Fearfull Muslims adopt Hindu IDs

Not the best thing to share on Independent day of neighbouring country, but couldn’t resist. It might be just staring this way that people are hiding their ID as some poor desis do in west. But by looking at the dire situation of Muslims in general in India, this doesn’t come as a shocker. Muslims are equally responsible for their current state. They didn’t do enough to vamp up their youths in education, after 5 generations, they are still paying for it.

Fearful Muslims adopt Hindu IDs**

In India, many members of religious minority hide the signs of their faith to escape discrimination

August 15, 2007
Shaikh Azizur Rahman
SPECIAL TO THE STAR

CALCUTTA–On a busy street in Calcutta’s business district, he runs a food stall called “Rajib’s Paratha” and is known as Rajib Mallick.

Using the popular Hindu name, no one suspects he is Rajab Ali Mollah, a Muslim who has adopted a fictitious identity to blend in with the neighbourhood’s mostly Hindu office workers.

Sohrab Hossain, a Muslim student who came to the city to complete his Masters degree in English and lives in a Hindu-dominated housing complex, is known as Sourav Das among the students he tutors. To keep up his Hindu appearance he has a small idol of Saraswati, the Hindu goddess of learning, on his desk.

Every morning as she prepares to go to work as a fishmonger, Hasina Khatoon takes off her silver armband embossed with “Allah” in Arabic, puts vermillion powder on her forehead and red-white conch bangles on her wrist – symbols of a married Hindu woman – to maintain a Hindu appearance in a fish market where almost all of her customers are Hindus.

Rajab Mollah, Sohrab Hossain and Hasina Khatoon say they have adopted new identities in a Hindu-majority society where as Muslims they would face discrimination.

Analysts say many Muslims from all socio-economic backgrounds are quietly hiding their religious affiliation.

“Muslims in almost all spheres of life face a communal discrimination by powerful Hindus and they are denied many of their basic rights and freedom in an unjustified way,” said Anjan Basu, a social analyst and executive editor of Pratidin, a Bengali daily in Calcutta.

Six decades after Partition, “many (Hindus) believe that Pakistan was created for Muslims and now they do not have right to live in India, which is meant for Hindus.”

The Partition of India 60 years ago was a highly controversial arrangement, and remains a cause of much tension on the subcontinent today.

Basu, who is a Hindu, also said discrimination has been “institutionalized,” with many Muslims being denied employment in government and private-sector offices where 90 to 95 per cent jobs are held by Hindus.

Gautam Ray, a senior journalist with Calcutta’s largest Bengali daily Anandabazar Patrika, said that since the bulk of the dalits (low-caste Hindus or so-called Untouchables) converted to Islam when the religion spread in India, many upper-caste Hindus look down on Muslims as they had for generations looked down on dalits.

“The root of this communal discrimination is deeply entrenched in the society and most of these communal Hindus are not expected to change their feeling for Muslims any time soon,” said Ray, who is also an upper-caste Hindu. “Muslims are often denied housing in Hindu-dominated modern residential complexes,” he added.

“This communal discrimination against Muslims will not end unless Hindus themselves change their attitude. But we do not see hope of any such positive social change anytime soon.”

Muslims who adopted fake Hindu identities believe they did nothing wrong by hiding their original identities.

“Ten years ago, when my house and land in the village was eaten up by a river and I came to Calcutta in search of a job, almost all street shops and restaurants in the city refused to employ me because I was a Muslim,” Mollah said.

“Some said their Hindu customers could refuse to eat at their restaurants if a Muslim worked there,” he said.

“But I met a Muslim man who worked under a Hindu identity to supply water to restaurants. I followed his advice, picked up a Hindu identity and soon an upper-class Hindu employed me to run a food stall.”

Nearly all of Mollah’s customers are Hindus and he fears his business would suffer disastrously if his customers found out he is a Muslim.

“I don’t think I have done anything wrong because I know how they hate Muslims simply because of their religion,” he added.

