Expat Bhai/Baji, Pakistan is Pakistan yaar!

I feel sorry for Pakistani kids who grew up abroad. I realised this when my nine-year-old cousin was doing a heritage project in school, about Pakistan. She had to talk about her ancestry and how she ended up in America. It was going to be a typical project.

She was going to narrate the cliché, sappy story of how her parents were looking for a better life for their children and thus migrated to America. Then, she would talk about how when she was three she visited her grandparents’ farm in Pakistan. Over there, she saw cows and hens and from that day she was very glad that she was living in America.

Ugh! The typical depiction of Pakistan!

It doesn’t anger me, it makes me sad. My cousin’s only memory of Pakistan is going to be how she got “food poisoning” when she visited Pakistan and has avoided the country like the plague ever since.

When I narrate my experiences of Pakistan to my cousins, they’re quite shocked at how my best memories are the ones where I’m deprived of the basic necessities of life.

I reminisce over how I had to wash my hair with Nestle water bottles after we ran out of water in the house. Or how my cousins and I had to be the entertainment at Surraya khala’s daughter’s wedding because the generator stopped working and the Water And Power Development Authority (WAPDA) decided not to give us electricity that night.

It’s this amusing day-to-day struggle that is part of the full Pakistani experience. And yes, I understand that our country is experiencing a major energy crisis but I’ve read enough articles bashing the Pakistani way of life.

So this one is for you ABCDs or BBCDs – the amazing adventures you’re missing out on, not being in Pakistan!

1. The language

I personally believe that a story without the over-dramatic “haaye” and the exaggerated facial expressions is just incomplete. Urdu mixed with Punjabi is a hysterical language. It’s not too vulgar like American slang (but then it depends whose speaking it), but not too wry like English either. The “abay yaar” when you’re showing your frustration to the “tu to chaah gaya” when you’re congratulating someone, make the “oh dude” and the “well done” just seem too 18th century.

2. Your khaandaan

I know your mothers have told you not to talk to your “phuppos” (paternal aunts). I mean they’re just so jealous that you are living it up in Amreeka, while they are sitting and rotting in the Pakistani heat. Puhleez! There is nothing like family drama in Pakistan. In terms of khandaan waaley, the shaadis, the hungama and the chai gupshup (the relatives, the weddings, the noise and the tea gossip sessions.)

Each family can have a “keeping up with the chaudharys” reality show, if you ask me.

3. The desperateness

Call me lame, but something I missed dearly when I came to America about a year ago was the constant ‘wrong number’ calls I would receive; these cheapsters would refuse to budge even if you ignored them. Of course, inclusive of the ‘easy load bhai’ who just had to disclose your number to his jiggars (dear friends) who claimed to look at you with a “bhai ki nazar” (in a brotherly way).

Also, who can forget the Mehran cars, packed with 20 guys on every Saturday night? Top hits and latest releases of songs would be reverberating on the empty streets from their tiny speakers.

Yes, roll your eyes, you upper class socialite, but it’s these things that define the ultimate Pakistani experience.

4. There is no “waili” qaum than the Pakistani qaum

The word *waila *I feel was invented keeping Pakistanis in mind – from the street vendor to the office worker. You can always pop in on your friend in his daftar for a cup of tea. You can chat up with the fruit vendor and talk for hours with your naan waala about Pakistani politics or cricket.

When there is an accident you will see people approaching in the hundreds, both to stare and to help. One thing is certain – you can always count on us Pakistanis to be there.

5. The jazba (enthusiasm)

Is there really anything more surreal when the whole nation is painted in green just before a Pakistan-India match? Or the patakhas and chanting when Pakistan wins? We are a united nation. We might fight frequently and as time has passed we have become quite indifferent, but I know from deep within that it’s just a matter of time before we reunite again.

6. The bazaar culture

I can write paragraphs on this one. Just go to your local bazaar and you’ll see it. The insane drivers honking as though it’s a who can honk loudest competition; the smell of frying samosas and jalebis; the different colour dupattas the dyer just recently hung; the small stalls crowding the all ready congested sidewalks ; the angry aunties bargaining with the shopkeepers.

No it’s not as peaceful as shopping at Chanel or even Forever 21, but that’s not the point. The bazaar isn’t just a means of entertainment it’s a means of interacting with our fellow Pakistanis. One sees all types of people; poor and rich and you always come home learning some valuable life lesson whether it’s never to trust a tailor with your outfit or to start questioning if our leaders are doing a good job at their post after seeing people living freakishly below the poverty line.

7. Where’s the bijli, bro?

Yes I know that this one has affected us in terrible ways, but in a sense hasn’t the constant load shedding brought us together? I mean, we are a nation that for a great number of hours a day goes on a technology ban and decides to communicate like normal human beings. We curse the WAPDA people together, we perspire an ocean together. Is any day complete without our bijli-less hours?

There it is. A short list of my must-experience aspects of Pakistan. I know that Pakistan is indeed in a crisis right now. There are shootouts and bombs. Corruption is overwhelming. But I believe in this country. It has shown me a perspective on life that I could never have gained before. It has taught me that there are important things in life besides moving ahead. And it has always reminded me that no matter how far I go I can never forget my roots.

Expat bhai, Pakistan is Pakistan yaar! – The Express Tribune Blog

Re: Expat Bhai/Baji, Pakistan is Pakistan yaar!

So funny and true. NOT.

Let me tell you why?

