Fair n Lovely/Stillman's/Bleach.. (merged threads)

Ok being brown and extremely dark is kind a LANAT in our society, specially when u r at the age of gettin’ married. Every aunty around looks for the Goura skin color of the girl no matter she had the OK features.

Here I must say my features are outstanding but my skin color put me down everywhere.

What do you guy says about using fair n lovely/stillman’s cream? Is it efficient enough to at least make skin lil bit lighter? I am not talkin’ about gettin’ goura goura here but bit on a lighter side.

Yea can make fun of me all you want …I am being honest here and using these creams..I have been pushed for since I don’ get any RISHTAS…rolleyes

Any other desi nuskhas will be appreciated.

Re: Fair n Lovely/Stillman's/Bleach..

oh thats quite sad, why dont you be bold enough and try to fight society norms instead of giving into them sis?

Allah gives us what we have, we should appreciate and not fight against it. :)

Do you really want to be married into a family where people care about skin color? Doesn't it ever make you wonder what else they will pick on? I sometimes wish I was actually Black, their skin is gorgeous. Find someone who will appreciate you as you are and look for a guy yourself instead of complaining about the way things are.

I know of this aunty who is now deceased (may her soul rest in peace). She had 5 sons and she very proudly told people that she only wanted gori gori bahoos so she could have goray goray grandkids. She was a good lady, otherwise but it is the mentality we are raised with.

Khair, BB, wish you all the best and trust me you only want to marry into a family or even a guy who is in love with you and not the color of your skin.

I have once tried stillman's and it gave me a major reaction and have not touched paki creams since than. I was not trying to get gori gori but ppl that were using the cream had the most amazing smoothness and clarity so i thought...why not give it a try which turned out to be a nightmare. I had to see a skin specialist in order for the swelling to go away.

Oh and have you thought about focusing on your diet. Because, drinking more water and eating the right fruits and veggies along with drinking lots of milk will give your skin a natural glow and freshness which you want more than some gori gori ghost looking skin:)

^ Why is my skin not gori gori and fresh looking with that natural glow then :(

I drink tons of milk, lots of water and eat my fruits and veggies semi regularly..Oh and i also take vitamins :(

Instead im a bhada kala mushtanda.

^^ It is not only about eating the right things. Do you wash your face twice a day??? And do you cleanse it with a good cleansing milk or cream once a week?? Probably not....start doing that you will see the freshness

its really upsetting to hear something like this.. but ppl can sit here and say being dark isn't that bad...but when it comes to marrying someone with a dark complexion or having your brother, son, daughter, etc getting married to one..the true nature and their double standards comes out.
i really haven't used any of those above mentioned cream's, so really can't say anything. although my mom bought this cream called "Amazing" and it really is good my mom uses it she is very gori already but it just kind of gives her a really beautiful glow.

Re: Fair n Lovely/Stillman’s/Bleach..

This is the stupidest topic ever!
You can bleach now and make yourself whiter for some aunty to pick you out for her son and after marriage what are you going to do? bleach everyday of your life to please ur mother in law or your husband? bleach and all these other products totally ruin your skin.

If a guy or his mother judges you on the color of your skin have you ever, even for a second, though that maybe their not worth your time?

UGH!! :mad: :mad:

^ bleach doesn't make you white!!! it just lightens your facial hair..

Ladies and Gentlemen, for all of you who have arugued with me that skin colour doesn't matter and that society doesn't care about dark or light skin, here is your proof. Light skinned is prefferd in our Pakistani society. Im not saying I agree with it, but it is reality.

To you, Black Beauty: You have been given a rough hand but you have to play with what u got. Inshallah, a good rishta will come for you and your husband will give you all the happiness in the world, Ameen. Stay positive and everything will work out.

And don't forget, joriyan uppar banaee jahte hain. :)

^as much as i hate to say this ... but i agree with you.

I use fair n lovely undereye creme for my eyelid/undereye area.. ill let u know in 6 weeks if it works or nto:)

AHHHH dont!! Whyyy do you ppl use that trash on ur lubley faces??

HAHAHHAAH speaking of fair n lubley, once at school I went to go read namaz and in the guys wudu area at the sink their was like this mega tube of fair n lovely!!! I was like HAIN? I wonder which brother was using it heeheheh

Anil, its not that skin colour DOESNT matter--I think if ure desi you know how much it does matter--but rather it SHOULDN'T matter. Its one thing if you have acne or vitiligo or undereye circles and want medical intervention, but to change ur shade just because of some stupid ppl nagging u about it, well thas really pathetic.

BB, Im sorta in the same situation as u, xcept its not my color but my weight that seems to be other ppls issue and business. Basically I should be thin to get good rishtas and if a "good" rishta rejects me its coz i wasnt attractive (but then again joray aasman mein banay hotayn, go figure :)) But the whole rishta issue asside, losing/controlling weight itsself is not a bad thing at all, especially for me, because I know it would give me a LOT more self esteem (i have almost none left now). For me its been bachpan-se bad habits, poor diet choices n occasional laziness.

For you, its what you are. Just like you cant change ur height, ur nose or anything, why fret over skin color just because of a jaahil cultural thinking? Allah made you this color, I think that would be pretty insulting to hate your own colour.

Like SarahSplendor said, would you really want to get married with someone/into a family that takes skin colour as a criteria to choose their bahu? It may be so that the man himself has no prejudices of this sort, but his family may. And since they're the ones that approach your family, that may be the thing bothering you. I guess it would be easy for me to say be proud of what you have, but it's really up to you, if that's how you want it. Neway Sara will let you know if that particular fairness cream works or not.

I cant believe some peeps wat 2 change their skin colour, we shud be saying Allhamdulilah for all the Allah has given us.Look at other ppl in the world in far worse situations, and some peeps are shallow enuff 2 worry about their skin colour.

skin lightening creams have high levels of mercury in them. lotsa women in asian countries have developed neurological disorders as well as died from mercury poisoning.
Skin bleaching agents like those with hydroquinone (sp?) increase the sunburn risk of desi skin tones and results in even more blotchy pigmentation if proper sunscreen is not used with it.
plus if u 'whiten' your face....what abt the rest of your body? wont that look weird?
as someone said rishtas based on how white u are while ignoring your other qualities is not worth your time. i would say focus on keeping your skin clean and bright and well moisturized/sunscreened. and stay happy. even pakistani society is changing albeit slowwwwly....
listen to vital signs' "sanwli saloni see mehbooba" ;)

Ok people skin colour does matter... but it doesnt necessarily have to be fair. IOt should be healthy whatever the shade. Please go and read my thread brown is beautiful, I am someone who has gone from fair to rosy to extremely pale so I know what I am saying.