Fathers

So we have a thread about what our mothers have taught us, and usually dads are the ones that do all the spoiling… so share.. what is the sweetest thing your father ever did for you? :slight_smile:

Re: Fathers

My dad protects me like a baby even though I have my own babies. He is my friend. I can yell at him and he never yells back. I can ask him for anything, he will make sure it becomes available for me. Yes, I’m spoilt rotten. I love it.

It was not always like that. As a child, I was very afraid of him. I avoided him and didn’t like his way of dealing with things. We both changed over the years.

I learned the importance of positive thinking from him, discipline of the self. I call him for any health issue (he is a very accomplished physician), I can talk to him about family issues with great ease, we gossip for hours and share secrets! He has always been a go-getter, and even at 70, he is more active than a 35 year old whiney doctor who cannot take night calls and dumps them on my dad! :emmy:

But most importantly, I have learned that it takes a devoted and selfless human being to become a fantastic father.

he taught me how to be an ambitious person

I guess every good thing I know came from my father.
He spent all his life doing thing for us kids. He took us to play soccer with him for hrs. Trained us to lift weights and to wrestle. Trained us to run/jog/skate etc.(all in pakistan)
But he never expressed his felling or any thing ever.

One thing which only I got among my siblings from my father, which I want to share.
I asked my father for a book called bang-e-dara. When he gave that book to me he had written a sentence for me on the first page.
Some thing like "for my dear son" I am so very proud of it.

God is the one who makes things happen an parents are a great vaseela..a great way that he provides what you need in life.

Everything that I am today is due to my dad, everything I can be is due to my dad. He did not lose faith in me or my abilities, even when i lost faith in myself, he showed his trust in me by not just words but by making everything available in his capacity to help me succeed.

I cant begin to list all that I have learnt from him.

the wonderful world of tools =)

My dad was very hands off with us as kids, but I think that was his way of teaching me and my brother to be completely independent and be self sufficient. At 16, I moved away from home and since then haven't taken a penny from my parents. My dad also taught me to appreciate the finer things in life, art, culture, travel, history. My dad has a way of always being there, in the shadows, without us knowing that he's there.

The greatest gift that my dad gave me is common sense. He never threw rules in my face, he taught us right and wrong and then let us make our own decisions at very early ages, and he respected our decisions. God bless him.

My dad was very protective of us , he was a good guide , I learned a ton from him. He placed lots of importance on our education and sacrificed a lot to make sure that all my siblings get the best of education.

My dad taught me how to make the most delicious podeenay ki chutney in the world, and I passed this recipe to my husband.

Nothing.

oh i learned alot from my father…the very important thing ive learned is no matter what the circumstances are always praise Allah miyan…my father is a business man…and theres always ups and down in businesses but whenever people used ask him hows your business going…he always used to say Allah ka shukar hai…and i just love that about him!!! and i try to do the same thing…:slight_smile:

He taught us to celebrate every occasion no matter if its somebodys bday, anniversary, promotion or anything because life is too short not to enjoy…there should be no regrets

He taught us to always give gifts to people and never expect anything in return…so i love to give gifts.

He was a big athlete and when we were kids he always encouraged us to play sports…i still love to play and will inshallah encourage my kids to do the same.

aur bhi bohot kuch hai…i just love my papa :hugz:

good etiquette; the value of hard work; self belief.

how so ?? if you don't mind sharing.

I am lucky to still have my father around Alhamdulilah. My parents both taught me so much and have shaped how I view life.

The most sweest and memorables occurrences with regards to my father was

*when going through a bad patch in life, which got me really down, my dad supported me so much, whereas other fathers would not even entertain the thought of helping their daughters in such matters(abstract I know but don't not really want to go into the ins and outs)

*when I was up all days and nights studying for exams he once sat me down and said, 'I would do anything for you and if I could I would even take these exams for you'

*There is so much my dad has done and said, that I could be here for days typing things up.

Dad is a role model for all that know him. A truely intellectual and hard working individual who always puts others first. A shy and reserved person at times. He will speak the truth and say whatever is bothering him. I think as I get more older, I see my father's traits, personality and nature influencing my own life.

More so, I was given alot of independence. Even though I am a girl and come from a conservative family. Dad never differentiated between me and my brothers.

I hope Allah blesses our parents with a long and happy life. One in which they guide us and we can make them proud. Aameen.

I've never had that father-son relationship with my dad. We are like 2 parallel lines.

Let us chat:hugz:

I feel real sorry for the ppl who don’t have to share about their fathers.
:hugz: to you all :hugz:

Thanks guyz. :insh: gonna make sure my future generation don’t miss out.