i guess its mostly a western thing but coming into pakistan as well tho there’s serious opposition.
a girl i know was working in some rural areas trying to educate ppl abt this and she said there’s like a zero success rate in trying to convince ppl abt this issue.
what abt u? do you believe in family planning? yes? no? please list your reasoning behind this as well
i have heard some people say stuff like “by having kids you use up the world’s resources” or “why have your own kids when you can adopt”
kids r sposed to be a naymat from Allah swt and if He is giving a couple a child then Allah swt wants them to have that blessing which many people in this world dont have and by using family planning methods the couple is actually saying NO to this naymat which is a big nashukri
children r a responsibility so the couple is jus shirking off from responsibility which Allah swt wants to place on them
also, every child that is born, Allah swt provides for the rizq of the child. so to say that one had to do family planning coz they cant provide for enough kids, i dont believe in that reasoning. coz Allah swt can increase or decrease ur rizq as He wants. the child has his or her own destiny and fate.
actually its coz of all these family planning type things that there r so many modern diseases.
Firstly your definition of family planning is incorrect. Family planning in the third world applies to limited families, not entire football teams. People in China having one child is family planning. In Pakistan if a family has 3 children, that is also family planning.
Plus I guess all the children dying in Africa of famine really ate all their "rizq" up right? Allah needs a management team.
Gosh I can see this topic turning into a religious battle! Irem
I don’t think there is anything wrong with family planning. If I want to raise one good Momin then I think it is better than having 5 kids where 2 might turn out to be decent and the other 3 might go stray because the parents don’t have enough time to spend on them.
Plus there are people who love kids and want lots of them and there are those who are not that crazy about the idea. So let the ppl who love kids have lots and the people who don’t just have a couple or so because they know what kind of responsibility they can undertake. You wouldn’t want 2 neglectful parents raising 4 kids and all of them turn out to be terrible.
The main problem is that it's a strain on the state's resources. For example, a $5 billion health budget will provide better health services for a population of 100 million than for a population of 150 million.
The problem of expanding population is that unless the government can expand its tax revenue at the same rate, there ends up being less state resources for each individual.
From what I know, sex in Islam is more than just procreation. Husbands and wives are allowed to enjoy each other, as opposed to traditional Christian/Catholic theology which states that men and women should live their lives like brother and sister, only having sex to bring forth more children.
So, if temporary forms of birth control and family planning, such as condoms and pills, is allowed by Allah then why shouldn't we take advantage of it?
Sara 516 - hmmm...lekin people who don't use family planning may not have children for years and people who use family planning methods still may have many children. at the end of the day this is something from Allah swt.
m_s - i think resources for each living being come from Allah. He takes care of it and human beings dont need to worry abt this matter.
Rb hmmmmm i dont agree with that reasoning yaar. i mean, if you are a neglectful parent then even one child can be neglected and if you're not you can raise several children at the same time. i have some cousins, in fact my own bhabi, who r raising 2-3-4 small kids at the same time.
S_G my reply to Sara516 above, answers the first part of ur post. as for the people in Africa. news kids still are being born and raised there are they not?
*Originally posted by irem: *
m_s - i think resources for each living being come from Allah. He takes care of it and human beings dont need to worry abt this matter.
True, but the government always tries to manipulate the situation through schemes like family planning.
Because the more money a government can spend per individual, the more popular it will be with the people.
Effective family planning today leads to less money needing to be spent on babies and children by the state in the year ahead - money saved can be used on other needs of people such as education or sanitation.
*Originally posted by Sir Galahad: *
Firstly your definition of family planning is incorrect. Family planning in the third world applies to limited families, not entire football teams. People in China having one child is family planning. In Pakistan if a family has 3 children, that is also family planning.
