Nahi woh bari shareef thin Sari umar shadi nahi ki:bailan: Larkion ko hostel sy nahi niklny dyti thi aksar larkian bahna kerti thin ky bimar hain doctor ky pass jan ahy meri aik cousion ny batya ky mainny kaha mery chehry per dany buhat nikal rahy hain dosri larki ju sath shopping ky liy jan achah rahi thi boli mery pait main darad hy buhat.Tessri ko bhi sir main dukhan thi. Pass hi koi lecturerr khari thin os ko mukhatib ker ky Warden bloi, " Ary log mujhy kehty hain girls hostel ki warden hu koi rishta batao hamary alrky ky liy" Unhin kia bataon ky is hostel main tu aik sy berh ker aik mareez larki pari hy, Koi tandrust hu tu rishta batao" Kehny lagi ham ny rony wali shaklin banai hoin thi bimari zahir kerny ko phir tu hans hans ker pyt main bal par giy.
why ........... do ya need to be married for being successful and happy in life ?
They don't need to be married to be successful and happy but in Pakistan when a girl reaches certain age and is not married, people start mal treating her, pointing fingers her, taunting her, etc which builds frustration in them. That frustration has to come out somewhere....
DORM life is a kinda betting...where someone either REFORMS or TRANSFORMS into what they turn out to be..later in the more serious path of their lives, their career and post married life!
It DOES play an important role--going forward!
DORM life...be it of a boarder or day boarder...is a life one can never forget...no two ways about it.
One must read the fables or classic (true) tales of ALIGARH UNIVERSITY HOSTEL DAYS of 40's.....which are mind boggling full of fun n laughter and true!
There ARE sad and horrendous incidences of DORM life...which are the by-product of some western movies of the past (GREASE etc) but then again...back in our Country....we have classic examples of DORM life set out in movies like; BEDARI (1958) and KANEEZ (1966) and not to forget GEO's series; YE DUNYA HAI DIL WALON KI where we all depicted the everyday incidences of DORM life..in a fantastic and more humorous manner.
Incidently...I never had a DORM life...but back at school and college I did enjoy a very DORMY life full of STORMY subjects with equally WARMY memories........and the BEST part is that we all of school or college alumni are as DORMATICALLY still closer to each other........!!!
Waking up very slowly as the sun seeps through the veins in the blind. Dust is linig the areas no student ever dare touch. A musty smell dominates and I trudge in to the shared bathroom area before anyone can take it. By shared bathroom it means there are like two showers for ten people, not that they are all open and people shower in front of one another that is silly. Except in changing rooms for sport facilities ... that is why I never went to those rooms, but chose to go back to the dorms instead.
EVerything is coaxed in a beige paint. Funky colours line the bed clothes ... that are never folded properly. Dirty dishes from the night before are on top of the text books on my desk and I have gone to sleep in jeans .... because there is no one to tell me otherwise.
I get up and dirty posters are put up outside the hall way by other boys and floral smells come from the rooms of girls. Hard trance comes from a room that has had a house party the night before and people of all types are found sleeping on the floor in that room. Vomit in the sink!
Idiots in every respect come from silver spoon families with no scruples attach whiskey and vodka bottles to their walls and other come and drink from their bottles ... on one occasion the other dorm mates empty his bottle into a coke bottle leaving but a little in the vodka bottle, mix it with water and replace it. In time he drinks it thinking he has become better at handling his booze.
Practical jokes are talking points for one another and people are setting up side businesses fuelling contrabands such as hashish and white widow may be even mushrooms of the magic variety and porn material. Half drunk girls in the dorms come into the room where we all watch the latest hollywood action films to show everyone parts of their bodies.
On one occasion I got some lighter fluid and blew a fire ball from my mouth ... loads of laughs and another time ... another girl left her goldfish to be cared for by a male dorm mate, who when she had gone took the fish, put it in a cup of water and microwaved it whilst others video'd it ... Idiots. I didn't stop them at the time ... But most people felt guilty afterwards.
