This is just a reminder for those who want to fast but are not sure of the dates.
Jazak Allah.
ps. Not sure if this is posted already. If it is, then please merge with the earlier discussion.
Faisal bhai,
As I have mentioned earlier I am a non Practising Shia, and Honestly dont follow Islam to the letter (Coz I sincerely believe it needs some updates), but my wife unfortunately belongs to the Era of the Prophet, and she fasts for all the 10 days of Ashura, is that prescribed anywhere, I would like to know if 10 days fasting is needed, if not I would like to rub it in her face.
Allaah saved one of our prophets, Moses :as: and his people and drowned Pharaoh and his army on 10th Muharram so that is why the last Prophet :saw: fasted on this day and asked us to do the same, but in order to differentiate ourselves from the Jews we are also meant to fast either day preceding it (9th) or the day after it (11th).
Faisal: you know what? you are going to share the sawaab from me .. argh.. and I hate it but i think that’s the way it is. I never wanted to give you anything but then again Thank you for reminding. This is the first time, I could not keep track of the dates… Thank you so much man. Allah will reward you immensely :insha:
As I have mentioned earlier I am a non Practising Shia, and Honestly dont follow Islam to the letter (Coz I sincerely believe it needs some updates), but my wife unfortunately belongs to the Era of the Prophet, and she fasts for all the 10 days of Ashura, is that prescribed anywhere, I would like to know if 10 days fasting is needed, if not I would like to rub it in her face.
Aejaz
mashAllah @ ur wife,i love her for the sake of Allah. May Allah accept and reward her with firduas.Ameen.
May Allah love her.Allahuma ameen!
The Noble Prophet, has said: “The best fasts after the fasts of Ramadan are those of the month of** Muharram*.” Although the fasts of the month of Muharram are not obligatory, yet one who **fasts* in these days out of his** own** will is entitled to a great reward by Allah Almighty. This Hadith signifies that the fasts of the month of Muharram are the most important ones among the Nafl or voluntary fasts. The Hadith does not mean that the award promised for fasts of Muharram can be achieved only by fasting for the whole month. On the contrary, each fast during this month has merit. Therefore, one should avail of this opportunity as much as he can.
[2.183] O you who believe! fasting is prescribed for you, as it was prescribed for those before you, so that you may guard (against evil).
So I believe fasting was prescribed for nations before Islam as well, not a new thing.
The specific fasting *during *ramadan was introduced after. Fasting was a form of ibaadah before, but the fasting in ramadan came after the fasts of Ashura.
The Messenger of Allah (sallallahu alaihi wa-sallam) said “The best of fast after Ramadaan is in the month of Allah - 'Muharram' and the best of prayer after the obligatory prayer is prayer during night.” [Saheeh Muslim]
*THE MOST VIRTUOUS DAY OF THIS MONTH *
The most virtuous day of this month is the day of Ashoorah - the tenth of Muharram. It is reported in Saheeh al-Bukharee, when Allah's Messenger (sallallahu alaihi wa-sallam) came to Madeenah, he saw the Jews fasting on the day of Ashoorah. He said: 'What is this?' They said: *'This is the day when Allah saved Moosa from drowning, so we fast on this day.' Then he said: “We have more right to Moosa than you.” So he (sallallahu alaihi wa-sallam) fasted on this day and advised the Muslims to do the same. *
It is the Sunnah of the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) to fast on the 9th and 10th of Muharram. The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him used to fast on the day of `Ashura’. When he came to Madinah, he found out that the Jews of Madinah were also fasting on this day remembering Prophet Musa (peace and blessings be upon him). The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) admired this tradition and said to the Jews, “I am closer to Musa than you are.” He fasted and he also told his Companions to fast on this day.
Later, before the end of his life, the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) told Muslims to add the 9th day also. Thus, it is recommended to fast on both the 9th and 10th of Muharram.
Moreover, in his well-known book, Fiqh As-Sunnah, the late Sheikh Sayyed Sabiq states:
Abu Hurayrah reported: “I asked the Prophet: ‘Which Prayer is the best after the obligatory Prayers?’ He said: ‘Prayer during the mid of the night.’ I asked: ‘Which fasting is the best after that of Ramadan?’ He said, 'The month of Allah that you call Muharram’” (Ahmad, Muslim, and Abu Dawud).
Muawiyyah ibn Abi Sufyan reported that he heard the Messenger of Allah say: "Concerning the day of Ashura’, it is not obligatory upon you to fast on it as I do. Whoever wishes may fast and whoever does not wish to is not obliged to do so" (Al-Bukhari and Muslim).
It is noteworthy that Muslim scholars have stated that fasting of `Ashura’ is of three levels as follows:
fasting for three days, i.e., on the 9th, 10th, and 11th of Muharram,