Plus I guess all the children dying in Africa of famine really ate all their "rizq" up right? Allah needs a management team.
forget bout the children in africa, wat bout the children in pakistan, who are one of like....20 kids?....my aunt's family in lahore has a 9 year old that comes in and does the cleaning and stuff..and i asked em one time do they think that's wrong? and they said yeah, that's no life for a kid, but it's a fact of life there...if they don't put her to work, someone else will, and her next employer might end up abusing or molesting her. ya kno?
Irem, I guess I am from the group of people you despise. Yes, if you cannot afford the burden of N number of kids, always opt for N-p(where p<N, p<=0,N<=1) number of kids.
If you feel you wouldn't be doing justice to them in the way of not providing them with the best possible, you better not bear them. Moreover, too many people are a burden on the economy, it's so damn true, I would so want a good life for the few kids I bear than a mediocre life for a ton of kids. And it's not just about the money, less kids means more attention, more quality time together, more of everything good.
If I don't strike big later in life, I am gonna settle for just one kid, college tuition fees are gonna be through the roof whenever my kid will be ready, and a baby costs almost a quater million(over the period of first 18 yrs) even in today's age.. that too considering the child attends a public school.
I am for it. Bachey are naimat from Allah, lekin itney na paida karo k naimat nahi, zehmat bann jaye.
I see poor people having 8+ kids. I mean come on, you have no food in the house aur ooper sey aur bachey paida kar rahey ho, hello! Have fewer children and give them more rather than having more children and giving them fewer luxuries. That's my theory. Some people say that Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) or the scholars have advised to have more kids, but look at the time period, that was said during a time when there weren't many Muslims and Islam needed more followers and people were not that poor in those days. Yeah, if you are really rich, have many children but if you don't know whether you'll have something for lunch/dinner or not, then don't have more children. Yes, intercourse is something that our body needs, and that's exactly where birth control comes in. There's not just one method, but many methods by which it'll feel as natural and real as it would without the birth control.
:)) i cant believe my eyes - that people still believe that children are a gift of god and why should we prevent them from happening...
Irem my dear - there is something known as power of reasoning - you decide what is good for you and what is not....
if you believed in the theory that God will take care of everything - then aren't you being naive? you know that I know that...if I cant even support one kid then what is the point in having 12 kids thinking God will provide for them..?what you are talking is absolutely impractical.
Irem's argument about Allah providing does come from the Quran, in Sura 6 verse 151
Say: "Come, I will rehearse what Allah hath (really) prohibited you from": Join not anything as equal with Him; be good to your parents; **kill not your children on a plea of want;- We provide sustenance for you and for them*;- come not nigh to shameful deeds. Whether open or secret; take not life, which Allah hath made sacred, except by way of justice and law: thus doth He command you, that ye may learn wisdom. *
This is the ayat most commonly used to back the view.
However, the context is about killing children, not about having them in the first place.
That's why I personally never found this to be a convincing argument against family planning.
In the west (only speaking of U.S) people plan for kids so they can send them to colleges or uni's. Education is not free and most educated couples do take that into consideration before jumping into bed and start breeding. For a 4 year average school in U.S it is going to cost somewhere $251,000 by year 2015. This is an average school and only tuition fees are in excess of $251K. Now if you have three kids you better make sure that you got atleast a million stashed somewhere. In the east the priorities maybe be different. Uneducation is a big issue in Pakistan. My brothers servant is in her mid twenties and she has 6 kids. Their take is that these are human resources and will add to the greater family needs once they earn bread. It's very sad, and I made a deal with her that She sends her kids to school, I pay for their schooling needs plus a monthly allowance till they graduate from atleast 12th grade if not more.
*Can be adjusted
thats a nice gesture Verizon...only that it should not encourage her to have more kids!!
Irem please dont kill me, but I want no more than two kids.
Ofcourse Allah gives you the children...but I dont think that family planning is against Islam.I would rather raise one or two good children, than have more and neglect them.I want to give them all lots of attention and care ,and I dont think Im capable of handling more than two kids.