Family Recipes

So we all have a couple of concoctions that are specific only to our family. You probably haven’t seen them in anyone else’s home and have no idea who came up with it.

In our home, desi style tuna. Haven’t seen it anywhere else.

My mom takes any kind of tuna, canned or otherwise and just makes it bhuna-huwa-qeema style. Its absolutely amazing with naan.

What about you guys?

Re: Family Recipes

We do that too, Tuna ka salan :) but agree you rarely see it at others home

My mum makes Ganaar ki kadi, Ganaar is a vegetable leaf that is softer than the Spinach leaf, so she cooks the ganaar in water and salt, and then makes a kari from homemade yoghurt =and a few key ingredients and then the Ganaar is drained and cooked in a butter tarka and mixed into the lassi mixture. It is my absolute fav dish and is great with Buttered chapati

^ my mum used to make that too!! and its fab!!

Ummm I am really hungry now!!!

we make desi style tuna also ..it it yummy.

We make a special karhi at our place with garlic and rice. We have it with roti or just like a soup. I’ve seen anyone make it except my family. Infact people make weird faces when they hear about it. :hehe:

I absolutely love it and can have it 3 times a day!

My mom’s “raita” used to include boondi, boiled potatoes, onions and tomatoes and yogurt and man was it good.

(I had no idea real raita was something totally different til I was in college and went to a desi restaurant by myself and ordered raita…man that was a shocker! :halo: )

I had this 'raita' at a friends place the first time and was it good or was it good? ufff

It tastes brilliant with biryani!!!

^ Yes!!! My mom always made it with biryani...omnomnom.

^ We make that raita too! We call it boondi ka raita ;)

When we leave the yogurt "thicker", we'll eat it as chaat as well!

I am interested in this Karhi Hadeel - tell us more! where are the roots from?

Its weird isn't it? The kind of stuff our moms come up with and we just love it automatically.

Does anyone make veggie kababs? My mom makes them and when she's done...they look like shaami kabab but they're veggie.

We make this too! Actually this is what we normally call dhai pallay (sometimes we add the actual pallay sometimes we don’t)…for the longest time I assumed that the ‘boondi’ was pallay :hehe:

I’m sure we have loads of family recipes. One that I remember and I think I mentioned before is aloo anday. It is a breakfast dish… slice potatoes and saute them in a pan with some oil. Add salt, black pepper, and laal mirch. Wait until tender and then crack in eggs and stir slightly. Once the eggs are cooked through serve with your favorite hot sauce. It is a Saturday staple at our house…we LOVE it.

we make that tuna too ..other than that my mom maked mazay daar “mangochion ka salan” she makes korma style salan and add mangochiyan ( pisi hui dal, fry them in oil,just like daal k dahi barrey)and add it in salan ..uff sooo yummm !!
other than that kaali daal ki biryani :hayaa:

Oh its an interesting story. My fathers grand mother came up with it after they migrated from Kashmir in the early 1900's. They were poor and the only things she had at home to make food were garlic, rice and milk. And yes it has milk too.

I don't know the exact recipe but you make the masala with whole garlic and spices and then add water to it. Add rice to it and then let it simmer for a few minutes until the rice are done. When they are cooked, you add half a cup milk and let it stay on the stove for 2-3 mins. It has a runny consistency but the rice are there too so you just mix them and eat it.

What is Boondi?

We make chaat like that , tomatoes, potatoes, chickpeas, onions and cucumber..

my shock was in the reverse.. raita for me was cucumber with tomaties and green chilies and crushed zeera mixed into yoghurt

i get to my in laws and mil says.. make raita.. i do.. and she goes cross eyed.. she makes it her way and i blurt out.. erm.. yeh raita nahi.. dahi boondi hai!!!

ya!

i havent seen this chutney anywhere ever.

tomato chutney: blend tomatoes, whole garlic, zeera, red whole chillies and salt. make into paste. we eat this with pulao.

we make the mangochiyan and kaali daal ki biryani too :smiley:

^ khawa raita and tamatar ki chutney is like that in our family too!

We eat it with kichiri though and thats something I have never seen.

We eat kichiri with - tamatar ki chutney, fried onions and this mashed potato with onions, corrianger and green chilli.

we eat it with kichri too :smiley: any rice with no spices.. we eat it with that.. hehe..

my in laws have another chutney sorta thing that i havent seen anywhere.. i used to think its a punjabi thing but who knows..

slice up some onions .. tomatoes.. chop a few green chilies.

in a little oil.. saute the onions until transluscent… add tomatoes and green chilies with a lil salt.. simmer for a bit. shouldnt be goeey.

they eat it with daal chawal.

daal chawal for me was a simple quick dish … most we had with it were poppadums.. thats it.

at my in laws. .god its just as hard as friggin biryani.. .have to have so many side dishes.. they even want shami kebabs.. so my freezer always has em stored.

:rolleyes: