Re: Fate of Shoaib and Asif
does anyone knows what was the level when shoaib and asif were tested in October
No official word from the PCB, nothing solid from any reputable newspaper in Pakistan yet Indiatimes and rediff both have reported that Shoaib and Asif have tested positive again.
Nandrolone with a decanoate ester is fairly long acting (10 carbons) to begin with and if on top of that a lot of the drug can be de- and re-esterified that means the substance stays active in the body for quite a long time. This has resulted in positive drug tests for the hormone nandrolone and many of its metabolites,** most notably 19-Norandrosterone up to 18 months after last use of the drug.** While this is a fairly known fact, the recent number of athletes (including well known soccer stars) that have tested positive for nandrolone would indicate a lot of misinformation or plain lack of information in some circles. Positive tests, with reprimands, that could have easily been avoided. So anyone subject to any form of athletic drug test should refrain from using 19-Nortestosterone (nandrolone) or any of its metabolites, that includes nor-prohormones.
=-=Source=-=](Bodybuilding Workout App | Online Personal Trainer - Bodybuilding.com)
These reports are old (13 Feb.) Everyone knows that their first secret dope test was positive. What we don’t know is the result of their second secret dope test in London.
Thank you sir :o .
cricinfo says that inzi is confident that both of them will join the squad on their way to Indies. Lets hope so.
lets hope kaal taq doodh ka doodh aur pani ka h2o ho jaye ga.
^^ Asal masla doodh aur pani ka nahi soso ka hai :)
^^:hehe:
Shoaib, Asif fit for World Cup: Inzamam
Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq has surprisingly claimed that pace duo Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif were fit to play in the World Cup, strengthening reports about the two being in London for clearing the traces of nandrolone before their dope tests.
Inzamam disclosed that Shoaib, recovering from a knee problem, and Asif, nursing a niggle in his elbow, had not been stopped from playing by doctors.
“As the Pakistan team is leaving for the West Indies via London, Shoaib and Asif can join us from there,” he was quoted as saying by the *Dawn *on Wednesday.
The Pakistan captain also said his team looked balanced and had chances to win the World Cup with the pace duo in the squad.
“Shoaib and Asif’s presence make my team a balanced outfit, capable of beating any team. In the past, playing with full strength, we won various matches, and I do hope all the players will be available for this big event,” he said in a pre-departure media conference on Tuesday.
Asked if the two had submitted their fitness certificates, Inzamam said they were only consulting with the doctors in London to avoid further aggravation to the injuries.
Eighteen World Cup-bound cricketers, including five reserves, have cleared the test while the reports on Inzamam and Shahid Afridi are yet to be received.
Source: Cricket News, Live Cricket Scores, ICC Cricket World T20 2016 News & Headlines | Times of India
Australians slam Akhtar drugs loophole
AUSTRALIA is headed for a major feud with the powerful subcontinent bloc on the eve of the World Cup after Matthew Hayden and Andrew Symonds lambasted Pakistan for selecting drug-tainted pacemen Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif.
Hayden described as ludicrous the selections of the duo, who tested positive last year to the anabolic steroid nandrolone.
Symonds hinted at the resentment within the Australian camp when, just before he left for the Caribbean yesterday, he said: “I think everyone knows what our opinion on it is.”
Barely concealing his frustration, Symonds said: “We’ve been told to be very tightlipped. But put it this way: imagine if it was one of us. Imagine if it was Matty Hayden or someone else. Imagine what the world would say. I’ll leave it at that.”
Hayden said the case showed the International Cricket Council needed to take a firmer, uniform approach to doping, in conjunction with the World Anti-Doping Agency.
Asked if the Akhtar and Asif cases had been a talking point, Hayden said: “It’s a laughable point among our players because we’ve worked very hard to be clean athletes. It’s ludicrous and it’s not fair.”
Asked what his reaction would be if he found himself facing Akhtar, Hayden said: "I’d have no choice but to play him, because I’d have to trust the ICC are doing their job. But it’s ludicrous. I just don’t understand that. As an athlete, I just don’t understand it.