Because it's one thing coming on a holiday or vacation to Pakistan.. enjoying things around here (even the bijli and desperateness) and then going back to the better life and write a blog about it but it's a whole different story when you have to live here every day of your entire life. It sounds nice written that way but trust me it's not. Ask people who have to spend sleepless nights in a row because of no bijli, or girls that lose their confidence because of the desperateness, or women/girls who hate going to these 'bazaars' that have been stated as something to be jealous of when all they get is weird stares and nasty touches by men...

Oh and the waili qaum.. that waili qaum is the root cause of so many issues. The frustrations level are so high that people tend to do things that boggle your mind when they are 'wailay'.

And before you say what do I know.. I live this every day and I know how hard it is. So yeah.

^ :(

:(

oh puhleeze. author needs to get over herself. She likes Pakistan, good for her.

No need to feel sad or pitiful for those who love where they were born/raised/built a life outside of Pakistan.

This article was written by someone who went last to Pakistan in 2002.

Responses in purple.

It’s easy to remember the good times, and it’s understandable, but it’s this attitude of “bahar kay log kya jaanay Pakistan ka haal” that is seriously in my opinion hindering any real progress of our nation. Things are bad right now. And that’s a reality that needs to be accepted. And I’m pretty sure there are a choice few members that will come and rebuttal my post, or others of such nature and say stuff like “when was the last time you visited Pakistan?” and all I have to say is, when was the last time you actually looked at things around you. I mean really looked at things? And not just post annoying troll posts on GS?

i grew up abroad but have amazing memories of karachi. playing cricket with neighbourhood boys, getting tutored by the same boys, going to the zoo and quaid e azam’s mazaar, going to keemari, shopping in tariq rd and bahadurabad, park towers, dolmen, kaybees, OPTP, masala fries, aladdin park, jumaa bazars, azaan every namaz time, ramzan ke mazay k khanay and SO much more! and the last time i went to karachi was 8 yrs ago! alhumdullilah i never got sick and although lights did go off, it was always a new experience :):wub:

I don't see how you could feel sorry for us...is it possible to see that far down from your nose? :)

I agree that living in Pakistan has its own maza, beauty and experiences that you could never have anywhere else.

But that goes for just about anyone's childhood...including mine. I wasn't born in Pakistan...but I can't remember a time when I wanted to be. I'd never trade places with you for the world. Sorry. Not because there's anything wrong with being Pakistani but because I had a great childhood of my own.

I am quite happy with what I got. No thank you.

ABCDs don't realize, no matter how much you love your 'home', you'll still be considered an outsider. Identity crisssssiis.

Yes, yes...this is what people tell themselves when they try to look down on ABCDs. Its a common misconception...heard it before and then see the same people leaving their beloved Pakistan. Heard these same people bashing ABCDs but making sure to deliver their kids on American soil.

Hilarious, really.

Ummm...no.

Ummm yes. Stop living in denial.

You should take your own advice.

Oh.....and try traveling a little. It helps open up the mind to broader horizons.

see its threads like these that piss me off. People born in pakistan have this huge superiority complex over people born and raised abroad. Like pakistan is some sort of utopia. Let me tell you a little personal story - my dad had to move from pakistan because politics in the workplace was soooo rife that he wouldnt have gotten far on his merit. Also, i hear this more and more from family in pakistan these days - having any kind of success/money in pakistan makes you a walking target.

Come on people... it was just an article that I posted... thinking that it will bring smile on someones' face.

No one is interested to test the loyalties of anyone... living in Pakistan or abroad. No one has to prove anything.

Take the whole article in a light way... next time I'll find something regarding MILs :D

Identity crisis? What is YOUR identity? Clearly you’re more proud of being a “janjua” than being a Pakistani. People in Pakistan are obsessed with who is an arain, pathan, from karachi, rajpoot etc etc. At least when we are outside in those foreign countries, we are known as Pakistani-Canadian, Pakistani-American etc, and not labelled and treated based on which village our great great great great grandmothers gave birth in. :rolleyes:

Find your identity first before picking on others. Pathetic.

This war between the FOBs and ABCDs never gets old. :khumar:

Kids can't sleep,housewives are frustrated cuz they cant do their housework, and there isn't any power for water, so water becomes a scarce resource, Tailors/workrers can't complete jobs, the back p systems, evn ups and generators die out, and petrol prices burn a hole anyway, (so unles you're extremely wealthy you cantrun generators all day either)- all the working ppl who come home after a long day of work- guess what there is a whole family frustrated, irritated and grumpy to deal with.

Cold wea*ther* has it's own set of problems, people in certain areas haven't been getting ***gas from 3 days, kids can't wash their faces/have baths because the water is so cold, no food can be cooked, it is a living nightmare for such house holds.

And no not everyone can afford to buy multiple gas cylinders to run their homes.

Do ppl make the best of it? Yes because they have to live with it. But let's not romanticize the every day frustration of living with such realities.

You guys seriously need to chill. Do you have an ABCD complex?

The op is just saying to stop looking down on Pakistan all the time. Everyone that visits Pakistan always complains. While the situation in Pakistan does suck, I know I wouldn’t be able to live there, the people there have made their own fun of the situation. The experiences that you get in Pakistan you won’t get here, and the experiences you get abroad you won’t get in Pakistan.

What about the frustrations of living abroad? If you can make a con list for Pakistan, you can do the same for every country.

I think minorities/Blacks/Latinos/Asians in the US would say that they are labeled and treated bases on their race which they have no role in choosing.

True...loads of fun in Pak. I complain when i visit, but those vacays make my top ten memories list. However, the article def has a tone of snootiness about it. I wouldn't trade my childhood in Canada/US for anything...kids raised abroad aren't "deprived" or whatever. So yeah, Amreeka is Amreeka dude.