Fidelity's going out of style like it's 1999

Re: Fidelity's going out of style like it's 1999

I feel that it is a conscious effort, if temptation is present. There are two scenarios. In one, the individulas in a couple do not entertain the sort of social life or professional life that they have any energy or time or opportunity left over to cheat either emotionally or physically. In the other, they are the sort, either one or both, who have friendships with the opposite gender individually, who socialise a lot, who have free time left over in their life to go out with friends etc either alone or together. In the first it's easier not to cheat because you dont have the opportunity which you must resist, and focus only on your spouse. In the latter, things can get messy in the sense that if they are already talking with members of the opposite gender, hanging out etc, there may be times when their spouse is unavailable, or unable to give them the time and attention they want, whereas the "friends", any one of them might be able to and especially, in confiding the marital issues between the spouses with outsiders, the husband or wife is already in a prime place to cheat emotionally. He/she feels vulnerable. Angry at the spouse, and grateful for the sympathetic ear or shoulder.

Just as every action requires effort. So does fidelity. And for each some effort is put in. Like TLK said very well above somewhere, though some people may say character is all that is required to remain faithful, even the building of that character is a lifelong process and effort.

So yes, it is a conscious effort to be loyal.

pata nahi, no personal experience :)

You mean the best friend of the opposite sex?? Like if you go talk that BFF about your life decisions and seek emotiona support first........... That could lead to cheating n stuff??

Re: Fidelity’s going out of style like it’s 1999

I don’t see any effort required not to cheat, :confused: maybe I’m emotionally inert, although I don’t sit next to, talk, look at or entertain women in any fashion as I see it as very “wrong” unless I’m in a crowd of people of course and everyone is talking to each other. My ex picked up on the fact that I would talk to her friends without looking at them.

Anyway I think this is basic morals and I don’t need to “consciously” resist temptation as there is none.

haha! now you are craving for trouble, aint you?!

^ you call her ‘trouble’??? how judgemental of you :nono:

tut tut :P

Wow, some ppl need to grow up..

Say what you like, yes I have a male best friend and like I care what some stereotypical backward paindu thinks (who else would also have a problem with wives going to work)..

why oh why le paindu-phobia?

If you prick us do we not bleed? If you tickle us do we not laugh? If you poison us do we not die? And if you wrong us shall we not revenge?

Us paindus are human beings too. Leave us alone and stop the generalizations.

Ji thank you.

One should put in the effort first into any sort of relationship, as a good manner and nature. That effort should be returned, following by both sides continuing to put effort for each other. That energy is bound to return and if it’s not then neither side will try. If no one tries, everyone complains.

somebody edited their post after writing insulting remarks again :rolleyes:…and now scared…trying to make it look like nothing happened…

sometimes its not a fairy tale and a happy ending. Suppose guy loves girl, girls loves guy... but they dont end up getting married because of family, religion issues.... guy gets married to somewhere else according to family's wish and so does girl... they have kids of their own... now 10 years later guy finds the girl and wants to talk to her, be freinds with her....
the girl tries to resist but he was her love... spending 10 years with her husband still didnt make her forget that guy... so people really forget their love when there is someone else in their life to love them? is it really something that can be done?

so now guy and girl are talking again after 10 years like nothing ever happened... and now its becoming an emotional affair... both want to stay in their limits but the temptations keep coming....
what would be the right thing to do?
Breaking off ties doesnt seem possible because for past 10 years they didnt know about whereabouts of each other but now they do... still long distancne though but ....they want to keep in touch...
they look at it like God made them find each other for a reason... although noone know what the reason is?? what would be ur opinion on this one?

^ they need to snap out of it :hehe:

btw…you could have made a simpler id…that would also tell what your current says..

“desi wife” ..:smiley:

uhh. When they are married, they are married. The excuse that they were in love before is just lame, and probably used because they are bored in their current marriage. If it mattered enough, they would have done something about it before getting married. But if they chose to not do anything before, then they shouldn't really carry on an "emotional affair" and instead focus on fulfilling a commitment they made to their families by marrying someone of their choice 10 years ago.

literally a piece of cake (for me, alhamdulilah)

i agree with Mirch.

100%