Re: Expat Bhai/Baji, Pakistan is Pakistan yaar!
Well I do miss out on the extended family, and I enjoy going back and seeing my cousins and family, but that’s just my personal case.
On the other hand, ABCDs are not Pakistanis, they are Pakistani-Americans, a very similar but slightly different culture. Say what you will about the pop culture of Pakistan, but that’s the motherland and growing up abroad, we are not a part of that. I’m referring to broader things like habits, slang, music preference, cultural events, fashion, movies, things like that. As Desi as some expats are, most ABCDs are very westernized and certainly miss out on those things (whether you consider that a positive or negative is another matter).
I think the article chose some poor examples, and wrongly idealized them as something to be desired, but the broader point remains: Pakistani is not Pakistani-American. Except for the political and economic conditions, neither experience is better or worse, just different.
And I’m purposely ignoring the economic and political realities because one could argue that even a middle class Pakistani (which is a small portion of Pakistan) does not see the “true” poverty stricken Pakistan. I’m just referring to cultural aspects and home life.