A federal commission recently found that Muslims “live in socio-economic conditions worse than many so-called backward tribal people,” according to commission chief Rajendra Sachar, a former judge.

In the state of West Bengal, where the Muslim community makes up 27 per cent of the population, employment of Muslims in the government sector was below 3 per cent, the Sachar Commission reported.

Some Muslim leaders see education as the key to a better future.

“If the younger generation can educate themselves, it will be difficult for even the most communal Hindus to discriminate against a new Muslim force,” said Nazrul Islam, a senior public servant and noted Calcutta writer.

“Maybe discrimination will not be wiped out completely, but an educated and powerful community of Muslims will be able to fight off the injustice, at least to a good extent.”

Re: Fearfull Muslims adopt Hindu IDs

No doubt Muslims are discriminated against. They are at the bottom of every social indicator in India. For all her faults, thank Allah that we have our own nation, our mulk.

Thank God for Pakistan.

This is one of the many reasons why our forefathers sacrificed so much and worked so hard for an independent country.

In India Muslims have to prove their loyalty to their Hindu countrymen at every step, whenever something goes wrong in India, Indian Muslims are the first to blame Pakistan and have 2-3 more curses and swearwords ready for Pakistan! Why? To prove their loyalty to their countrymen, constantly sucking up to the majority, it’s a life of servants.

Despite their efforts at showing loyalty, they are treated with suspicion, in movies their women are shown shagging Hindu lads, they are portrayed as gangsters, thieves, murderers, druggies, rapists etc. in movies..

The only Muslims who have it good in India are those that follow an Islam dictated by the Hindu majority, the likes of Shahrukh Khan and ex-president Abdulkalaam, the type of Muslims who are vegetarian (or abstain from beef), go to the Hindu Temple and celebrate Diwali/Holi with more fervour than Eid.

...I can relate to them, as a Muslim in the West I know how it feels like to be regarded with suspicion and disdain despite being full of friendliness for everyone and just wanting to get along with everyone... I would imagine it’s worse in India because in our eastern societies (Pak included) people are less politically correct, they don't have discriminatory laws that actually come into practice.

India might have some lovely laws to look pretty to the rest of the world but the reality is quite different (as the state-aided Gujarat incidents proved).

It makes me laugh when people say we could have lived together in one country, we couldn’t, we can in the West because we’re expected to behave but in reality both Indians and Pakis can be messed up, yes we got on during British rule but if our uneducated lot were left to rule each other they’d be chaos. There are wrongs on both sides, it doesn’t take much to stir South-Asian people’s emotions and cause a disaster.

It’s not just rightwing extremist Hindus, we Muslims are no angels either, during partition in 1947 my great-grandfather and the local Imam had to get their guns and stand in the Bazaar to watch over the migrating Hindus to stop the locals from attacking them, they had to tell the locals “if you touch any of the Hindus and don’t let them pass safely we’ll put lead through your heads”…

I thank Allah for Pakistan where we can let our hair down, breathe a sigh of relief and feel comfortable in our skins…

^^

:clap:

hmm clearly i was quite naive, i didnt think it was that bad that they had to change their identity!!! Long live pakistan!!!

and yet people still say that the partition should never have happened :rolleyes:

Such kind of treatment is unfortunate. If India wants the international community to seriously accept them being a 'secular' country, such discrimination against religious minorities needs to be stopped. The government ought to take measures to curb such retardedness.

Off topic but, how come there are so many muslims in Indian Bengal and so many hindus in Bangladesh? There are barely any Hindus in Pakistani Punjab and barely any muslims in Indian Punjab.

A large percentage of the muslim population of Kolkata atleast is composed of illegal immigrants from Bangladesh. They come in search of work and opportunity. This taxes the local governmental system that is already overburdened. Resentment of them is very strongly based on the economic pie being cut into smaller and smaller portions due to this unaccounted for illegal migration.

Cities as far away as Mumbai face this problem as well. In Mumbai there are huge tracts of roadways with acres of shanties on sidewalks where only Bengali is spoken. These are poor and desperate people who work very hard, but tax the existing infrastructure in terrible ways.

