Fatwa dubs Taliban 'out of Islam'

Well, thats good news. I hope they don’t kill Fatwa issuers.

http://nation.com.pk/daily/mar-2008/23/index11.php

Fatwa dubs Taliban ‘out of Islam’

Shamim Shahid
PESHAWAR - The militant group familiarly known as “Taliban” was declared “out of Islam” by 73 different sects of Muslims through an edict (Fatwa) circulated in parts of the narrow tribal strip of Darra Adamkhel.
The edict in Urdu language was circulated on behalf of Mufti Zainul Aabideen on Friday night. The one page edict focuses on Talibans’s terrorists’ acts in the area, particularly slaughtering of human beings and suicide attacks.
The edict against the Taliban terror is considered first-ever effort on the part of any religious figure in the last five years. Earlier, the late Maulana Hassan Jan publicly denounced Taliban acts, but he was mysteriously assassinated in retaliation. After the killing of late Maulana Hassan Jan, a large number of Ulema and religious scholars remained reluctant to say anything openly against the Taliban.
It is for the first time that a religious scholar declared “Taliban” as being “out of Islam.” The edict said that all the acts of Taliban are against the basic norms of Islam and humanity. “Even the Taliban leaders are considering themselves and their directives as superior to true Islamic principles and directives as ordained by Almighty Allah,” the edict said.
Elaborating his point of view, the author of the edict states that the Taliban declare those infidel who oppose their ideas and interpret Islam according to their own needs and ideas, which is contrary to the all-embracing ideas of Islam.
In this respect, the author of the edict invited the attention of Taliban Mufti Khalid Shah’s edicts against internationally recognized Islamic scholars like late Maulana Hassan Jan, Allama Taqi Usmani, Maulana Tariq Jameel and others. He said that such edicts of Mufti Khalid Shah against such highly credible and respectable religious scholars were available on Tliban-made CDs.
Mufti Zainul Aabideen further states that Taliban, despite chanting slogan of “Allah’s rule on Allah’s land” are ignoring this slogan in the areas under their control. They not only impose the system of their choice in these areas, but also forcibly collect the so-called taxes and fines from the people. They justify their terrorist acts discussing in mosques, schools and other public places and claim, “There is no sin in killing 100 innocent persons for one guilty person.” Islam prohibits killing of innocent people whereas the Taliban are killing innocent Muslims. Even they congratulate the terrorists and suicide bombers on, what they claim, “entrance into the heaven for killing the innocent people.”
The author of the edict further states that Taliban give preference to the directives of their amirs (heads or commanders) instead of following the directives of Allah Almighty and sayings of the Prophet Mohammad (PBUH). Even Taliban affiliated to different groups are reluctant to recognize each other’s amirs (heads or commanders).
The author of the edict has in particular denounced slaughtering and beheading of the innocent people at hands of the Taliban.
In the light of this edict, the author has requested Ulema and religious scholars to come forward to denounce such inhuman and immoral acts on the part of the Taliban.

Re: Fatwa dubs Taliban 'out of Islam'

Hallelujah.... now Taliban are the kind of infidels we should really be fighting! I am happy the Ulemah are realizing this!

Re: Fatwa dubs Taliban ‘out of Islam’

I am happy for our christian brother Janab Khoda bohot :lifey:Mashallah this is all the blessing of having the greatest leader Musharraf. Long Live President :jhanda:

Good stuff. :)

I am not sure whether these Talibans are out of Islam but they are most definitely ghoomay huey and have some serious soul-searching to do.They need to give up their murderous terrorist ways and recognise that killing (beheadings, suicide attacks) of innocent human-beings (security personnel and civilians) is a grave unforgivable sin in Islam and not justifiable under any circumstance. Islam is an all-embracing peaceful religion and tolerance is the very essence of our faith. Jehad is not just about militancy and taking up arms against the state or whoever opposes your views. It is also about setting a noble example for others through one's own character, conduct and good deeds and winning the hearts and minds of the people that way.

yes, upon reflection, no one has the right to declare people who havent publically made a statement against the very essence of Islam, to be out of the faith.

misguided is the best term.

Yes, you have a right to distance yourself and basically say that Islam, a religion YOU practice and believe, is not being practiced by a certain group of people despite their claims. You can't excommunicate anyone from Islam, if that's what you mean. However you can certainly say that the ideology of a group is not Islam as they might claim.

