Excusable Reasons for Polygamy

Re: Excusable Reasons for Polygamy

Heeyyyy, don't blame men if women feel that their only option is marriage. I personally consider that a bigger reason for unhappy marriages than anything else.

And trust me male soldiers, miners or firefighters are not the reason there aren't women in these professions. In recent surveys by US Army majority of enlisted women do not want assignments where they might come across active combat even if it is by accident.

Oh and your options for the two examples I gave are based on your assumption that the woman in both cases wanted to stay single.

Understandably, these women may have wanted male partners. But is it necessary to go for a guy who is already married? Like I said, why not wait for a widower?

Am I running after my male cousins, because they’re the first guys I interacted with on a personal level, and hai Allah, aur kaun mujhse shaadi karayga?

(It would be so funny if those two dorks are reading this :hehe: )

Family support is so important in Pakistani culture - even the family could be supportive thru this time. They could help her find someone compatible with her.

Again, why go for the guy who already has a wife? Does anyone ever think what this will do to the woman the guy is already married to? No one ever talks about her. No, she just is expected to shutup and take the back seat.

PCG, if women worry less about their grararas and more about being financially independent, they probably will find men who are single even if they are divorced.

The reason married/divorced men find women for their second marriages and not vice versa is because there are women out there willing to marry them. Though it is true that some of these marriages are forced but it is not the case across the board.

Even if US starts accepting polygamous marriages, Hefner will start calling his girl wives, not mates.

PCG, I agree with you 100%. You give these holders of virtues a good ass kicking.

Sara, what if a man is shooting blanks. Can his wife get another husband?

ahmadjee: thedifference is that women in America have a choice to become a firefighter if they want and won't get acid thrown on thier face by their husband because he feels emasculated due to his job as a bean counter.

yeah she can divorce her hubby on that basis

Why can't a man in Pakistan simply divorce his wife too before marrying another one...that should be the law..don't you think. Otherwise it is not really a fair system..where as man can marry again without divorce if the wife is barren but she can't if he is gay or impotent or sterile.

dam...must have missed the part in the quran where it says that rule only applies till the 20th century.

I guess the whole "man has to provide for his wife" rule is void now too eh? A lot of women work these days and can support themselves in some countries so why not just remove that obligation for the man, atleast in those cases. Next time I pick up the Quran I'll look at the back more closely, I always miss these darn expiry dates.

^ hahaha :D

OK I don't like the idea either, however no muslim country can ban this act since its in the Quran.

What?? You’re trying too hard Matty :). You suggest a divorce and THEN another marriage rather than a simple additional marriage? Why, is the divorce part supposed to be some sort of punishment for the first wife? Eventhough a man remarries, he still remains his first wife’s husband in every respect i.e financially, emotionally etc. I am sure there are a lot women, especially the not so independent ones, who would prefer that option to being thrown out. Also Islamically speaking, divorce is only used as a last resort.

No I don’t think so but according to the state of Pakistan a man has to take permission from his first wife before marrying another. And those who consider that this law protects the first wife’s rights are as dumb as the people who wrote it.

But the question is, how will outlawing polygamy make the situation of Pakistani or any other country’s women better? How does such a law guarantee that they will have child support for their children, social security at an old age, a job and skill to support themselves, when their whole life the only skill they ever learned was how to run a household?

Thinking that somehow abolishing polygamy through legislature will improve the status of living for women is like arguing that hangover pills is a cure for alcoholics.

Before this thread gets highjacked by the religious right & their decrees along with the elitist left & their nonsense sarcasm, let me make the point that polygamy will go away on it's own as along as women are brought up to be emotionally and financially independent of men in their lives.

To argue that somehow if all the men become righteous saints the women will be better off is wishful thinking no better than the wishful thinking of many Muslims today who argue that if somehow the rest of the world, especially the West, becomes just, tolerant and selfless their problems will go away on their own. Women need to look inside to improve themselves rather than hoping for someone else to hand it to them. If women need to change their situation they need to work on it themselves, men will become gentlemen as a result. And for the religiously inclined feminists reading this; God only help those who help themselves.

