also think that Woolmer and Inzi may use Afridi as an opener in this game. If that happens than it will probably be Afridi and Taufeeq opening with the middle order of Younis, Yousuf, Inzi, Faisal followed by Akmal, Razak, Yasir, Gul and Kaneria.
I think since we're thin on the bowling, Faisal will get the axe and Afridi will stay. Opening with Afridi would be useless, the guy won't last the first Harmison over. Is Yasir even in the squad? I would hope that he replaces Sami. The guy has pace, I remember against England in that ODI he was bowling 90+ mph.
I do not know what the squad or team should be for this test because most of the players we have in our squad are pretty much the same. The point is if we have to win this test, our players, no matter whatever the lineup, must play with passion and sheer determination. This is only reason we will win and it will start with Inzamam. All eyes will be on him and unless he delivers, we will be in trouble. He can make the difference with his inngs and we know that very well when England visited Pakistan in ’05. If he does succeed, I believe team will follow his lead like in third Test against India in India and the entire tour of England in Pakistan. This is Inzamam’s game and Inshallah he will come through.
^ As much as I agree with you there, there is one place I do beg to differ. Whether Inzi scores centuries in both innings or not, it does not change the fact that we have NEVER looked like bowling England out. Until and unless our bowlers and fielders step up in a big way, a draw is the most we will be able to salvage and that too only if our batsmen fire.
We have two major problems, the opening slot and our bowling attack. At the moment we can't do anything about both these issues. Look at the potential openers we have got, Butt, Farhat, Taufeeq and Afridi. With all these guy the number 3 and 4 batsmen will be in within the first 10 overs. In the bowling department who can we replace Sami with at the moment. we are stuck and doomed. If we can somehow draw the 3rd test and have Shoaib back for the fourth there is some hope. We are well on course to lose our first test series since 1982.
Why don’t we need Razzaq in the team
. He is the reliable one. He is surely a match winner too. You just can’t drop him after loosing one match. Look at his overall stats by ICC. He played quite responsibly in the 2nd innings of first test.