'Fatwa' against Pakistani minister for paragliding pics

**Time for the government to move against this guy and stop this nonsense. He is challenging the writ of the state and should be dealt with accordingly. **

‘Fatwa’ against Pakistani minister for paragliding pics](http://asia.news.yahoo.com/070409/afp/070409071724asiapacificnews.html)

ISLAMABAD (AFP) - A Taliban-style Islamic court in the Pakistani capital has issued a fatwa against a female minister for posing in an “obscene manner” with French paraglider pilots, a top cleric said Monday.

The government had no immediate comment on the fatwa, or Islamic religious decree, issued against tourism minister Nilofar Bakhtiar by the fundamentalist Red Mosque in Islamabad.
The move comes days after the top cleric at the mosque announced the creation of the Sharia or Islamic court and threatened a wave of suicide bombings if the authorities try to shut it down.
“The muftis (judges) issued a decree against tourism minister Nilofar Bakhtiar when their attention was drawn towards some pictures in which she appeared in an obscene and objectionable manner with paraglider pilots in Paris,” the mosque’s deputy leader deputy Abdul Rashid Ghazi told AFP.
“They have called on the government to punish and sack her from the cabinet,” he said.
The pictures, published in a local Urdu-language newspaper, show Bakhtiar in brightly-coloured paragliding gear taking part in a tandem glide during a trip to France and then hugging an instructor upon landing.

The government has so far taken no action against the Red Mosque despite its open defiance of the authorities by setting up a parallel justice system and its promotion of “Talibanization”.
Female students from a school attached to the mosque late last month kidnapped an alleged brothel owner and made her publicly repent. Their male counterparts briefly abducted two policemen at the same time.
The mosque’s baton-wielding devotees have also set up so-called morality patrols telling local shops not to sell “un-Islamic” music and movies.
They have occupied a nearby children’s library since January in protest at plans to demolish several illegally built mosques in Islamabad.
Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf Friday said he would not allow the radical students and their leaders to take the law into their own hands, but did not say how he proposed to tackle them.
The fatwa against the Tourism Minister comes less than two months after a woman provincial minister was shot dead by an Islamic cleric in the eastern city of Gujranwala because she was not wearing a veil.

Re: 'Fatwa' against Pakistani minister for paragliding pics

Ehsan bhai..no worth of such courts.....

I dun agree with the manner they are issuing Fatwa and the way they are running all this drama. Their must be something on a better level done like collaborating with known scholars such as Justice Taqi Usmani and likes, form a committe and work as a pressure group... however, if what Nilfar did exactly how it is described then, while representing an Islamic country being a minister, it was all wrong according to my opinion. It requires questioning and explanation first and not the abuse of 'Fatwa'...

^I am spell bound when people living in the UK or USA start spitting their views on Pakistani society.

They have escaped Pakistan for one reason or another & live in "Nude/Nangi" west society...& then want to impose fatwas & sharias on to Pakistan.

If they want it so much ,they should come back leaving that life in west & then implement fatwas/shariahs onto themselves.

I have spent good portion of my life in Pakistan and I have all rights to give my opinion... other than that, unless you missed the point about Fatwa... I know you live in Pak hence the mis-comprehension of the language... no worries :)

i heard today they were smashing cars that had female drivers in them in islamabad! What jerkwads! these guys should be 'chukwaad' military style and offered full chithrool! Pir Fraudia and I offer our services for a mega chithrool (free of cost)

I wonder where this nutjob circus' fans are again that were just defending this psycho 2 days ago.

spock..they need more than just chitrol at this point, chitrol was in order when they took over the library, then they kidnapped people, then they harassed business owners, then they threatened suicide attacks and now they are becoming a nuisance to public at large.

I am sure there will be some sort of muk-muka in the end, and that is really disappointing.

These molvis are gone nuts. That's the bottom line. Only and only if they can get some jobs, then there wouldn't be anything like this. They are just "welay" people trying to do something in the whole day worth of free time they got.

We don't see these kinda things in the West bcz. everyone is busy. Every other day, Janab Qazi and his followers call for a Dharna and the whole city is blocked. Trust me, I just came from the US and I feel the mullas lack the jobs. If they start working, things will get better and less chaotic.
Umer

Re: ‘Fatwa’ against Pakistani minister for paragliding pics

Nilofar defends her parachuting pictures
KARACHI: Federal Minister for Culture and Tourism Nilofar Bakhtiar, while defending her act, has said that she did not feel guilty for parachuting with a French player neither this act was un-Islamic.

Talking to newsmen at Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry office on Saturday, the minister said that she did not feel ashamed over her pictures. She, however, expressed anger, saying that media wrongly portrayed her pictures taken during the parachuting.

She declared that she would jump again if she got such an opportunity in future. The minister said that the man who was with her in the picture was a French player of 70 years age. She said that the French player was encouraging and appreciating her for parachuting but media portrayed the gesture wrongly. The minister said parachute jump was a brave act and she would not mind if she got more such chances.

Nilofar Bakhtiar, who is the President of ruling PML-Qís women wing, claimed that she was the role model for Pakistani women and the party had also supported her act.

When asked as to how her act could be considered Islamic, she said that the French player was just hugging her to appreciate her brave act. She said the show was arranged just for collecting funds for the earthquake affectees.

She, however, refused to reply more questions about her pictures when journalists put up more queries.
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=50112

This is funny…According to Nilofr women can hug a namahram.
Audhubillah

is it parachuting or paragliding, there is a difference ya know.

and according to lal masjid's chief weirdo, they can launch suicide attacks...

yes i know. i copied it and pasted it but main issue is about woman hugging a namahram.

that is also wrong...commiting suicide is haram in islam

i think this thread is about a pakistani and muslim female minister who was hugging a male namahram pilot during her visit to france, you can start another thread about suicide attacks, i wouldn't mind.

Have u ever seen paragliding or done it? I doubt it very much. Paragliding for newcomers requires the assistance of an expert who basically flies the glider thus the impression of ''hugging''.

This kind of debate is reminiscence of Taliban style of stinking that forbids women nurses treating men and women being treated by male doctors. The lady was enjoying herself FLYING, leave her alone and declare fatwa of jihad against those freaks rampaging Islamabad under the guise of ninjas and lathis.

Ok I leave her alone...........we'll see if she's right or wrong in akhirah. As I haven't seen her with my own eyes so I can't accuse her in anyway.

But I posted her interview and I don't like what she says....according to her hugging a namahram is allowed in Islam.

Can someone find and post the pic please.

Yes I've seen it but I'm sorry I haven't done it yet.....Would love to do but not with a male pilot.

They topics are related, I am questioning the source of this Fatwa as not being a credible source.

I'm not talking about fatawa......Ullemas might be wrong, but I can't see how Nilofer is right in saying that it is an Islamic act to hug a namahram?

yup but I am talking about the fatwa :) since that was the info with which this thread was started, so just staying on topic and all you know. not talking religion, but the political aspect here.