I am so sorry to hear about your struggle. It's great that you have taken the initiative to contact a psychologist. That's definitely a step in the right direction. I think you are putting way too much pressure on yourself. Even more than a handsome, smart or even a successful son your parents want a healthy son!! I say this from personal experience.
Take a year or semester off just to get your mental health in order. A psychological disease is no different than a physical one so please take the time and effort to take care of your mental health. There's nothing to be ashamed and its far common than you actually think. Unfortunately it's such a taboo subject in our society that no one wants to discuss it let alone find a solution to it.
Please discuss it with atleast one of your parents. The more support you have the better success you will have in your treatment. Don't isolate yourself go out make loyal friends, spend time with your family, do things around the house, make dua. Volunteering with the less fortunate is also a great way to relieve stress sometimes. Above all keep yourself busy with constructive stuff.
Really thanku for ur concern... but the thing is how do i share my problems... and tell them that i have sucidal thoughts nd i also want to DESPERATELY cut myself... they will scold me and say that GOD has given a life and why ru wasting it etc... they do care about me but they will surely scold me or keep me under clinical observation... i dont want that.. i dont want the world to knoe that i have sucidal problems... cant do that... sorry.....
There is this Dr Perlmutter who suggests a gluten free diet would help in curing anxiety and depression also cut back on drinking coke pebsi and all kind of pop drinks,
Research has established a correlation between sugar intake and anxiety. In a 2008 study (link is external), rats that binged on sugar and then fasted displayed anxiety, and in a 2009 study (link is external) rats fed sucrose compared to high-antioxidant honey were more likely to suffer anxiety. While dietary changes alone cannot cure anxiety, they can minimize symptoms, boost energy and improve the body’s ability to cope with stress.
check it out since you are studying Medicine!
Insha Allah it should help you get over this hard time, remember we all go through bad times our prayers are with you, fe Amanillah!
Thanku but i dont drink coke or pepsi… its been about a year… only 3 4 days ago i had half a glass… no sugar at all too… not even in my tea… thanku for ur concern…
Right now im crying nd really have the urge to give a cut on my hand... i just want to relieve my stress... my parents dont understand even though they r a doctor... they think that mental illness is nothing but a joke and a person can cure it by himself, he dosent need anyone's help, he is just playing around... if i dont eat anything then only they become worried nd i cant see them like that so i eat just to make them happy... since more than 2 weeks im eating right so they r not at all worried... im all alone right now.. only have GOD with me but noone to talk....
Ahmed brother..don't do anything. I know it is tempting..because that is what you feel like when you're emotionally down. In our desi society..seeking mental illness help is considered taboo. But since your parents are doctors...just tell them..that you have suicidal thoughts and going through mental health issues. Indeed..Allah is with you..but look around you how you can help yourself to get out of this situation. I know..what everyone said above..seems like ghesse phettee lines to you..but believe me bro..we are here for help.
Yaar unko nahi samajh aati na aaye. Just pray to God. Read some inspirational stories about how people fought against all odds and turned their lives around completely. You need to be forgiving to yourself. Stop comparing yourself with others. When I was your age (not too long ago lol) my parents did the typical desi comparisons. Look at falaan kid, how they are better at studies, help their parents, don’t fight with siblings, so islaami. Now, my parents realize their kids are not nearly as bad as the ones they compared us to.
So, stop with the comparisons. If it makes you feel better, girls get better marks and they are more female students in medical universities in Pakistan than male. In the job market, there are more male doctors than female. We all make mistakes, we all fail at something in our lives. Right now, your parents are failing to be supportive of you. The kid they have bright future plans for is having suicidal thoughts. THAT’S A FAIL.
Fail hotay ho tou ho jao. Next semester main aur koshish kar lo. Khair hai. Do din log bolain ge phir sab set. Bharam se bolo ‘Yeah, I failed, hence, an extra semester’
I know people who failed in school, did extra semester/year/credit and are now doing very well for themselves. Sometimes, you need those jhatkay from God to help you realize what you’re doing wrong. And you did. That’s a WIN.
You can do another semester. You can always lose weight. You can always become popular. You can always change things.
What you can’t do is get another life back. Right now, people are struggling to earn bread and butter for themselves and their families. Yet, somehow, they keep going. Thank Allah, and then your parents for this life and try again, with a fresh mind.
A.akm. thanku all... please if any of u know any gud teenage physycotherapist in Karachi, please tell me... the one which which i go to only meets me once a week... she is just so busy... please if any of u know... do tell me.
If you feel that you need to see a therapist, then look for one. But in the mean time, do the following 3 things. They will cost you nothing and they are easy to do.
1) Remain in a state of wuzu and try your best to maintain namaz.
2) Kasrat se astaghfar parho. While you are sitting, lying down, driving, walking from one place to another.....read astaghfar.
3) Kasrat se durood parho. Bayshak chota sa durood parhlo...but recite durood while you are sitting, walking, lying down, driving, watching tv, etc. Anywhere from 300-1000 times is good. Or even recite durood e Ibrahimi 100 times daily if it's hard to recite 300 times.
