Farooq Sattar’s coordinator died in Rangers’ custody

Re: Farooq Sattar’s coordinator died in Rangers’ custody

Hahah. Never realised I am that important and widely known in Karachi. Thanks.

But seriously, PTI ko vote nahi dena tou na dou....koi qayamat nahi aa jaye gi na Pakistan khatam ho jaye ga if there is no real democracy and political competition in Karachi.

Karachiites will only vote for a competing alternative when they are truly sick and tired of MQM. If they aren't tired of MQM then even the second coming of Jesus Christ won't get their votes, let alone the bloody PTI.

Honestly, if you guys are happy with MQM, then MQM aap ko aapko bohot bohot mubarak ho. Jab mian biwi raazi tou kya kare ga Qazi, nahi?

I am not happy with MQM but I have given reasons for PTI to win, but you yourself said that sindh is important, not karachi like PTI is going places in the interior. I am not even asking PTI to ask for a separate karachi province (well within pakistan's constitution) but to pay attention to local issues like water mafia, local govt (empowered like in musharraf time). Other karachiites can chip in with their knowledge.

Karachi did vote for all-pakistani JI but what did we get? mood ka chilloun... You don't want to admit it but imran's qalabaziyan like josh khitabat like saying 35 puncture was real (which it wasn't when in court) will only hurt him in karachi. You are english (or english nizaad) so you know the expression better the devil you know. Imran's charisma itself didn't work in Punjab where he is the local celebrity.

But seriously, PTI ko vote nahi dena tou na dou....koi qayamat nahi aa jaye gi na Pakistan khatam ho jaye ga if there is no real democracy and political competition in Karachi.

It isn't just you but many online and offline PTI supporters who behave this way. Keep it up and you'll just be reduced to KP if things work out well there. I can now see why beghairat brigade called PTI " the parhi likhi jamat-e-islami".

Probably one of those good things that fat toad did in his life.

Yes, PTI or Imran had been naive enough (or maybe just too normal) to think that it is the spiralling violence, daily strikes, target killings, street crimes, declining business is something Karachiites are sick of....they based their whole campaign on these (important?) issues, and it didn't work.

PTI can talk about water mafia, but that'll also lead to the most unappreciated act of criticising MQM as it is common knowledge that Karachi's water department is notorious for having MQM recruits. So let's just admit the fact that Karachi or Muhajirs has this parent-child relationship with MQM where Karachiites as parent think they can say whatever they like to their child (MQM), but no outsider can dare point a finger. IK doesn't get any reward in Karachi for doing opposition to MQM whereas it's the complete opposite in Punjab with PMLN.

No I don't think Sindh is electorally important, but at the same time I can see the rationale behind not triggering another ethnic war and bloodshed over politics by chanting wrong sorts of slogans for sake of appeasing one group. Sindhi intelligentsia and whatever middle class they have is already bitterly anti IK as it is, pushing them into some nationalist frenzy over some polarised debates and views would be a typical case of 'aa bail mujhe maar'.

Good discussion guys and please carry on but some of you are now getting too emotional, so pls keep your emotions in control. What will not be tolerated is negative labeling or name-calling of an entire community, whether it is mohajir, punjabi or pashtun. thx

I have to say in an all Kafir city like London a Muslim Mayor got elected despite the general rise in Islamophobia because a lot of non Labour voters voted for Sadiq Khan as a protest vote against Conservatives's racist campaign which went against the spirit of proudly diverse London.

Don't tell me that London voted for Sadiq Khan because he's some God sent picture perfect prophet like messiah with no flaws whatsoever. No London voted for him because they had enough of Conservative LG of nine years and they voted for a 'change'.

Why can't the idea of 'protest' vote exist in Karachi? When MQM does dirty, racist, violent campaigns, who don't the Karachiites come forward to exercise their protest vote against such practices?

If London electorate can make a historic statement against racism through electing 'an all outsider' Muslim Mayor, then why can't the educated Karachiites reject a violent mafia?

I can openly acknowledge and condemn the reasons why urban and educated folks vote for PMLN criminals - vast majority of them are beneficiaries of the reward and patronage system provided by PMLN oligarchy. They are beneficiaries of culture of easy favours and perks that comes with being well connected with 'higher ups'. You'll see such examples on this forum. There I've said the most obvious negative traits of my own ethnicity.

Will Karachiites also do some introspection hold MQM voters accountable, name and shame them for voting a vile ethno-terrorist organisation for three generations instead of making petty excuses for them?