"We’re all under the same annexe, and that is the ICC. We’re all tested equally. So if someone’s tested positive for a steroid, then they have to have the penalties of the game. Anything short of that is a failure from our governing body, simple as that.
"The questions should be: what is our governing body doing about this? And what is WADA doing about it? What are the standards and who’s imposing them? And who’s making decisions based on that?
"What’s the difference between this and a French athlete at the Olympics testing positive? Like we’ve seen right throughout the history of the Olympic Games, there’s absolutely zero tolerance, and that’s the way it should be.
“No one country should be negligent in its duties to make our sport clean. That’s not to single out this particular case, because Australia has also had cases of this, but they’ve served their full ban . .. and that’s the way it should be.”
Given Pakistan’s close relationship with regional allies India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, any attack on the credibility of Pakistan by Australia could have consequences that extend beyond the playing field.
Last year, Pakistan mobilised the subcontinent bloc to push for the removal of Australian umpire Darrell Hair from the elite panel, following the farcical forfeited Test at the Oval. Such is their collective financial power and influence, many within international cricket feel the Asian countries effectively run the game.
The Australians feel their criticism of Pakistan is justified. Barely four months after testing positive to nandrolone, Akhtar and Asif are poised to play at the World Cup.
Captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said yesterday he expected both to compete in the Caribbean, even though neither had submitted for mandatory Pakistan Cricket Board-sanctioned medical and drug tests ahead of the tournament.
The board has so far tested 13 of its 15-man squad. Akhtar and Asif are yet to submit, prompting allegations from Pakistani newspapers that they were stalling, allowing more time for traces of banned substances to leave their systems.
now they are scared of Pakistan :halo:
^ They are definitely having nightmares about Asif and Akhtar…specially Akhtar. ![]()
Well, Hayden as quite an ordinary batsman who likes to score runs against tulla bowlers, would surely be expected to pass such statements on the prospects of facing genuine bowlers and exposing how ordinary a batsman he really is. I'm not surprised.
khabees australianss… i hope they play pak and some how pak beat the sh** out of them so they can go back to Aus. and sulk as much as they want ![]()
well …
technically they are right from a players point of view:( abhi saab khanjar nahi nikaal layena plz ![]()
However they should say this, right now Pakistan/PCB is not crossing any law here, yes they were tested +ive long time ago and there is a concern that ICC will specifically target them (A’s) so Pakistan is making sure if they go to WI for WC 07 they have done a satisfactory job; multiple drug test and sure they are clean within the limits.
I have only 2 comments :
(1) For the PCB : What is the point in testing the team for dope when you are not willing to punish player(s) who test positive for banned substances.
(2) Now , one might say that there is no "definitive" proof that Akhtar/Asif intentionally took those banned substances. Well, if you are looking for "definitive proof" of "intentional" use, then you might as well do away with the test. No test in the world can provide that proof and in 99/100 cases - players will claim innocence.
So , unless there is a zero-tolerance policy pre-specified, doping tests have no meaning.
To avoid lifeban on a player if he is tested +ve.
If PCB had not tested there may have been 1 or 2 players who may have taken the drug and upon ICC random test in Westindies these player result came +ve than they would have been ban for life or atleast 2-3 years. PCB is making sure they all go to Westindies with clear record.
Cricinfo says the boys are not flying out with the rest.
(1) For the PCB : What is the point in testing the team for dope when you are not willing to punish player(s) who test positive for banned substances.
(2) Now , one might say that there is no "definitive" proof that Akhtar/Asif intentionally took those banned substances. Well, if you are looking for "definitive proof" of "intentional" use, then you might as well do away with the test. No test in the world can provide that proof and in 99/100 cases - players will claim innocence.
So , unless there is a zero-tolerance policy pre-specified, doping tests have no meaning.
Here you come Mr. Nice and Clean cashing on the opportunity and finding a way to ban two lethal bowlers.