external harddrives

Re: external harddrives

i just don’t want to lose my precious music and pictures and coughfunstuffcough! :mad:

which is why i recommended you WD to store your coughtfunnypr0ncough.

yes sir :salute: i have to see if that one is on sale or not.

Khumar,

5abi's recommendation in post # 3 is the way to go... actually, we've deployed this as a backup of the backup of the backup recently.

that same one is for 220 @ best buy...fobby was going to make me spend way more money than i had to :p

I showed you the hard drive, didnt say you buy it direct from the WD. You can buy it from Amazon or whatever mom and pop shop they have in Canayduh.

And you dont have to get 1 TB. I reckon a 250GB would suffice your needs :stuck_out_tongue:

The above model at Amazon is selling for $213.

shipping costs too :smiley:

i like 500 though :blush:

fobby ka kasoor nahi, usey kya pata khumar bhai ki jaib kitni tight hai.

Khair, I would get the one with the LAN port as well.

500GB is under $100 and free shipping within US.
Take a look

mybook comes with one?

shipping to canayduh is never free!

ok quick question, how do i check if my laptop has firewire capabilities?

I did not see it in the model that he posted but mybook that I have used does have USB 2.0, firewire and Gigabit LAN connection.

take a match, light it, and take it near all the ports on your latop. if you see one of the ports catch fire , thats your firewire port.

oo why didnt i think of that :vivo:

this is how it looks like

but i dont recommend using firewire, USB port is better, so u need not worry if your laptop has firewire or not

oh i have that! haha. viva la google.

ok now i just have to go buy one. :D

^^ aho jaa hun saadi jaan chor tay kuj paisay vi kharch :P

Is that possible to make your external hard disc read only, like in old times you may lock your floppy disk so that It can not be written or overwritten

This is also good way to avoid virust infection to data when you use ur hard disc to other's computers.

Seagate is pretty decent. I don't know about other drives, but seagate has this application available which allows you to install complete programs on your external drive. If you are into programming , its useful to have your visual studio setup on your external drive as well, which you could plug into any computer and start your work irrespective of whether that computer has VS or not.

That is a pretty nice feature on Seagate's part. I may have to go buy a 1TB seagate. I actually prefer Western Digital. I had alot of issues with segate drives so I quit using them. Come to find out recently, seagate is now one of the top preformers.