Face Value or between the lines

I was having some discussion with some mods on different things and I thought that I ask you guys these two questions

How do you treat people.

1. Do you take their statements at face value or you try to read between the lines.

2. Also, do you ignore someone’s rude comment cause that person is ‘dil ka achcha’ or no

Re: Face Value or between the lines

1. Face value - reading between the lines takes too much time

2. Humein kia pata dil ka acha hai ya bura - chachay ka puttar thori hai :) Rude comments need thappars or confrontation.

errr....

its not for Moderators.. i take back my comments :D

both.

No firenze its not for moderators .. :D ..

ng, what if that rude comment comes from someone who is very close to you.

^ did your wife say something to you? :) don't worry her dil is very acha! :)

Hmmmm, It's a tough question to answer because I also think it depends upon the person you're dealing with. If someone has usually has a very direct way of communicating, then their comments are more likely to be taken at face value. If someone has a more subtle way of communicating, you'd have to read between the lines.

I use both methods depending on the situation. Sometime direct, sometimes mixed with subtle.

Question # 2. Sometimes I ignore dumb comments from those with an "acha dil" and even from those with "bura dil" ...LOL. It depends on what the person has said to me. If their comment is very offensive, I wont ignore it. If they are displaying a consistent/repetitive pattern of obnoxious behavior....after a few times of tolerance....I wont' ignore it.

it totally depends...

If it's online - then I never take ANYONE seriously - just try to read between lines and beware.

If it's in person - then face value matters. Reading between lines is also very important cause now you know the person.

Rude comments - can only be taken serious in person. Online -NEVER!

*1. Do you take their statements at face value or you try to read between the lines. *
Read between the lines if the hints seem obviously directed towards someone or a group and has a negative accusatory tone. Of course hints might mean something to some people and nothing to others.

**2. Also, do you ignore someone's rude comment cause that person is 'dil ka achcha' or no.
**Ignore nothing.
If written information is being received by the site, then actual action needs to be taken by the management for the posting(s) that change the site's culture.
Unpleasantries allowed by a few can/will spread and can change the entrainment and 'fun' aspect of GS, if not controlled.

:mad:

no my wife did not say anything to me, her dil is also achcha and her choice of words are also excellent.

Oh btw, how do you determine if someone is ‘dil ka achcha’. is it when you understand the reason behind their bitterness or is it something else.

I dont really take anyone just at face value. In my experience, most people dont say what they mean and/or mean what they say. So you have to listen to what they say and then collate it with who/what/how they are in order to really understand.

As far as rude comments...I dont know what 'dil ka achcha' is. But when a rude comment is made to me, I almost invariably ignore it. I hate being confrontational, I hate high stress and/or high drama situations and do whatever I can to avoid such. And I keep telling myself that perhaps one day when I'm a mean ole crotchety lady the favor will be returned. INSHALLAH!!!!

...hmmm I think I have to clarify a bit here. I think I do much better at defending myself and my point of view when I'm online. My fingers are so much more brave than my mouth!!!

TLK - you cannot take what’s written literally - people have different moods - anything can be misinterpreted online and in a written format.

I don’t know whether your question was in reference to GS but forgive and forget.

“sticks and stone may break my bones but words will never hurt me”

Finding out the reason why someone is acting bitter can help us develop more tolerance and understanding toward the person.

But if this person is REPEATEDLY acting in an idiotic manner, then one’s compassion and patience in seeing the “good in others” can wear thin.

Also, actions speak louder than words. There are people who speak politely but their actions don’t match up with their words. So, that can be an indication that one should be careful around such a person.

1-Between the line. Can't help I have seen/dealt-with so much B-shyters in life that "prepared statements" from a stranger mean nothing to me.

2-Yes- I tend to look at the person not the little event. why is that hmmmmmmmm
Because I am NOT A GIRL. jeezzzz

dil ka achcha means, he/she has a good heart.

Thing is, if some one cannot put two words properly without being rude, sarcastic or blunt, what good there heart is. Having bitter experience in life does not give you a right to be bitter to people.

who was the mod who u were having this kinda discussion :ASA:

tum kiya meri phuphi lagi hui ho jo tum ko har baat bataa'oon

^haww now that was rude!:emmy:

see, even Aisha thinks that what you said was rude, BH

Personally, I wouldn't ignore what someone says to me just because they are dil ke ache. I'd be cordial with them whenever I meet them but I would always keep in mind what they've said or done to me. As far as taking someone on face value is concerned all i'm gonna say is: Looks can be deceptive :@: