Feet towards K'aaba

:salam:

I was having a discussion with someonethe other day and he was telling me that we should position our beds in a way that when we sleep our feet are not pointed towards the K’aaba..Is this true? Anyone know? I never heard this..thanks..

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=20943&dgn=4

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=12871&dgn=4

On the other hand…

http://www.islam.tc/ask-imam/view.php?q=11212

http://www.islam.tc/ask-imam/view.php?q=10862

Mufti Ebrahim Desai - (1) Facing one’s feet towards Qibla intentionally should be avoided. (2) It is disrespectful to face one’s feet in the direction of the Qiblah.

Shaykh Muhammad ibn Saalih al-‘Uthaymeen (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: “There is no sin on a person if he sleep with his feet towards the Ka’bah, rather the fuqaha’ (may Allaah have mercy on them) said: if a sick person cannot stand or sit, he should pray lying on his side with his face towards the qiblah, and if he cannot then he should pray on his back with his feet towards the qiblah.”
Fataawa Ibn ‘Uthaymeen, 2/976

Shaykh ‘Abd-Allaah ibn Humayd (may Allaah have mercy on him) was asked about pointing one’s feet in the direction of the qiblah. He replied:

There is nothing to say that this is not allowed, but some of the scholars regarded it as makrooh (disliked) to stretch the feet out towards the Ka’bah if one is close to it; they regarded this as makrooh but not emphatically so. But if there is a mosque somewhere else and there is a Muslim there who points his feet towards the qiblah, there is no harm in that and he is not doing anything forbidden in sha Allaah, as the scholars stated. And Allaah knows best.
See Fataawa al-Shaykh Ibn Humayd, p. 144

Shaykh ‘Abd-Allaah ibn Humayd views are based on reason.
Mufti Ebrahim Desai views are based on emotions

:jazak: for the info. Apparently my jamati friend was mistaken :smiley:

My mum use to tell me to not have my legs poiting that way but I always thought it was kind of stupid because when I saw “The Message” it showed Hazrat Bilaal :razi: climb on top the Ka’bah itself to call people to Prayer, so if standing on top of it is allowed with your feet touching it I don’t see anything wrong with pointing your feet towards it.

I agree with the fatawa of ibn Saalih al-‘Uthaymeen and Ibn Humayd.

Generally, I've noticed Mufti Ibrahim's fatawas are quite opposite of what other scholars have to say.

Pinting feet towards Qibla is regarded as disrespectful.

That's why elders recomend not to point feet towards Qibla.

I have got a question here:

When we are sitting in the house on the bed why don't we point our feet towards our parents?

Saqi

can someone please tell these Mufti's that the earth is spherical and not flat anymore?

well it ain't a sphere either einstein. But then again that's a different matter altogether.

Hey longitude and latitude still get you about on the face of it and magnetic north still hasn't flipped so directions and intentions valid no?

Anyway it's a tear drop shape, coz of all the sadness in it :'(

Re: Feet towards K'aaba

*Originally posted by 50-B: *
.......he was telling me that we should position our beds in a way that when we sleep our feet are not pointed towards the K'aaba..Is this true? ....

Off course it is a big no no! Never ever point your feet towards Qibla.

However if you are in Pakistan, you can lie, cheat, bribe, sell adulterated food and medicine, murder in the name of Jihad, etc. etc.

If you are in Middle East, you can do all of the above plus behead unarmed men, and do a boom on women and children.

But you never ever never point your feet towards Qibla. Allah Mian doesn't like it. He can forgive everything that I just listed but He would definitely put you in hot oven for disrespecting Qibla.

Khuda Hafiz

ahem, i beg to differ. it is so called pseudo-desi islam that says it is disrespectful. in the previous post some one mentioned that bilal :razi: stood on kaba…hmm…is that not disrespectful?? if you dont wanna do on a regular basis its fine, i dont either. but if i am in a position that i want to strech my feet and i am in the direction of kaba, i dont hesitate to strech them because the prophet :saw: has not mentioned that as manners of kaba. if he :saw: has said something like that then provide proof and by allah i will obey him :saw: without asking any questions, inshallah. otherwise i cant accept the word of desi old men as islamic proof.

The Arabs in the masjid I go to freely spread their legs towards the qibla without any hesitation. This tells me that it's more of a cultural thing with Pakistanis. I was told the same not to spread feet towards qibla and I still have a hard time going against what i was taught.

Here comes the place, where we have to decide between what Islam says and what our culture says. If Islam does not say anything about pointing feet towards qiblah, than it is ok.. Culture has no value for me. Culture can be changed and again changed.

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Here comes the place, where we have to decide between what Islam says and what our culture says. If Islam does not say anything about pointing feet towards qiblah, than it is ok.. Culture has no value for me. Culture can be changed and again changed.

precise and to the point.mashallah brother....

Agree with u 100%...one should not point his feet towards the Qibla...its not rite...

Also, on Mizars in Pakistan, it is common for people to walk backwards after touching the grave, so not to show your back to the dead, as if he might jump out of the grave and grab your ass. What a bunch of idiots.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
Also, on Mizars in Pakistan, it is common for people to walk backwards after touching the grave, so not to show your back to the dead, as if he might jump out of the grave and grab your ass. What a bunch of idiots.
yeah sure. not only idiots, but considered kafirs by most of the scholars.
they have no right to take the dead up to the level of allah swt.

but we just asked any one to provide evidence from the actions of rasul :saw: and his sahabis to show that we should not point feet at the kaaba? and there is no evidence up to date. so its of no concern to us if our feet are in the direction of kaaba or not. that is not considered disrespect of kaaba in any way as it is not told to us from the rasul :saw:
its only desi pseudo-islam.

don't say that...I will try to provide proof of why one shouldn't point their feet towards the Holy Kaaba.

Acha look at it like this...we pray pointing to the Kaaba...we prostrate while praying towards the Kaaba...The Kaaba is the holy place according to us Muslims...by pointing our feet towards it...we are disrespecting it...I will try to search the web and ask my cousin (he's really religious) to tell me why...ok.