Even if it's hard for you to pray namaz 5 times a day, at least try to keep your tongue moist with astaghfar and durood. This parhai will keep your mind busy and bring your heart some sukoon. I personally believe that a psychologist or a therapist can only help you to an extent, you also need to connect with Allah thru zikr.
Recite durood, praise Allah, gunahon ki maaf mango, then ask Allah to remove your depression and to make things easy for you in every way, then end with durood.
When you stand in front of the mirror...recite "Bismillah, MashaAllah, La hawla wa la quwwat illah billah." So even if you are standing in front of the mirror for 5 minutes to brush your hair or tying your tie ya jo bhi....then for those 5 minutes baar baar parhtay raho Bismillah, MashaAllah, La quwwata illah billah."
After every namaz you can recite one tasbeeh of Ya Khaliqu Ya Musawwairu Ya Jamilu. But if it's hard to do this for every namaz, then din main sirf aik dafa one complete tasbeeh parh lo...blow on your hands....and rub on your face.
I know I have suggested several things for you to recite and maybe you feel that is waqt you might feel that you don't have the emotional energy to recite so many things. To koi baat nahi......kum se kum astaghfar aur durood chaltay phirthay baith'tay parha karo and I believe you will feel at peace soon. Don't give up on this.
Is this seriously a real post? Obviously you can't study if you're an anorexic teenage girl. Start eating, go figure out what your macros should be, and start again.
And shame on your parents for letting you get like this.
Im sorry..... to all.... ufsana this is a real thread.. sorry for sounding such a dumb... to be honest u wont believe but after fighting with my will power for days and days.... and giving up the urge to self harm myself to relieve emotional pain. I finally broke... two days earlier i was crying and i couldn't take it anymore... my mom is always rude with my father and that also makes me depressed ( u cant imagine how many problems r thre with me right now and each of them is making me sick day by day). I washd my face and went to the shop and bought 2 razors... i came home and tried to cut myself for 10 min i was trying but couldn't do that... Now thre still in my drawer... i hope that i dont touch them again bcz next time i cannot stop my hand....( i know many of u will think that my story and probs are fake but trust me they r not!!!!!)
I've read the complete thread and it doesn't seem like anyone who responded assumed for a sec that it is not true. Since you are depressed and suicidal or want to harm yourself, first thing you should do is tell your friends and family. Stop thinking what they are going to say or how they are going to react. I am sure they would prefer you to be alive and healthy. At this age, you might think that passing your class is the biggest deal in life, let me tell you, it really isn't. It is definitely not worth risking your life over some thoughts in your head. You should see a therapist for sure but you don't have to go through this alone. Tell one of your parents at least. Who are you close with in your family?
Thanku.... but this is true.... i cannot quit in the last year... its the year which will determine my future.... i cant back away just like that.... im going to the therapist but as i said i cant seem to tell her too bcz she will laugh at my childish probs... because thre is not one or 2. They r many.... she is just like normal people..... i told one of my friends that i go to a therapist... nd now he only talks about the therapy and looks me in a weird way all the time... even though he gives me hope and courage but he talks about my depression and stuff like that... i dont like that.... if i tell my fathr he will scold me and say that these are no probs.. ur a fool thinking about them... the world does it why cant u... if i tell my mom she will react weirdly with me.... she is going to tell to all of her family members about this and then everyone will keep on asking me about this... she will never ever leave me out of her sight then... since they r doctors so they will likely send me to physco hospital and keep me under clinical observation... i dont want any of that.... im sorry for such a long message.
Anyone here?? Please i want to talk about my sister.... im really depressed about her now... a new problem in my life and its far worst than any other.... when everything was starting to get some shape it just came in and its the worst of all..... it made me ALMOST cut myself day b4 yesterday but my sister saw me with a knife and blade and yelled my mom and then i began crying.... please i need to talk to someone with some experience....please dont think im trying to bump this thread or something....really need help....
Btw, if you are that suicidal and think that solution of every stress that life gives is to eliminate your life, then forum can't help you. You need to see a psychiatrist
This is really difficult situation and only people who been in situation like this can deeply understand
First you need to try and be positive pray and know Allah its on your side . Dont over think . You have to pull yourself together even its hard . Just be positive everything will be ok inshallah , pray and have faith . Even if you see a therapist if you dont have free will he will not help you . Maybe they will put you to take anti depressants but that will make you worst in my opinion . I understand harming youself makes you feel better but its not the solution try to go and run or go for a walk , when you feel to hurt yourself dont do it have straighnt and walk away go out . You have to improve the eating habits as well . To get better depends on you and your faith , have strong faith in Allah . Its hard when family dont understand you so please pull yourself together and keep going forward there are many times in life when everyone has a moment of depression but you cant let it to bring you down
Inshallah you will be well soon . Be positive
I haven't read the entire thread but please note that the brain does not function without fat and you need balanced food to have proper brain function, one third of calories need to come from each fat, protein and carbs also brain needs water so keep hydrated, you have one life and live it on your own terms and not on anyone's dreams. Growing up many people who didn't do that great in school ended up millionaires. life is about attitude and motivation. Don't waste your life being unhappy, go out and have fun