And just to make things clear, the above is not a license for men to act like jerks.

why cant women have more than one husband?? < we never learned that in sunday school...
what happens if a girls husband turns out to be gay n she cant get a divorce (sadly, a bunch of guys a see in pakistan look too gay) . she lives like that??
why would a guy wanna have 2 wives (besides if she cant have kids. which is a sucky excuse) ... hes gotta pay for both of them.. n listen to them
b itch.. but i guess his house would be extra clean..

Oh thats a hard one. Really. Might have to look it up but I think it has something to do with not being allowed to marry more than one man as per what it says in the Quran. Aha thats it. Oh and I’m sure not all women bitch like you say

There might be a slight issue of parenthood, a woman would never know who the father was unless there was a DNA test for each child.

I would be really interested to know what a good excuse would be, as opposed to the sucky one of wanting to be a father.

If you go by the Quran, the Quran does not say that men SHOULD take more than one wife…it simply limits it to 4 - but the next line or so says that he needs to treat them equally…then later on it clearly says that few men are able to treat two people equally. Many scholars consider this an encouragement towards monogamy, but rather than impose monogamy automatically on the Arabs who were used to 100+ harems, the 4-limit was a drastic cut down, and enough that it would allow Arabs to ease into monogamy.

Hence, the Quran actually promotes monogamy over polygamy.

And exactly where does the Quran say :

1. If your wife is infertile, then go marry another.

or

1. If your brother dies, marry his wife.

etc etc.

Interestingly, the Quran never gives the MOTIVE for an additional marriage. To understand what conditions might polygamy be allowed - you have to look at the Prophet’s life. He never married again because he needed more kids. He married out of sheer charity, and in one case he married an African woman - probably to show that its okay to marry out of your race as well.

In those days, I understand that marriage was an economic base for women.

But in this day and age, if this is still the case, then it is sad. I agree with Ahmadjee. Except, my point here is to say, that are society should be well beyond this stage now.

Furthermore, most pakistani 2x, 3x, 4x marriages are not done for charity. They’re done for visas, or for archaic tribal reasons, or because first wife was family’s choice and second wife was personal choice (so immature :rolleyes: ), or to show power, etc.

So, obviously, the Quran is very correct. VERY FEW men are able to treat two women alike, and VERY FEW men would be able to manage a polygamous marriage. Especially these days.

First off PCG, all your huffed up attitude is really misdirected. There are two reasons for that:

1- I doubt anyone here has 1+ wives, so no one here needs your lectures/rebuttals.. thanks
2- If you look at the world in large, the male female ratio is pretty much 1:1. Hence, polygamy comes into the question only in exceptional cases. Really.. if all guys started abusing their quota, wouldn’t 75% of the guys be left unmarried anyway?

Many people want children they can call their own. I like your idea, and i call it noble, and if in the situation, i would do the same. However, certain things can be more important to other people, and since its ‘halal’ for them to get married again, i dont think they need to present an “excusable” reason. Most guys, i think, would be happy with a single mate they’re compatible with..

Some guys might be unhappy with their first wife, but knowing that she cant survive on her own, they wont divorce her. In a lot of pakistani societies, the number of ‘good’ single females is more than the ‘good’ males (probably because guys are allowed more freedom. I’m sure you’re aware of the large number of desi guys who drop out, are unable to carry their weight etc), hence polygamy might come into the question.

However, i think it would be better to put this question to someone who is in a multiple marriage and see what they think.

Very true.

Oh, I know no one here has 1+ wife. Nonetheless, there are many here who think its justifiable Islamically, and I'm wondering that in this day and age, what plausible excuse could one come up with to commit polygamy?

PCG, does Islam ask you to justify your second marriage? From what you've posted, i see that its allowed, at the same time warning us to be fair.