fiance and inlaws have a problem with my wedding dress

what would you do if you got your dream wedding dress but your fiance isn’t happy about it or thinks it’s too expensive? :frowning:

keep in mind that he or his family are not paying for it. it’s getting paid for by my parents. everytime i talk about it, him and his family ruin it for me by acting all stupid and saying things like, yeah that’s great.. im just not happy about the price. i feel like it has killed all the excitement i had attached to my dress.

Re: fiance and inlaws have a problem with my wedding dress

I don't think I'd mind considering he's a guy, that's what they're pretty much bound to say, not a big deal! Most guys are clueless about how much things cost. So don't worry about it sweetie, I'm sure once he sees you in it, he'll forget all about the price!

^^ ya hinah is right .. guys are really clueless when it comes to girls stuff ..
And u should also try and talk to him in private when his family aint around or something and make see that this dress really means a lot to u and also make him see how u feel when he or his family reacts that way and u feel bad and not understood and besides do mention that this is somethin u gettin from UR family ...

awww hunny thats terrible! i cant imagine how id feel if i got my DREAM dress and ppl r having problems with it. u know wat u gotta do! u gotta talk to ur fiance! tell him how u feel. this is one of those things u r gonna have to face a lot more after marriage and its the first step..talk it out. tell him thats wat u want and wat this dress means to u. dont be rude just talk nicely. he'll understand. u both r gonna face lots of issues in ur married life and communication is the key. abt the in laws.. its ok. once ur fiance understands he will handle his family. as they say "jab larka larki raazi to kia kahey ga kazi" LOL. um in this case kia kahey gay in-laws :P. good luck! and its ur big day so do wat ur heart desires and dont stress. xoxox.

if your parents are paying for it, and they are not then who cares. You are already in love and attached to this dress so wear it with pride.

btw...why did they even see the dress to begin with? you should have made it a surprise for the wedding. i know most of my friends didn't even let their own relatives see their gown much less inlaws before their big day and entrance.

Most likely it might be a concern for your in-laws and fiance that you may be the type to do "fazul ki expenses" now and you will be the same later.

They are most likely worried about the later part :)

^ wedding dress--if u can afford it--is not a fazool kharch. and anyway if they're not paying for it, its not their problem.

my husband thinks things look good on me, u think i ruin it by telling him how much they cost, heck naw!

you mentioned that "everytime I talk about", well its a simple solution... they dont like to hear about it so don't talk to them about it. I'm sure your family and friends would love to hear about it, so tell them. And once you knock your in-laws off their feet at the wedding, they'll be talking about it as well!!! :)

they have not seen the dress.
i got it from a designer and even though they were suppose to pay for it, they backed out saying we cant afford it after finding out how much it was costing. it was no problem though, my parents stepped up and said we will pay for it all. we never spoke about it until recently when my mil asked me if my dress was ordered and i heard her make snide comments about how much i was spending on it and that it was useless. there are times when i got excited about seeing it and talked to my fiance about it but he was never happy. when i got the package last night, i was over the moon. i called up my fiance who said to me, thats great, congrats but i could sense the sarcasm. he told me, you know that im not happy about such an expensive dress and i wont be. he apologized for being sarcastic with his comment but its bothering me that hes making it into a money issue when he or his parents arent paying a single penny for it.

^ So they probably feel ashamed. And are you buy his clothes? Or will they? Do they feel they need to get something comparable and are not sure they can?

I think you should avoid the topic.

^Agreed with Sahar.

Avoid the topic at all costs.

Your inlaws feel like they've been embarassed because they couldnt afford such an expensive dress...your fiance probably heard a few things in reference to that dress already. You just might not know about it.

You look at it, be happy and wear it with pride......its your wedding dress!

Congratulations on th wedding dress. If you are happy, then other people can do as they please. Like others have said, they are not buying it.

Weddings are supposed to be happy occasions, it is such a shame that others ruin it. You are the bride inshallah and it's your big day, don't let them make it feel any different. If they could not afford it then that is fine; their bit was done when they said they could not pay for it. It is non-issue in the sense from their side. Your parents made your wishes come true. Nothing else matters

and this is why u shudnt tell anyone the cost of ur dress! everyone will give their two cents, when really it's none of their business and so long as you and ur parents are happy with it thats all that matters!

it could have been handled differently. When you bought your dress you should have asked your fiance what his budget is and say if he had said his budget is 30,000 rupees and your dress cost 100,000 you should have told him it cost 30,000 and let your parents pay the balance.

yahan pe thorri si ghalti aapki bhi hai...no doubt you're the bride and definitely the queen for your shaad ...insha'allah yeh time ek hi baar aata hai you should have whatever your heart desires but I think they feel embarrassed that they could not afford your dress and it should have been from them....and unfortunately if you had handled it a little bit differently itna sab kuch na hota and if they had paid for the dress even if they had only paid for it partly (without knowing of course) I'm sure they would have been excited about the dress...but now it is just a constant reminder for the in laws that they could not afford a dress for thier bahu and for your fiance that he could not fulfill a khwaahish of his bride on his own money. that's why they are not excited abt it...so I thnk you should give them a break because its a sore point for them because it makes them realize they couldnt afford their DIL/wife to-be's dress every time you talk about it...so just dont talk about it...talk abt it with ur parents and friends but not ur fiance and in laws

how much did your dress cost you

maybe its jkealousy. maybe your dress costs alot more than their dress for you..

my husband also tells me what looks good on me, when i tell him ( if he asks) it costs *** amount, hes always like hmmm itni bi achi nahi lagri ( hes joking but i can see red lights flashing in his head)

ooooooooooooooooooo i ll say only dis,,,,,,,,,,,do u thing u got rite guy?????? abhi se esy bad main kiya kerian gay

I agree with people about hiding the real price ....we did the same thing with my in laws and my husband was in on it lmao
and don't mention it again ....he'll forget it later on inshallah when he sees how the wedding pictures come out .....my husband later on agreed that having good quality dresses really makes a difference after looking at the pictures