Ex Punjab Governor Chaudhry Sarwar joins PTI

He is learning Pakistani lota politics fast.

Chaudhry Sarwar joins PTI - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

LAHORE: Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar on Tuesday announced that he had joined the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), days after resigning as the Governor of Punjab.

Sarwar made the announcement at a press conference today.

“In my 40 years of political experience I have seen that united parties win elections, divided parties lose,” said Sarwar, adding that Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf has potential because of its unity.

He further said that the party’s task is not easy and that it has immense work to carry out, including changing the status quo.

"We want to create a Pakistan where there is education and where the masses can get the justice they deserve.”

He also said that the party’s aim is not to grab the post of prime minister, but to bring better opportunities for the people of Pakistan.

Imran congratulates Sarwar on joining PTI
Following Sarwar’s announcement to join the PTI, chairman Imran Khan congratulated him on his inclusion in the party, saying that he was not an ordinary politician.

Khan said Sarwar had done immense work for the Labour Party in the United Kingdom, adding that due to his experience he desired to play a role in strengthening the PTI.

He said he desired to build the PTI into an institution.

Read more: Punjab governor Sarwar resigns: ‘I can serve Pakistan better out of office’

Earlier, in his meeting with PTI Chairman Imran Khan at his Bani Gala residence on Sunday, Sarwar was issued a formal invitation to join the party. Upon Khan’s invitation, Sarwar had reportedly put forward the demand to be made the party president, a highly placed source in the PTI told Dawn.

The seat of PTI’s president was vacated by Javed Hashmi in October over his disagreement with Khan’s decision to march towards the prime minister house as part of his Azaadi March, during his protracted anti-government movement.

The source disclosed that after the Bani Gala meeting, Khan had held consultations with party officials, following which Sarwar’s request to be made the party president was likely to be fulfilled.

Sarwar is expected to play a pivotal role in strengthening and organising the party’s overseas sector.

Other sources said that the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) had also offered Sarwar the position of president for the party’s Punjab chapter.

Prior to his resignation, Sarwar had called Obama’s visit India instead of Pakistan a diplomatic failure of the Nawaz government and had criticised its foreign policy.

Examine: Obama’s visit to India: Governor sees diplomatic failure of Pakistan

Upon his resignation, Sarwar had been quoted as saying, “I can serve Pakistan better out of office,” and “I will live and die in Pakistan.”

Re: Ex Punjab Governor Chaudhry Sarwar joins PTI

chhup gaye sare darame, oye kia baat ho gaii
jiskaa Dar thaa, be_dardii, vohii baat ho gaii!

he came home FULL circle to roost. :)

yes i heard yesterday he wants to be the president of PTI. Its good for the party as he's a honest politician. But so was javed hashmi. It'd be highly upsetting if he also turns to be humiliated the same way as hashmi was done by party officials and workers as soon has he parted his ways.

Who is not a lota in Pak politics apart from giney chuney log like Shireen Mazari etc.

I'd not call Sarwar a lota since he first principally showed his disagreement with the govt, gracefully exit the previous party and then joined this one. But its just that I highly doubt how long will he stay here if he is really a man of principles

who says Javed Hashmi was/is an honest politician? i've heard renowned journalists, like Haroon ur Rasheed, maligning him with corruption.

It is some thing like Plan E or F
It is amazing that he was criticized when he was in PML N .
Now he is clean
Hashar is ka bhi wohi hona hay jo Javed Hashmi ka hoa hay Ya asli Nasli daghi Lotay SMQ ka ho raha hay

Haroon Raheed.. :smack:

so basically you are saying PTI made a corrupt person its President, right? :hmmm:

are you saying that since he was the PTI’s president so he must have been an honest person? btw, he, like other politicians (N$, Zardari et el), are just accused of corruption and never been convicted.

You really know nothing about hashmi. Please look into his political struggle first before announcing your fatwas. And I dare you find the corruption charges detail on hashmi and provide here as you are trying to put him in the same loop as zardari

i never said Hashmi is in the same boat as Zardari and/or N$. i said corruption charges have never been proven against Javed Hashmi like it has never been proven against Zardari or N$.

btw, i didn't say that...Haroon ur Rasheed said that if you do believe him as a leading/honest journalist.

even by the longest stretch of imagination, it wasn't a 'fatwa' lol...vaise, maulanas will not take even a minute to pass fatwa on anyone except themselves. :D

yaaraa, google "Javed Hashmi and corruption" and you will see the details.

Eik aur banday na aab-e-zamzam sai ghusal ker leya. He is now as pak as newborn baby :phati:

^ maaNtism [opposite of Baaptism"] ho gayaa mausoof kaa! :cb:

Are you really that naive? When Hashmi refused to bow down infront of Musharraf like the Chaudhry brothers and others who jumped ships after their Government was overthrown, he was arrested and since they could not find any corruption charges against him they forged a case of treason against him. Now this speaks volume so please do not post stuff that does has zero credibility. Mind you, he could have easily joined Mushahid Hussain, Chaudhry brothers, Wasim Sajjad, Sheeda Talli etc. to support Musharraf and led a comfortable life, perhaps even a ministry or two for a decade rather than spending almost a decade in jail for cooked up treason charges.

i said what i heard on TV from a reputed journalist, Haroon ur Rasheed and others. if you google “Javed Hashmi and corruption” you’ll see a whole bunch of allegations of corruption against him…here is the link:
https://www.google.ca/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&rlz=1C1VFKB_enCA619CA619&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=javed%20hashmi%20and%20corruption**

I was anticipating his inclusion in PTI..but let us hope he doesn't turn out to be another Javed Hashmi.

As much as his appointment was devoid of merit, his attitude and plight over his inability to help improve governance, he exited the post with honour (which is unprecedented in Pakistan). If he can work his way up the PTI hierarchy (I am glad he is not given the presidency), more power to him. I am sure his immense experience in organized politics with in UK will help PTI in reorganizing after semi successful intraparty elections last year.

And Ch. Sahib is going to be abused like hell... just wait when he criticize IK or PTI or leave PTI... he could have started his own party, which eventually he would... just matter of time and little practical experience..

Good Luck Ch. Sahib, hope you can bring some sanity in PTI..

^ ek miyaan meN do talwar nahiiN rah saktii.

How is some one LOTA if he LEAVES power (million acres house), and join a party which is not in power. And under regular pakistani circumstance would never be in power.
how
HOW
HOWW

I know being pakistani you don't have respect for lots of things, but have respect for your own words.

Thank you!