expected to be a housewife

why do some people naturally assume that you should be a housewife.. ok maybe not even a housewife, but they get shocked to hear that you dont actually go home and do all the cleaning, mopping, vaccuming, washing.. and cooking… this is after u’ve been at work from 9-5.. which means u’ve been up since 7.. and get home at 7

sheesh

I honestly would love to take care of the house.. and look after it and cook for my hubby and what not.. but when people naturally assume that u dont do that currently.. and to make u feel bad for it (i made a comment saying mum does all that currently…)

obviously i’ll try to do all that..
uggh.. some people..

Re: expected to be a housewife

Haye maybe those girls r jealous..... they had to do all that stuff while working and going to school.. My mom doesn't bug me about housework or cooking, she said she wants me to focus on schoolwork right now. I guess taking care of house and home must be harder than I thought :( I would love to cook and stuff (errr not excited bout safay though) and I wanna learnt o cook like my mom..b ut according to her i need a bachelor's degree before I can properly learn :(

^ oh no.. i mean i did that while mum worked. I did all the cleaning and stuff.. but she's at home now and i work all day..

the comment came from a man i work with. Funny thing was, he was actually serious!

Oh psshhhh forget what the guy says :rolleyes:

My mother’s always done that stuff, she’s been a housewife all her life. She barely asks me to do that much hard work, she never ever asked my bro to.. I’m really spoiled and I shouldn’t get annoyed and bitchy so easily at her.

I think it’s better this way… It’s best to have one person at home and another who works, especially when there are children involved. Now whether the man or woman does whatever I guess is up to the couple themselves, but I think it just makes sense this way.

Sadzz, why are you listening to men? What do men know about housework?

^ my man is pretty good actually If not better than me

I just think its retarded for someone to make you feel bad that you dont go home and clean every inch of the house after work. Is it bad if my mum does it?

As long as someone is sweeping the dirt under the rug, it really doesn't matter who holds the broom.

Having a penis does not impair one from using the jharoo once in a blue moon. Neither does old age. Neither does any other physical feature, unless if you are bed-ridden from an illness. Even wheel-chair mein bhait ke safai ho sakti hai.

its the women that are obsessed with cleaning. we men can do without washing our clothes twice a week, vaccuming and making our beds daily. We also dont mind leaving our peepee on the toilet or our body hair. it just does not bother us.

so if it bothers u clean it up. otherwise hushup.

sounds so like me … :rolleyes:

mister lolly_pop… how hygenic of u :halo:

Well...people expect what they are used too....and our moms did all that while our fathers rarely helped. I remember visiting my sister in law (she is abouto 13 years older) and her friends in a very desi traditional community in Texas...the aunties wanted my take on how "married life" was and i realized I couldn't get into the true detail but should stick to stories they would ...bond with and appreciate so I talked about how much my husband eats..as in I could cook something and it would last the week but he finishes it in a day...:) they then went into a conversation about cooking for family, etc...they were also very happy that i seemed traditional like them..

In my household we both share housekeeping duties, because his job is so hectic I do most of the cooking OR we order out on the companies expense...so it works.

so my point is..no need to worry about what others think or say..do what works best for your own personal family

Way to go, Dead-Eye. Your accuracy evidently leaves much to be desired.

Lollypop man, the rule "cleanliness is half your imaan" applies to both men and women.

can i get a job in that company too? :slight_smile:

thank God there ARE some men who are quite the opposite!

I have to clean when I get home, Its an obsession.
Regardless of what Im expected to do or not do, i dont let anyone dictate my cleaning habits.

sadzz, are you planning to live in a joint family system when you get married or are you going to be living alone with your hubby?

Yaar, it's not bad and don't feel bad about it either.

Sis and myself shared house duties and did cleaning cooking n whatnot every single day. We are much more cleaner and organised than my mum so we hate leaving it to her hehe. Plus shes old, if 50 plus is old and i don't like leaving her standing in the kitchen for ages. BUT people do assume that i am gonna be doing that for life now im married...whatever. Like people in kitchens dont have dreams. Like a mother whos cooking wouldnt want to sit down and relax....everytime i spend another day in the kitchen it drives me more to get out of it lol

Par bas tum bura mat feel karo. People are arseholes at the best of times...they dont live your life, know your circs and have no right to comment on it. Maybe if they were in your position theyd do exactly the same so in through one ear out of the other babes

if both the spouses are working then house hold chores are suppose to be shared. if one of them decides to stay then i guess its better to be busy than just being a couch potato?
i wudnt mind cleaning etc as long as its not imposed or expected of me.

I have a cousin who is like you..everything is organized, clean and in place. I just spent a few days with him. He is paranoid. You put a glass on the sink and thirty seconds later you will notice it is in the dishwahser. You go to the washroom and come back, you will see your bed is already made. People like this could be quite suffocating to live with :mocking: Why can’t people be clean and chill at the same time. yeh beemari hai :hehe:
As for housewives…the term is becoming derogatory for women…I don’t know why. I say women should work 9-5 and see if this is really what they want. If I have six figures coming without working..I’d quit today!