Ex-PM Aziz says not contesting in poll

The only thing this government achieved was economic growth. Now the architect of that growth is gone so what else is left. Nought.

Pakistan’s ex-PM Aziz says not contesting in poll](http://www.reuters.com/article/newsMaps/idUSCOL1444920071124)

ISLAMABAD (Reuters) - President Pervez Musharraf’s most recent prime minister, Shaukat Aziz, said on Saturday he will not contest the general elections due on January 8, a private channel and state-run Pakistan Television reported.
Private Dawn News channel quoted Aziz, whose term ended earlier this month, as saying he had taken the decision for personal reasons. A caretaker government is handling the country’s affairs until the election.
Aziz became prime minister in 2004, having earlier served as finance minister, and had helped transform Pakistan from an economy on the brink of bankruptcy to one of the fastest growing economies in Asia.

Re: Ex-PM Aziz says not contesting in poll

Yesterday ARY was reporting hat he has been denied ticket by Q league.

That is because they want to the rising star and the intellectual leader (for PML(Q) anyway :rotfl:) Ch Pervaiz Elahi to become PM. What a rag tag of losers we will have in the next cabinet after a rigged election. PM Ch Pervaiz Elahi, Sheeda Tulli, Ejaz etc lead by the biggest incompetent of all the drill master. Talk about incompetency at its height.

Not good...

He probably feels that he has made enough money in the last three years to last him for pusht dar pusht

ehsan bhai, he indeed transformed Pakistan’s economy, but then there were other factors involved too. However, I would rather that he (despite having no constituency, how ironic!) be given a seat and retained then some “mai” who is out there to secure her father/brother’s or husband seat.

Is qadar tehzeeb yafta aur shusta politician kahan milay ga. :rolleyes:

don't worry he will find a way to sneak in thru the back door. They will get him elected from a reserved seat if PML-Q wins the election. If Jamali is besharam enough to accept Chairmanship of PHF (Pakistan Hockey Federation) after having served as PM once, I am sure Shaukat will have no qualms about accepting the post of Federal Minister etc. in Musharraf's next cabinet. Afterall kursi is what matters to these people.

That said I do acknowledge his role in transforming economic growth

he was the only decent person in the whole govt. He is gone, we are now left with chor and incompetent guys from the president down. It shows the top man is incompetent and he has surrounded himself with people of the same calibre like zafar wasi and sheeda tulli.

he was already a multi-millionaire

But it was not until Musharraf overthrew Sharif that Aziz, a multi-millionaire who was one of the richest members of the government, was persuaded to take over the Finance Ministry that the wheel was turned on an economy heading toward an abyss

Not that being a multi-millionaire entails that one has overcome one's lust, however, I have yet to read some major scams he was personally involved in.
There have been quite a few "major" scams, stock market crashes and KESE's privatization in which his name was mentioned but for some reason, he is never maligned like the others.
Seems like I am trying to convince myself that he was above the rest, better than the lot.

He has served the government for about 8 years and he has taken a lot of responsibility for the wrong policies of Mushy although he himself had no part in making those decisions.

Its good to retire gracefully with you head held high.

Bad advice cost Shaukat Aziz dearly

The Chaudhrys waited for the right moment and finally succeeded in getting rid of Aziz and company ahead of the elections by denying them party tickets, the sources said.
Sources said Hina Rabbani Khar, Zahid Hamid, Chaudhry Ijaz and Farooq Amjad Mir were among those denied PML tickets because of closeness with Shaukat Aziz.

Beside all this, he is the single politician who has declared himself to be a billionaire (Rs) while declaring the assets and paid most tax of them all. All other chaudhris, khans, lalas, saieens have paid even 200-300 Rs in taxes some of them such as "poor" qazi sahab has mentioned that he dont have a car :)

I believe Miandad used to pay more taxes than Benazir and Nawaz Sharif (probably even after their combined taxes)

Here is a snap shot from

According to 2006 declarations

• almost 100 MNAs including those known for being rich and mighty in their respective areas do not have any conveyance of their own

• More than 80 have no house of their own while more than two dozens have shared shelter.

• In the 100-member upper house, almost 59 have senators have stated that they have no house and no car. Among these poor creatures are Ch. Shujaat hussain, Zafarullah Khan Jamali and other names like this

• Two houses in Karachi’s Defence, one of them under construction, on a 2,000 square yards plot belonging to Makhdoom Amin Faheem of Hala have been declared as being worth a mere Rs7.8 million (actual market value should be some where around 1000Million to 1200Million)

• **Raza Hayat Hiraj **declared that he gifted 100 kanals of his land to his munshi (private accountant)

• Imran Khan admitted to mentioning his ex-wife Jemima Khan as his spouse in the 2005 (even though she was divorced by then) declaration to get his Rs48 million Islamabad property transferred to himself from her.

and many more

^ Any info on how much tax they paid? I used to think only "upper/rich class" can get to parliament but oh darn, seems like its all poor-men's world in the parliament.

He is technically too sound to be in such a mess.....a person whose life was spent hiding and lagalizing all sorts of ill-gotten money for people....for himself and Mushy was the right person to arrange everything extemely professionally without getting dirty in the process>>>>

How can you forget almashoor Karachi Stock Exchange issue. He was directly involved - so no investigation was started. And yea Steel Mill too.
This was huge. we must never forget these kinda issues.
Also, am not sure as am not in PK but i’ve heard a lot about plot distribution. Actually i’m interested in more details.

and yea economic growth… I wasn’t even born when Ayub khan was ruling the country but I can see the progress. I would never support him because of his dictatorship but I admire his economic polices because we can see new factories etc. So much happened. The figures were really going up.
While with ex-pm Aziz, I can only see the figures. Just look at the industries. Things have gone so bad. A lot of industries are closed down, have moved to dubai, or in the process of getting rid of it. I can give you the names of some large businesses who weren’t happy with the civilian govts but now they just wanna leave the country. Combo of Mush & Aziz have made a lot of good entrepreneurs really mad.
How many new businesses, factories, infrastructure, etc. do you see.
Yes we can see a lot of luxury cars, a lot of huge houses - thanks to all that money coming from the sale of innocent Pakistanis… the dollars that we’re getting because of killing our own people and because of making Afghanis our enemies.

pardon my grammer etc. its late night here.

How dare you say that sir. there are numerous economic nobel laureates on this site who will conclusively prove that the economic growth was nothing but smoke and mirrors using which mr aziz nay purio dunya ko topi pehna di thi. :)