Fate of Hindu girls remains unclear

Re: Fate of Hindu girls remains unclear

I have tried to clean up this thread to the best of my ability. If there's anything that I may have accidentally overlooked, then please drop me a PM and I'll be more than happy to review it. Please take all complaints and problems regarding moderators to the Feedback forum or contact admin. I thought I'd also state that I kept myself away from this forum, as I was writing exams. Therefore, I didn't get a chance to clean up earlier.

It's sad to see that the parents were not allowed to speak to their daughters in privacy. The daughters could've met in a public place (if they feared their safety) or even within the madarsah, but alone with their parents to clarify their stance. Besides, niqaab isn't needed in front of one's biological parents.

Hope the truth comes out and things get resolved in an appropriate manner, insha'Allah.

Saadiya
Good to have u back on board, hope all went well with your exams.

Well with such limited information, like Lajawab said, it's pretty juvenile to jump to sensational conclusions. Right now the only reason we have to believe that force was involved was allegation of the daughters being teary eyed. Who knows, maybe THEY were the one who requested security when meeting the parents? Certainly, it is possible, they just changed their religion and would fear backlash by their parents. Last place where they would want to go is home.

The girls are all legal adults and went to the mosque by their own free will as the following statements imply:

*"The neighbours initially said they had not seen the girls, but later told Champa that the elder daughters Reena, 21 and Usha, 19, were seen rushing out of home towards their younger sister Reemaís school..." *

Furthermore, the girls went to the Madrassah from the police station instead of choosing to go home.

The family was earlier informed by one of the neighbours that the girls were found and brought to Frere police station after which they were shifted to the Darul Uloom.

I doubt the police are involved in a conspiracy to convert poor hindu girls to Muslims :).

No doubt the journalist was very successful in creating controversey through tabloid journalism.

Will you speak the same language if some Muslim girls are abducted and kept somewhere else???

as a convert i agree with you…it is very difficult to know the truth in that story…are the girls forced to stay in the madrasah, or are they afraid of their parents behavior against them cause they leaved their parents religion???
as we can not know…it is better not to make any judgment

anybody know whats the update on this?

Googling for an update on this piece of news, I came across with another horrendous article:

Pak Hindu girls forced to convert to Islam

By: Hasan Mansoor

November 15, 20 05

source: midday.com

Karachi: An alarming trend — that of Muslims kidnapping Pakistani Hindu girls and forcing them to convert to Islam — in Pakistan’s Sindh province is forcing the worried resident Hindu community to marry off their daughters as soon as they are of marriageable age or to migrate to India, Canada or other nations.

Recently, at least 19 such abduction cases have occurred in Karachi alone, while several others have been reported in the media.

Sanao Menghwar, a Hindu resident of Karachi’s Punjab Colony, is a traumatised man; all three of his daughters —Aishwarya, Reena and Reema — have been kidnapped and forced to convert to Islam.

In the police complaint that he filed at the behest of the Panchayat after two days of futile searching for his daughters, he stated that when he and his wife returned home from work, they discovered their daughters had gone missing.

The police arrested three Muslim youths in connection with the crime, who were later granted bail by a court because they’re minors. Menghwar’s daughters continue to remain missing.

“Kidnapping Hindu girls like this has become a normal practice. The girls are then forced to sign stamp papers stating that they’ve become Muslims,” says Laljee Menghwar, a member of the Hindu Panchayat in Karachi.

According to him, the Pakistani government needs to examine and put a stop to the social oppression of religious minorities in the country. “Hindus here are too frightened to vent their anger — they fear victimisation. But we have now decided to go public with these cases and demand justice,” Laljee says. Their cause has found support in the Pakistani Christian community, who carried out a demonstration with them in Karachi, protesting against this crime.

Similarly startling incidents have occurred in several districts of Sindh and evoked identical responses. At least six Hindu girls met this fate a few months ago in Jacobabad (a tribal area heavily inhabited by Hindus) and Larkana districts.

Sapna, the daughter of one Seth Giyanchand, was recently taken to a shrine (Amrote in Shikarpur district) by Shamsuddin Dasti. Dasti, a Muslim friend of Sapna’s brother, is a married man and father of two.

Nevertheless, the custodian of the shrine, Maulvi Abdul Aziz lost no time in converting Sapna to Islam (her names was changed to ‘Mehek’) and marrying her to Dasti. The case came to light only when Sapna’s parents stated that their daughter hadn’t eloped but been abducted.

Human rights activists, such as Nuzhat Shirin who belongs to the Aurat Foundation, says that religious extremism is rapidly increasing in Jacobabad and other Sindh districts.

Extremists in turn encourage shrines, which are involved with forced conversions. When a Hindu girl is converted to Islam, hundreds of extremists belonging to religious parties such as Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam (JUI), take to the streets and chant religious slogans.

