then its name was changed to LAYL- PURE after some british idiot “James layl”
Then Govt. of pakistan took HUGE grant(not well spent) from king faisal and name it faisal abad.
I demand our original name back Sandel-Barr
I seek help from Governor Durani:soldier:
:desimunda:
Our we are going bring a huqqa-dhoti revolution all over pakistan:sheen:
They are perfectly fine the way they are! I can understand reverting to the old name, but how would renaming 'faisalabad' to something more 'Islamic' give us a sense of Islamic identity? Are you lost Mr. Moin-ul-Atiq that you need cities to be renamed to revive your sense of identity?
Aren't Indians renaming their cities to reflect their Hindu indentities.. we should do the same to reflect our Arab/Turkish origins.. its a matter of pride kakey.. We are proud of our Islamic roots.. how can you justify Clifton in KArachi or Abottabad..?
Yes, being proud of your Islamic roots does not mean you start naming your cities after some invader out of the blue who had the honor of being Muslim. Also, if Hindus are renaming their cities to reflect their 'hindu identities', why must we do the same thing? Woh well me challang lagayen gey tu kya humain bhi lagana zaroori hai?
I think our cities should reflect our Pakistani heritage and not Arab or Turkish
Sure we are desendants of turks, arabs, persians, afghans and central asians but all of these cultures meshing together gives us pakistan and so our cities should reflect our pakistani heritage
i thought we shouldn’t do what the people across the border do why should we look at them for guidance? let them do what they wish to do.
like merc and spock said…our heritage isn’t limited to after the muslims came to the subcontinent. it goes way beyond that. heck, are you going to rename harappa and mohenjodaro to Harisburg and Muhammadabad?
Thanks to our current educhtion policy-- our next genration(kids in schools now) will be much more
proud of our heritage.
Usually we don’t know a thing about history before 1947.(or we know a very little)
We only learn about our history mainly from indian(abroad)
Indians always say they were the real owner of “harapa- texla-- mohonjo daro–gandhara”
which is big fat lie.
Inshallah our next genrantion will ba as proud of our heritage as an"irani" or a “egyptian”
Pakistan didnt get grant at all, When King Faisal died. It was named after him in his hounor by Pakistani government at the time, bhutto i guess.
and as far I know Lyalpur was named after lord loyal , and he was the one who odered this city to be desinged in Union Jack shape with Clock tower in the middle.
I dont know if it was love or hate, he was no doubt a great leader of Islamic world that time. thats the reason he and many like him murdered or removed soon from power cause they started using oil blockade as power lever.
I strongly oppose changing it's name to lail pur or something new... I love faisalabad as faisalabad.
Yes, our cities should reflect our heritage but we can't wipe off something that was part of those cities or played an important role in the development of those cities or had great influence or those cities to make them completly pakistani as they as they are equal part of our heritage.