There's only so much victim complex you can cash and only for so long. After a while there comes a time when you have to stop blaming others and take some responsibility for your own actions.

MQM support Altaf - a man who is on video calling for his opponents to have their head cracked open and tortured with drills!

Those who support this, get no sympathy when they meet justice!

NEver heard better description than this

It reminds me an auntie of mohalla whos children are most mischievous but she will say my children are so masoom.

Oh look number of Pashtun & Baloch killed in shootouts for links with Taliban & Lyari gang are higher than number of MQM men:

Aftab Ahmed and more | TNS - The News on Sunday

But but but…it’s haraam for Pashtuns and Baloch to elect violent nationalist parties out of victim complex, but halal for Muhajirs to keep voting for an ethnoterrorist out of fear for ‘outsiders’.

In fact emergence of ttp and sectarian outfits forced saen and mqm leaders give rangers proper authority. Otherwise these politicians were ok with mqm's ethno-terrorism. now they cannot digest it as rangers are doing it without discrimination.

Lagta hai aag laggi huwi hai ttp per operation ki wajah say.. :rotfl:

Now, seriously, you say that you are educated. Tell me, how would PTI solve these problems w/o a strong and independent local govt system in place in karachi? Do you think that PPP would just roll over as aside from karachi, you are probably getting 0 seats or probably votes (PTI didn’t even contest in rural sindh) to form a provincial govt. Back to zero again.

As you said, karachi / sindh doesn’t matter overall and I do believe that you are right. PTI knows the jangla bus, kabab paratha, highway game and a strong local govt would work in karachi (look in musharraf time) but it would backfire in KP as FC (para and police) could be deployed in peshawar etc where noon recently got some LB seats, but no rangers + noon freebies in punjab has made sure that PTI is pretty much wiped out at the local level. A local govt could make those infrastructure deals like in the US and heck, PML-n could just directly give them funds bypassing KP and PTI would be a loser come 2018.

I know I know PTI is opposition but why haven’t they introduced a bill to reintroduce with or without changes Musharraf’s LG system?

I fully support rangers operations. You know who are against the operation. Aag to ap ko lagi huee hai.

JI ka supporter kaun >

charh gayee hai? :D

chharti to tumhay hai bhai. ham to nazrana dekh rahay hain... :D

Noonies hadn’t released any funds and given any real powers to their Punjab LG reps, and here you are dreaming about them pouring money into other provinces LG’s. Come 2018, all those Punjab LB reps who hadn’t been given powers and funds by PMLN would become a real vote blockers for them in 2018. You underestimate PMLN’s disgusting obsession with keeping money and power within family and close cronies, they will never let it go down to the grassroots level even if seemingly benefits them - typical feudal mindset.

Seriously, what kind of excuse is this? Do you really need a strong LB system to stop daily strikes, extortion, recruiting of young students in militias, doing target killings? Are you telling me that educated, non-racists Americans would vote for Hilary (or Bernie) because these guys have godly perfections, don’t ever set a foot wrong or because Donald Trump is seen as a bigger evil and its more important to keep him out?

I’m genuinely getting tired of ‘let’s just persist with ethno-terrorist MQM because the party competing with then is not picture perfect’. Come on, that’s not good enough.

As with Sindh, only divide and rule policies can bear results. Imran is stupid for thinking that being a wishy washy centrist position will earn him votes from Karachiites and rural Sindhis - no, these things might look good on his CV, but in reality you can only appeal to one particular demographic, so he needs to pick a side, and go for a kill.

Yes, it does. Look at musharraf era sindh govt vs PPP govt now. Killings were much lower than now under MK and infrastructure was improved. I know that some people here were unhappy that musharraf was giving way too much importance and funds to local govts. I don't know where you have been living but shareefs are investing heavily in infrastructure in punjab. It is one of their key cards come general election.

As far as bernie or clinton (the actual nominee I am betting) goes vs. trump, it is actually getting close when it shouldn't be. I don't want to derail this thread, but there are threads in W. Affairs and General subforum if you want to come talk about that. I'll be more than happy to discuss it over there.

tl,sv: bernie / clinton have agendas that appeal to voters while PTI doesn't have any for karachi (LG) and is a terrible opposition as just happened in the national assembly. no comparison at all !

I was last month ins some remote areas of marryland and most of white american were frantic supporters of Trump.

When ppl of Khi find a better alternate they will go for it. You not need to bother much .

If IK stop taking u turns he may get many more votes in sindh.