Falling in love with best friend...

Do you see yourself marriying your best friend? Is it a good idea?

How many of you actually did end up marriying your best buddies.. share your experiences..

personally i think fallin in love with your bestie is the worst thing that could actually happen to a person …

Re: Falling in love with best friend…

Yep I think, everyone should look for an enemy to get married :shikari:

Re: Falling in love with best friend...

hopefully the best friend is of the opposite gender, otherwise u get fatwas in some parts of the world, no equal benefits in other.

no not really, you’ve known your best friend for long and your getting married (obviously the opposite gender vala best friend :smack:) and it’s like you know them, your proper tight to each other,…unless you don’t love them in that way

I don't know why, but i feel that way too. it may be cos i haven't been in that boat. i feel a buddy's a buddy in the real sense when he's just that. somehow it's not the same thing if you try building it into something more imho.

Falling in love is so hard on the knees

again..best friends of the opposite gender…I would say that has its pros and cons…
First of all The feelings have to be mutual first of all!!
Secondly…they may know your cacha chatta…:cb:…basically knowng u and u knowing him/her too well and then still falling for him/her would be just something that is deep enuff to with stand in the long run…

Oh Yes Negatives:
U may always feel like treating them as a friend may end up splilling some beans that r better left unspilled:cb:…
Too much frankness…there should always be boundaries..
Now I am out of things to say:D…So BiB…its better to be married to someone u know well then complete strangers…Think of it in this way:D

Marriage is all about friendship if you think about it.
so why not.
but again it depends on some other factors too. Sometimes 2 best buddies aren't compatible.

i have no enemies :crying:

:vivo: thats wat i meant.. besides.. its still not legal here in aussie neways :rolleyes:

kitni mushkil mushkil baatein kar rahe ho sab...main to yehi kahoon gi k pyar kabhi bhi ,kahein bhi ,kisi say bhi ho sakta hai kyonki pyar kiya nahi jata bas ho jata hai....how sweet:)

the problem is if u are best buddies for a fair few years... u know every aspect of each others life.. u just fall for em.. its not taht u wanted to .. in this case specially i think it just happens.. but id say if it happens both ways it could be the best thing one could ever ask for... but if it is one sided.. its the worst thing that could ever happen..

agreee agreee ??

^^
you are right.

yeah and that too

My husband is my best friend now, but he wasn't when I married him.

I was engaged to my best friend of almost 10 years when I was in college. When the relationship ended, so did the friendship, and my parents relationship with his parents. It was just too difficult for any of us to be around one another again. Looking back, it was a huge mistake to become involved, because we weren't compatible in that way, and I still really miss his friendship.

U know feelings wise ther might be more then wat meets the eye....If u and the best friend relied on each other thru thick and thin...then it is a learnt behaviour....Its the" saving part"...that can be alluring for the "falling in love "..part...U r right that if the feelings r mutual then it should be the best thing in life...otherwise it can be a torture...:)...
One thing for sure...One has to make sure that it is "love"...not "infactuation"...By love, the meaning is different for each person according to their own set of perceptions...but overall the practical things should be ept in mind too....:)

if something happens...your relationship goes down hill, then there is that risk of losing your best friend for the rest of your life.

Moral of the story:

Do not make your significant other your best friend too :)

That shouldnt be the case AQ...there should be boundaries in every relationship...But usually after marriage , I think that the spouse should be ONE of your best friends:)

^I agree. But your spouse shouldnt' be your "only" best friend. Sometimes you need a sounding board outside of your marriage, and there are many things that only a friend of the same gender can understand and appreciate. For example, my husband does not want to go shopping with me or hear about how our oldest daughter is becoming a teenager.

that was not my view point...

I was merely taking the moral out of the replies :)