Politicians complicate the matter by providing amnesties to illegal migrants to build up vote banks. As a result, both the illegal migrants and the unwitting and unwilling host cities suffer.

^^ I guess that makes sense. I've read about the problem of Illegal Immigration from Bangladesh to India. The corruption in Indian government and in the Indian Border Security Forces only makes it worse. If the local Bengali Hindu is aware of all these illegal muslim aliens from Bangladesh, can you really blame him for discriminating against them?

It was interesting to read about the discrimination against Muslims in offices.

My nana, who was an accountant in Hyderabad Deccan, told me that after India invaded and annexed Hyderabad he found that being Muslim was a liability to his career and he was seeing his Hindu colleagues receive preferential treatment.

Fortunately, he realised very early that Muslims were going to be discriminated against so he packed up and moved to Pakistan.

There is similar discrimination in Pakistan, based on religion, sect, ethnicity as well. ahmedis specially and some shias have had to hide their faith.

I think it is wonderful that we are able to discuss the issues faced in the region, lets just not get into a pissing contest here though. It has not yet which is encouraging.

this is from calcutta. the whole city is crawling with illegal bangladeshi immigrants pretending to be indians, the muslim-hindu change is only one part of the deal.

^ but the question arises that why are bongalis immigrating to india?

this is from calcutta. the whole city is crawling with illegal bangladeshi immigrants pretending to be indians, the muslim-hindu change is only one part of the deal.

The Hydro, Gujji and Bombayan Muslims I know have similar stories to tell..

If ever we visit the big towns in this country with Indian Muslim mates and I try and get friendly with goodlooking Hindus and Hindunis the Indian Muslims say "Khan bhai stop being such a slut, aap ko kya pata inn ki wajeh se ham pe Hindustan mein kya guzarti hai..."

I remember reading an article not long ago about how extremist Hindu flat-owners (in Mumbai I think) didn't want any Muslims living in the same complex.

jobs.

muslim dil say hota hai. naam say fark nahi perhana chi hai. same as gunda looking guyz who wear pendant with ALLAH SWT writtern on it.

i am ok with this as far as they r doing it to protect their inner faith. i dont mind whether its lallu or its panju.

u cant neglect the fact that whehter u r from India or Pakistan, you will love it in a same way despite ur religious faith.

I love how Muslim leaders are thinking nowadays and promoting education in the Muslim community. It’s the best solution for getting rid of the prejudiced views some people have and getting rid of the communal problems in India which would lead to real progress for everyone in the country.

^^ I agree. Education in a good public school should be a major priority of everyone in South Asia.

Of the main article posted in the 1st post here, a few thoughts:* people will do what they have to survive. I'd draw parallel to the Sinhdi Hindus who have made some adjustments to survive in Pakistan.* I also know someone in Islamabad whose clientele for liqour is almost totally muslim and has to sell in the black for obvious reasons - with all the attendent risks * I read a few posts by Mr.Moiin about his rajput genes and how everyone else is inferior. Now, that sounds even worse than the discrimination pointed out here. No Moin is not a freak case, neither is rajput the only group claiming genetic superiority in PakistanMay be ideal classless society will come one day but till then there is majority and minority. I am sure the Hindu ciustomers of Rajb will feel their religious rights cheated upon by him, if they learn.Oh, about the fisherwoman - why is she trying to market to Hindus? Aren't they vegetarians? Or are there so many who eat fish on the sly?

And yet we still have indian muslims saying ‘mera bharat mahaan’; a load of dog sh*t!!

Wake up Indian muslims!!! These kafffirrs will not let you live in peace. Even our holy Quran states that DO NOT befriend kafirs.

Not everything has to be politically correct. These hindoooos our the worst enimies of Pakistan and muslims of south east asia. Lets have nothing to do with them. The sight of a hindoo sends shivers down my spine with distaste.

LONG LIVE PAK ZAMEEN :jhanda: