Faysal Bank T20 Tournament Sep-Oct 2011

The Twenty-20 Cup is the domestic Twenty20 cricket championship in Pakistan. Started in 2005, until 2007, it was sponsored by ABN AMRO before in 2008, it was renamed as the RBS Twenty20 Cup being sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland. In 2010, Faysal Bank took over the sponsorship. Following is the summary of previous tournaments.

**Series page: http://www.espncricinfo.com/faysal-2020-cup-2011/content/series/530192.html
**Results: http://www.espncricinfo.com/faysal-2020-cup-2011/engine/series/530192.html
**Fixtures: http://www.espncricinfo.com/faysal-2020-cup-2011/content/series/530192.html?template=fixtures
**Statistics: [http://www.espncricinfo.com/faysal-2020-cup-2011/engine/series/530192.html?view=records](http:// http://www.espncricinfo.com/faysal-2020-cup-2011/engine/series/530192.html?view=records)

So whom ur supporting guys?

Im supporting Lahore Lions :jhanda:

Go Razzaq Go :jhanda:

Re: Faysal Bank T20 Tournament Sep-Oct 2011

Damn Lahore Lions lost to Sialkot Stallions

oh yaar, pehlay links to direct cricinfo ke daalo, it brings up Orkut :smack:

Afridi scored 58 and took 2 wickets

Karachi Dolphins into the semis :jhanda:

Sorry my mistake

Iss he liye to Luttia doob gai Lahore Lions key :smack2:

Now im supporting Karachi Dolphins :jhanda:

today I saw one of the most amazing innings in a Pakistani domestic cricket while chasing, the guy walked in when the most feared batsman of domestic t20 got bowled out in first over and #3 also lost his wicket in next couple of overs. Leading the side that had not win he championship last year and was chasing a stiff target, all pressure on him to prove a point (rumor has it that PCB just today took his name our of probebles of squad that wil be facing SL) and more than anything personal he had to carry a team that looks up to to him as a leader, and a side that he has taken to championship in 5 previous attempts, that side wad in trouble.... In walked the captain, rotated the strike all along, perfectly paced the inning and in last 10 overs chased down 100 of remaining runs.

What a guy! Proved that when pressure is on, he is the best Pakistani to handle it since inzinam, he doesnt even back stabs pakistan by chosing contract$ over pakistan duties, doesnt retire to blackmail the nation, doesnt spread rumars about coach/rest of team mebers in media, heck he even lets the other guy puff his chest out, when quietly he himself secures the WC at other end for the country.

Made waking up 4 in the morning (on a saturday ) perfectly worth it!

who is he??

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan-domestic-2011/engine/current/match/533349.html

Nikema bhai, ek inning pe itni tareef? :hehe:

Check out this post: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=519746&p=8464851&viewfull=1#post8464851

:omg: Bhai aur kis kis key lutyaa dabooni hay :@:

No doubt that Shoaib Malik Acted like a very wise captain :lajawab: Even i believe that his cricket is end but lets see his performance against Sri Lanka. :chai:

Nikema bhai, did not realise you were such a big Malik fan. Please ignore my posts in Pak vs SLA thread :D

LOL Nikema'' yeh kya ho gaya?

Great performance by Sialkot Stallions btw. Proving once again that they are consistently best domestic team in the country.

sometime I just wonder if they are among top 3 teams even world wide.

Haha Skipper, Its not just about this one inning, what I am trying to point out is that when his team needed him to dig his heals in and fight every inch of the way, he was there and he took his side to victory where people like Afridi, Misbah, and YK would not have been able to get their sides any way near victories in a situation like this.
That is Malik’s ability that puts him way ahead of afridi/misbah and YK that even with his limited batting talent; he fights better than the rest.

I am not a fan of just Malik, I admire everyone who can take the responsibilities and at least makes an effort to come out winning and NOT come out with enough runs to get selected for the next tour (Misbah) or take the easiest way out by slogging and getting out on 4th ball he faced, when the team needs you to show some character and fight for the country and call it “Playing my Natural Game”(Can you guess who?).

Another thing that he did very right in this tournament was giving responsibility to others and showing his confidence/faith in them so that they believed in themselves (even though those people are no way near to s super star status), and at the end they delivered for Sialkot, an example: Promoting Qaiser at # 3 after losing Imran in 2nd over, where as In contrast, captain of another team, whose team had a successful/promising opener (Asad) who had NOT ONLY scored runs as openers in previous T20 tournament, BUT ALSO played as an opener against ZIM T20’s and did not fail, Now was his chance to build on that confidence and keep opening the inning BUT the captain came out himself, scored some easy runs against the weak opposition, puffed his chest out, posed for the media BUT as soon as the pressure game came, he did what he does the best (Please see my description in first paragraph)

PS: I am in no way favor of Malik playing test cricket against SL especially when we could have had a potentially amazing middle order with Azhar, Akmal and Asad, where these three NOT ONLY can compliment each other’s style of play but also can take care of middle order for next 5 years.

Good win by the Stallions, Their biggest strength is that they play as a team and enjoy each other’s company. They don’t have individuals in the side that are there to **solidify their own brands **and stop from other members of 11 to contributing or stop them from reaching their professional potential.

I was however very disappointed to see blatant ball tampering by Rana (So much so that it reminded me of Pak from early 90's)and even more surprised that Asad Rauf and Aleem Dar were letting them get away with it, very disappointed in umpires.

Cool.

Because of Malik's past (tendencies towards groupism) and inconsistent test performances, I have mixed feelings about him as a player. Cliched phrase but he is a decent bits and pieces limited overs player at best

Just have not followed this season's Faysal Bank T20 tournament as closely as I would have liked because of time factor. Overall I believe it was a success

Prospects to look for in the future:

Awais Zia, Hammad Azam, Raza Hasan

It w'd be nice if someone could post the H/L of the Final

I will disagree with you on that, Misbah and Razzaq are two players who have shown such skills time and time again and are much better player than Shoaib Malik.