In Sapna’s case, when she was presented in court with Dasti, extremists showered rose petals on them and loudly chanted religious slogans. The fanaticism was so daunting that Sapna was too frightened to even speak with her own parents who were also present in the courtroom. At that, Maulvi Aziz, who was also standing in the courtroom, was said to have remarked, “How can a Muslim girl live and maintain contact with kafirs (infidels)?”

Sapna’s story sparked widespread demonstrations by the Hindu community. Presidents and mukhis of Panchayats from various towns and districts met in Jacobabad to discuss this serious issue. Activists and leaders from educated segments of society strongly criticised the role of religious leaders, like Maulvi Aziz, in these forced conversion cases.

Still, the threat of victimisation by Muslims is palpable; Shirin says when forced conversion cases make it to court, lawyers themselves avoid taking them up, fearing a backlash from maulvis.

Giyanchand meanwhile has said that he has no other option but to migrate to India — it will be difficult for him to find grooms for his other daughters because of Sapna’s controversial conversion.

And forced conversions are not the only problem that the Hindu minority (there are 2.7 million Hindus in Pakistan; Pakistan’s total population is 140 million) is facing in the country.

A powerful syndicate of bandits and patrons in the northern districts of Sindh regularly kidnap rich Hindus for ransom. They not only kill hostages if the ransom doesn’t arrive on time, they even kill some despite their ransom being paid.

Sadham Chand Chawla, the former president of the Hindu Panchayat, Jacobabad, was abducted and murdered. His killers remain at large despite enormous protests. Following his murder, his family had received several threats until they secretly migrated to India.

Source

Faith Freedom

Pretty crazy stuff. Aur koi issues in beghairat so-called musalmaan ko nahi miltay hain. These people are not muslims, they are crazy psychos.

Having fun there never letting go an opportunity to bash those evil Mozlemz?

Dhobi the last link you posted speaks volumes about you mental capacity, very good and accurate source you have there. :sarcasm:

Am I the only one who thinks these girls might have genuinely converted and married men they love? It seems to have become fashionable to bash Islam and Pakistan by foreigners and even some Pakistanis who want to appear “enlightened and moderate”, what they’ll get out of their nonsense I don’t know.

Even here in Britain it is not uncommon for Hindu and Sikh girls to see the Light, embrace Islam, and then marry Muslim men. Sikh community leaders got their knickers in a right knot and even tried uniting with the racist White BNP organisation against British Muslims.

Here in Britain those Hindu and Sikh girls who embrace Islam are very highly respected, they are our sisters and a part of our community. We personally know one girl who converted and married a Muslim man and her family disowned her so she shifted to our town with her husband and kids and a new identity because she feared bounty killers in Birmingham, her husband soon died whilst only young so my mother kind of took her under the wing as a daughter, I was only young at the time and she was like an older sister which I never had, then we married her off (not an arranged marriage to a Freshy) to a former classmate of hers who was a Pakistani Pakhtun, they had two more kids and then moved to Pakistan, now she’s probably in Malakand somewhere, we still send her sweets and clothes on Eid.

^ Awww thas the first sweet story i've read in Religion so far :)

I wonder what all the basher have to say after reading Prince of Persia post? Oh well time to move and find something else to bash...

Prince thanks for sharing :)

Teaser bhai,

I dont think anyone one wants to Bash Voluntary Conversions, the issue here is forced conversions.

Even with Voluntary Conversions, Teaser Bhai if the roles were reversed in the Princes story, would you still be thanking him for sharing.

Just some food for thought. Think about it!!!

Aejaz

Thank you, and that is precisely what the “basher’s” concern is, throughout the duration of the thread. To point out the immatureness and obnoxiousness of our “desi” community.

Ah, yes, how I long for the days when cricketing “servicemen” step inside the religious forum with their bare feet, hands closed, all whilst thinking that their presence is equivalent of a mighty lord, who is free to pin-point their fingers to anyone who slightly misspells the name of their great country, and of course, not to mention that these are the best “Mozlemz” in the world…

:slight_smile:

:konfused:

Some of you guys really have trouble believing in the idea that a "muslim" could do such horrid acts, and then pose as a religiuos leader, don't you?

"there is no compulsion in religion"

^^ hahaha.

I Think Now Some Muslims Are Admitting To Their Crime.

Indian Hindus are quick to push this onto the "bad bad pakistan, see world how bad pakistan and pakistanis are..." bandwagon (as if their already circulating lies are not enough) than get the real facts and let common sense do the judging. Typical!

Oye, yaar - Jaan Leva you started the thread again.

All everybody is saying get the real facts, get the girls come out in open environment and talk. That's it..
We have multiple Hindu girls marrying muslims in India all over the place. Hence that's not the challenge.
Challenge is for people to be come clear on this not being done under oppression.

thats what you get when you mix ignorance with religion and added to political power.