We did quite a few dangerous things too like hanging from heights outside the buildings and jump down large flights of stairs ... Most lectures were missed ...
I know some one who know some one,
once he was a gori GF. girl said I am tired I need massage. Poor guy didn't have any thing so he took cooking oil.
Delete it this post if not appropriate.
I spent a couple of months in Lahore College for Women hostels. They were really really strict. We had to share the room with 3 other girls and most of my company was very nice. Food was ok too, it was cooked by all women. Those women were nice too, infact if they knew you had classes late in teh afternoon, they would save you some lunch. Milk did feel more like lassi though. The gates to the hostel buildings were open till 8 i think and we would go out in groups for walks after dinner but the place was very spooky. There was even this story abt some Shakuntala committing suicide on the campus. Some said she jumped off a building and some said she drowned into the well, to which incidentally our balconies faced.
One night my room mates were gone for the weekend. It was about bed time and i was settling in when i heard azaan. It was like 9 or 10 pm and no where near for any namaz time. But it kept continuing and i couldnt figure out where it was coming from. I got a bit scared, thanks to the Shakuntala stories and slept in the next room with other friends. The next morning when the room mates came back it turned out that they had an azaan alarm clock hiding in the room somewhere
LC for W had a very strict environment though. you couldnt leave the premises unless whoever is written in your papers comes to pick u up. BUt they babas were nice enough to purchase anything we wanted from the outside for us. At times we had parties and they would buy snacks, cake etc for us.
Next experience was at Al Zohra Hall UET. The mahoul here was pretty different. There was no restrictions on when to go where. The gates closed at 9 in winter, 10 in summer and you just had to be back in the hostel before than. The bathroom were not bad at all, there was hot water 24/7. There were enough bathroom/stalls/sinks for most of us. Food was horrible though. It was cooked by all guys and they made chicken E V E R Y S I N G L E day. The year i spent there, i got so tired of eating the chicken that refused to eat it for a year after i left. I remember i skipped a lot of meals or ate ramen noodles or mayo sandwiches. Lost a lot of weight and when i went home for vacation in the middle east, i had people asking me what had happened to me and saying they would never send their kids away if thats whats going to happen to them too. I guess i looked sickly although i think it was more like slim .
It was a real pain to use the phone though. Guys would randomly call and keep the lines busy forever. Often times i would be waiting for parents to call and the guys would want to chit chat. Times like these, you jsut wanted to cry.
The first six months there, we didnt have a room so shared with about 4 other girls. 3 of them became my really close friends and later on when we got our rooms (2 per), we still stayed together, eating meals together, going to class together, going out together to the city when needed.
Good thing was that UET had their own buses running to Anarkali and Liberty for shopping everyday. that was awesome so we didn thave to take rakshas.
There was this little area behind the resident area called Ghora Gali. We did a lot of our shopping from there. It was very small and nasty but it worked for us.
Also the common room in the building had an AC in there. So at night, a lot of us would take their bedding and sleep there. I loved it since i was spoiled by the ac-in-every-room thing at home (middle east).
One of the best part i remember is going for walks at night after dinner with friends. We did so many crazy things but had loads of fun.
Not to say that it was always fun. The hardest part was being away from family and i used to call them often (i remember it cost me Rs 55 per min and i would talk for 3 mins just to hear Ammi Abbu’s voice). To this day Abbu makes fun of me saying that i spent more time at home thatyear than i did in school
Guys would randomly call and keep the lines busy forever. Often times i would be waiting for parents to call and the guys would want to chit chat. Times like these, you jsut wanted to cry.
Yeah i can understand that. I fought with many people over the telephone and once one senior was not leaving the phone despite me repeatedly telling him. I was so enraged that i took the phone from him and broke it into like 50 pieces.
dorm life was a blast,
living in a fraternity house made dorms look like a monestary though ;)
lived in a frat house? that's pretty gay IMO - bet there was some guy on guy action every night...