Ladies ladies ladies. I realize your concern and I do agree that the guy (or his family) can share your picture online or abuse it in some other way, but keep in mind that most of the times, the picture is shared through a middleman, not directly with a stranger family. If you trust aunty xyz and give her your picture, you will feel comfortable that she will not give it away to the guy’s family. She will just show the picture to her and that’s it.
I guess this is where the difference between the guy’s point of view and the girls’ point of view comes in. As a guy, if I were to send my picture for rishta, I wouldn’t mind. I would say again that I would rather be rejected and save myself time than meeting in person and then getting rejected after that. Why? Because I would have met the family and what if I like the family and get along with them and they still turn me down? That will bring my self esteem down. If they look at my picture and never contact me again, who cares? I don’t know them, they are strangers to me. I can easily get over that.
Again, each situation is different. I wish the thread opener all the best :k:
^ Some may have had their experiences, and trust me, I will not argue with that point.
On a side note, when my brother was in Houston, an auntie (who knew the girl's family and who also happened to know my brother because their grocery store was right across the street and he used to go there for desi groceries) talked about a potential rishta. Of course parents wanted to see the girl before they go all the way to Houston to meet the family. Their concern was not the beauty part but whether the girl will look young/old enough with my brother (understandable). Obviously aunty didn't want to give the picture, but she allowed my brother to take a picture of that photograph with his cell phone and picture message it to us.
The girl was pretty. We then met the family but unfortunately it did not work out as the girl didn't feel strong about going to college. She was 19, I think, and had taken some time off after graduating from high school. So in this case, our family did not move forward with the rishta because she showed no desire to attend college. Not enough education is a big no-no in our family.
i’ve done it once
it’s not that i had anything against him, i just didn’t find him attractive
i felt so bad afterwards like “who do i think i am”
they didn’t see my picture but i don’t like the thought of being judged on a picture either
my mom’s like well you didn’t meet anyone (umm…last i remember Daddy FORBADE me, although even if i had met someone, i wouldve found a way around that not to mention i live at home and am always under house arrest ) tho aur kaise dhoonde gain? i’m like i don’t know, but i don’t like this picture exchange business, really, really not my thing
i don’t know, introduce me to someone or something but solely picture exchange? i’m just not comfortable with it
Well, is this an option? add them to ur facebook (or orkut or watever)? that way you get to c wat they look like and kind of get a sense of their personality.. most (not crazy) girls put up decent pics, not "oh i'm looking for a rishta!" pics
lol I won't add them but this one time I did a fb search on one of the prospective rista guy...lol