Lets not imitate Taliban or AlQaida by declaring anyone kafir as Golden Asif and Coffe_cake said, instead call the actions of killing innocent as out of Islam/kafiraana etc.

Yes, however, you can condemn a group for doing evil. And you certainly should be taking a group to justice for the atrocities. This thread shows that some civilian Pakistanis are not open to the idea of carrying out justice on other people who call themselves muslim. There is a category of "hypocrite" in Islam, and these people are not considered muslims. Its like saying "Oh that gang rapist, he's a muslim....so we can't say that he's not a muslim..."

Folks, lets start being a bit more hard-lined on these folks. They're not exactly a cup of tea and biscuits, esp with all their beheadings and intimidation techniques. Reports of their organization and infrastructure now in NWFP is pretty horrifying to say the least.

it only took 7+ years

Haye -- durd hoa........

Re: Fatwa dubs Taliban ‘out of Islam’

I think he rather felt your pain.

On the same note, Mashallah this could only happen under the great leader like Musharraf. Long Live Pakistan :jhanda:

I have a question from PCG, how would you go about if you have following problem on hands::

There is a brothel on you street in pakistan. Run by chines girls.
Prostitution is illeagle in pakistan. When you go to police station to report you find out that one president's "chaheeta" minister is their regular customer. So police won't take your complaint, instead swear at you and kick you out.

I still think Taliban has shown some integrity/honesty which we haven't see in our history.
They did become nut cases thats true. But training them in statecraft could have made them a true political force with an ability to fix our issue in months if not weeks.

^ why remain confined to a brothel ?
there are many other, equally disgusting, crimes happening all over the place
No one is allowed to start enforcing the law, there are ways and means that are to be used if you claim to be a civilized society.

Yes, instead of torching that brothel, sending a person wearing a designer BLOW-UP jacket and beheading all the persons that I find in that place, I would rather put my efforts and energies behind making sure that the brothel and its occupants stop doing their stuff, I may contact the police, if that doesn't work I would seek help from like minded people. There is something called as law and order. If you claim that this is going to be a futile effort, then my friend we have a bigger problem on our hands then just brothels around the corner.

We better start from the scratch, and figure out whats wrong.

You yourself admitted (KNOCKOUT) that running a brothel is currently against the Laws of Pakistan. So the problem you pointed out was of 'corruption' (if your scenario was entirely true) and not of a problem in laws. There are better ways of handling corruption than having vigilante lathi-bardar try to take over the country.

Now so long as we are talking about Taaliban's Islam, what do you think is worse: A brothel so secret many didn't even know existed, or innocent people blown to pieces in suicide attacks.... Why is your Islam so selective?

You are mixing up thing, soon every one else would be too.
Remind me any suicide attacks before LALmasjid?
Please tell me you still remember ppl predicting attacks while mush was trying to be a hero in amrekaan style operation.

dard mujhe us waqt bhi howa thaa jab Mushy govt ne terrorist ko $20million diye thay lekin aap kaheen mun chhupanay chalay gaye thay. dard mujhe us waqt bhi howa tha jab Nawaz Sharif ko Musharraf ne jail chhor kar Saudi Arabi janay diya lekin aap ghaliban khushi mana rahay thay.

There were no suicide attacks before lal masjid ?

Go ask Shi’ite Muslims, go ask Hindu, Chiristian and Qadyani minorities in Pakistan.

Ask them how many relatives they have lost in target killings, how many professionals, how many young men?

Ask them with an open heart, you will find many teary-eyed mothers and wives, and sisters.

And Lal-masjid operation does not justify suicide attacks. Do you have any idea what was happening in Lal masjid?

Guys, lets just focus on the issue at hand. Whatever happened before Lal Masjid or after is not really the focus here.

Just like we don't agree with AlQaida's or Taliban's view that people who don't agree to their interpretation are kafir (and need to be killed) we don't have to issue fatwa that Talibans or AlQaida are kafir. What we need is issue of fatwa condemning the brutal acts carried by the other two parties as out of Islam, our fatwa brigade should also be preaching people about why such acts are not allowed in Islam and how we should stop such acts, why Allah swt will reward people stopping others from carrying out such acts etc.

There are two universal certainties

1) all dictators however rational they seem to be in the beginning, sooner or later become crazy with power. I don't have to show examples.

2) all vigilante groups sooner or later become the nemesis of the group that initially was protected by them.

As Sanathana Dharma clearly states, means are as important as ends.